Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spindulum

by yuigoto - Jam Entry

**CLICK ON THE GAME FRAME AFTER LOADING TO PLAY!!**

Spindulum is a minimalistic action game.

• You’re a red dot attached to a collector.
• Orange dots makes you grow, Blue makes you shrink.
• Rotate your collector left and right to gobble the orange dots, avoiding the blue ones.
• Gobble as much as orange dots needed to grow and fill the gray area.
• When you’re big enough, press LEFT AND RIGHT to explode and advance to the next level.
• If you shrink to less than half the initial size, it’s game over.

--------------------------------------------------

CONTROLS:
• LEFT/RIGHT ARROWS - Turn Left/Right

--------------------------------------------------

Dedicated to my fiancée, Glauce. Because of her I got the inspiration and energy to write this game. :)

Thank You for playing the game, or even just visiting this page! :)

--------------------------------------------------

Edit:
14/Dec/2015 | 23h52 | SOUND BREAKING BUG-FIX
There was a sound breaking bug on the Windows build, due to the fact that in Windows, instead of miliseconds, OpenFL uses seconds. This caused the song loop to be broken.
Thanks to @ruerob for pointing this to me on Twitter! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#66Audio(Jam)4.00
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#349Fun(Jam)3.37
#369Overall(Jam)3.47
#385Mood(Jam)3.37
#607Graphics(Jam)3.27
#672Humor(Jam)2.35

Comments

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Your game is so awesome. I can't stop to dance with my feet to the beat! I reached level 5 this time! The graphics are simple and fit completely to the game! The old "simple to lean but hard to master" is a good description for your game! I'm addicted!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Nice game. Controls very touchy, but suited game play. Music got repetitive, but was good too. Well done. Similar look, different game play to my game. Made good use of both themes.

blubberquark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Very interesting game design, good fit to the theme. I think this has potential if the controls were made to feel better. Its too difficult to make small and precice movements, and the bigger movements don't feel special. For this kind of game I think controls are essential. If you experiment with cool controls (acceleration etc) and control difficulty by level design (how dots spawn etc) you might have an awesome game :). Also, if you are truly minimalist, maybe you can make all oranges and the red the same color? -@OhHelloTilman (using bobs account)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:53am

The only thing that I didn't liked it is that it is very hard! :(
Other than that, very amazing and great use of the themes!

phi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:17am

Like the music and sound effects! The two themes perfectly involved. I reached level 4, your game is actually very catchy :)

akirassasin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:19am

Audio not working for me on Safari, OSX. Other than that, it was fun :D

Lythom says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:23am

Hi !

What I liked :
- sounds and music !
- simple addicting gameplay

What imo could be improved :
- Spindulum control, the acceleration make it very hard to play, a fixed speed would have allow the player to be more in control I think
- graphics are... well not themed at all and doesn't help understand how the game works
- growth in the game could have been progress bar or a percent sarting at 50%. What I mean is that it has no special meaning. A background theme or a gameplay really impacted by the "growing" feeling would have helped the game to achieve more clarity.

Overall a game I enjoyed with a good realisation, well done =)

dlowe says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Thanks for the game!

foolmoron says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Love it. Reminds me a ton of classic arcadey flash games like Squares 2. You nailed the feel of the gameplay and the graphics and especially the funky background music. Gameplay was too shallow though and the level progression didn't add much, so it didn't keep me coming back.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:49am

Hey, y'all! Thanks for playing this game!

I didn't have time to properly work on it the way I wanted during the jam (even the post-jam version might suffer a bit :/), but I'm kind of proud of how the game came out.

I know the gameplay is way too shallow and the level progression/design isn't the best one (gotta work on this the next LD).

About what Lythom said, about speed, the collector actually has the same rotating speed every level, the pendulum's tangential speed, though, changes according to the radius of the gray marker. This is actually part of the game's design. :P The idea is to have it like a pendulum, but I'm totally shit at thinking about it so the acceleration/deceleration is pretty badly thought. :/

The main point of the game was to have it very simple, with no fussing too much with a background history/concept: you're a dot with another dot attached by a string and you have to collect orange dots to grow and explode. In a kind of way that Super Hexagon or Waves does.

