Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Centi-Snake

by utoxin - Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and to keep things easy, I took a classic game, and put a new spin on it. Behold: Centi-Snake, a hybrid between Snake and Centipede. Like Snake, you eat things to grow larger. Like Centipede, there's enemies trying to kill you.

The controls are simple (and two-button):
Left - Turn Left
Right - Turn Right

Eating food helps you grow or heal from damage. Moving slowly uses up health, starting from your tail and moving forward. Getting hit by bullets deals damage to the part that it hits. The head of your snake has 100 hitpoints, so make sure you don't get hit there too many times, or go too long without eating.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#372Theme3.86
#598Graphics2.89
#644Mood2.74
#658Overall3.03
#659Innovation2.84
#662Audio2.00
#681Humor1.77
#717Fun2.81

Comments

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41am

Really good throwback to the old games

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43am

Works well once I had a handle on the simplified controls. I really thought the game could use some basic sound effects though. Look into sfxr, it's a free sound generator and probably perfect for this game. Also is the frame rate supposed to be so low for aesthetics or no? I tried the WebGL version and it felt really laggy. Nice job on your first entry.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44am

Nifty idea. I really like the old-school vibe, and that you hit both of the themes. The movement sound is a bit grating, could maybe be a bit subtler. Some kind of music would help. Good work overall!

adamgryu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44am

Not a bad idea! I think it was a little slow to start off, and it was hard to tell what blocks should be avoided and which should be eaten. Still, it's a good start! Perhaps trying using some more colors or particle effects!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48am

A cool take on a beloved classic. The addition of enemies and enemies with guns really spices things up! At first it seems like a simple game, but it quickly reveals it is much more than that.
Great job!

maartene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48am

eating food doesn't seem to let me grow my tail. Maybe I'm doing it wrong or there is a bug? Anyway, I won't rate for now.

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:05am

Maartene: You just need to eat more. As you move, you lose 1 hp per turn, and the initial fruit only restores 10 hp.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:20am

Nice concept!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06am

I'm so happy with the abundance of retro-feel going on this Ludum Dare. Great fusion of two classics. You nailed the themes on the head. Audio is a bit irritating, but what can you do with such limited time. I know if it wasn't for sfxr, I wouldn't have had anything in my entry. Couldn't finish music in time myself. So I'm not criticizing. A jingle in the beginning would be great in this (think: Pacman). Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed it!

triello says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I like the old school ambientation!

Thanks for the feedback on Parallax, man.

The relation with the theme is about the player grow up every time he gets a power up.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Nice graphics, really well imitates old school game's looks. Gameplay is getting more and more fun the longer you play, i like how you can make "wall" when you turn aroud 180' and you your own body parts.
Really nice enty especially for first LD, congratz.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Good graphics and gives me nostalgia.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Great nostalgic feel, with some added features. You start out a bit slow though, which is especially annoying when you start over.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51pm

duh duh duh duh BWEEP duh duh duh duh DWOW duh duh duh BWEEP duh duh duh duh duh BWEEP duh BEEWP duh duh DWOW duh duh duh...

fpwong says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Was it just me or did the score not work? Anyway nice work you really nailed the retro feel. Would have liked a low / med / high difficulty for speed, but I also ran out of time to add that in my game :S

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58pm

I had a lot of fun playing this. You've really nailed the style you were going for.

My only complaint would be with the audio, which got a little grating.

Good job!

StMatn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30am

Nice game! It feels really arcady :)
Tbh, I think the loose condition could be a lot more strictly! After some time I had enough, so I ran into a wall. With only the head left, it took about 10 seconds until I lost.
The graphics and sounds are really fitting and its fun to play, but its "too hard to loose" ;)
Great work!

P.S. I got 1823745 points ;)

utoxin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10am

Thank you everyone for the amazing feedback. A few comments:

Yes, it starts a little slow, and without the help screen I didn't get time to add, it's hard to understand exactly what's going on with food / health / score. That will be improved!

And yes, the sound is... yeah. It needs work. I was working with Bfxr, and did the best I could in the short time I had. I want to add some quiet music eventually, and improve the sfx a lot. I also want to polish up the graphics a bit more, and add some new challenges.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:35am

The game was cool and old-school, but was very quick and didn't look like much effort was put into it, although I'm sure you did. ;)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:57am

Playing games like it's 1977! nice entry. Nailed the super retro aesthetic. Hard to grasp the controls, so I missed lots of turns, but that's ok. Fine entry!

Didi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:29am

old school! nice work

Saivan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Its a good idea to bring back snake! But need more colors and move movement.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:07am

High score: 499716

I found that pretty fun. I appreciate sticking to the classic style but it would have been fun to have seen what you could have done by upgrading the graphics and the sounds. There was a lot of information on screen and it wasn't always easy to see what was going on.

In the end I was stuck in between the outer wall and my dead body parts so I had nowhere to go but couldn't get hit.

Pretty fun though.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:38pm

The beeping! augh the beeping :D Otherwise a competent and visually solid Snake clone, great work!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:14am

Love the super-retro aesthetic! Little details like the screen noise and CRT look are great. Only thing I'd say is it should speed up faster. It gets pretty exciting once it's really fast but it takes a long while to get there. Overall though, this was good. Nice job.

knason says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice graphics, I liked that good old feeling. :-)

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:20pm

The sound is annoying, but maybe its because it is too loud. But the controls felt great and the game has that retro feel to it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]