I'm gonna work on this further, I hope to have the post-jam version as a link between the jam prototype and the final product. But, first, there are some projects in the oven. :P

Thanks and Cheers to you all! :)

gelisam says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:02am

The collector moves *way* too fast. I didn't feel like I had any control over the outcome of the game: I can steer away from a blue dot, but only at the cost of crashing into tons of other random stuff on the other side of the level, so it felt like the outcome of the game was quite random, only depending on what color the things I crashed into were.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:00am

Definitely feels like a nice mobile game. Controls would probably be improved if it simply followed the mouse instead, as the arrow key movements were incredibly hard to control. Otherwise, it's an interesting idea, executed well with polish!

radmars says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:04am

I think going for a "pendulum" feel is a very cool idea, but could use work on its execution. If you want to keep the sort of fast, frenetic feeling, I would increase the size of dots and decrease their spawn rate to allow you to focus on less stuff at a time.

However, I still had fun getting to level 5! Loved the robot voice and the music!

ALobker says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:42am

Wow, this game is hard. In my case, getting orange and avoiding blue is mostly due to luck.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:42am

Nice. I think the controls were a bit too sensitive. Also you could maybe indicate on screen whenever you're ready to 'burst'. But I liked the idea, as well as the way you had to look out for the dots twice, once when coming in, once when coming out.

_benhumphries says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:20pm

This is probably the best all around game that I've seen so far. The game was great and addicting, and the audio really sold the deal. Amazing job!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:30am

Good job on the theme but wish there was a status display to see when you may die and the progress you were making! good music!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Controls are a bit too touchy, but other than that it's a great arcadeish, bullet-hellish game. I think the more minimalistic graphics are a point in your favor.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Cool game there ! Great game design, it's really addictive and fits the theme nicely. Like other people said, the level progression lacks a little bit of fun, you don't have something new or interesting each time you reach a new level, just some attributes change, that would have been a great and not that much time consuming feature (maybe some power-ups like slow motion, blue particles deflector etc., thought I don't know how you could pick them up xD). Also the pendule motion is not very optimal. The arrow keys sometimes make it even more difficult and the acceleration is clearly adding a feeling of no control.

Great work anyways ;)

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Cool idea. I agree that the controls are a bit touchy. If you develop it further did you think about not spawning everything random but maybe in patterns where correctly done a fluid left to right movement allow you to collect many dots. Don´t know if this makes sense but maybe it is worth a try. Great entry and awesome voice-over.

johntherobot says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Fun game! Simple mechanic with good difficulty scaling!

OccamsRazor says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Oh man, this is the exact type of game, like Super Hexagon, that can keep me playing for hours! It's really cool, and takes a good amount of concentration. I especially liked how you added the sound cues when you grabbed a dot.

My only complaint was that the actual movement and controls felt a bit too...sticky, a little unresponsive I guess. But overall, great work!

amYk777 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Really nice. Maybe it's just because I suck, but I couldn't progress beyond the first level.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Loved the originality! Very innovative, and awesome music. Very simple too, and that's what I like about it. Could definitely see this on mobile devices! c:

gBouckaert says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:02am

Cool, very nice. I felt a little awkward with the controls when trying to do a full circle, but then I always do in games like that ... . It's a nice use of the themes, I like it!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:56am

Pro:
+ Great concept and mechanics
+ Nice graphics and music
Obs:
o Hard to master, but fun!

Great job!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:11am

Played and Voted ,but forget to comment!(so sorry!!was out for some temporary that day ToT)
in a scene,the feel of basic spirit/atmosphere and art-style are a true disciple of the previous entry~ but all of these were reached a breakthrough and build a new wonderful feeling!!(Zen+Synthetic-Voice+Minimalism) I this is really cool and so genius combination~!
little advice:
* if the tutorial-text set up a corresponding relationship with key-word and the color,may be more intuitive understanding?(for example ,buleball---> blue color text) , but this maybe also not necessary~XD because although i not remember clearly after i read the tutorial~ but when i paly it, i got the key-rules naturally~~XD
* in graphic, the shape's edge,seem little bit more sharpen,and when the circle getbig,it seem some pixelate,i feel it may influence the feeling, i think maybe some image-effect and get some bloom effect may let this style more great?(more soft less sharpen?) i am not sure ,and current is really great enough.
oh,just forgot,besides the Synthetic-voice,that design that hold left-key and right-key together to boom is really Cool!Love this very much!!!> <
Happy New Year
Cheers~

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]