Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Circle Defender

by daleth90 - Compo Entry

Theme : Two Button Controls

Z : Rotation Left
X : Rotation Right
Z + X : Boost (Move faster forward the original direction)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#285Audio3.08
#330Fun3.35
#331Theme3.91
#421Overall3.31
#532Innovation3.09
#587Graphics2.91
#655Humor1.91
#672Mood2.70

Comments

velddev says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Neato! i saw this on twitter, great job dude!

Duobix says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Well, I wanted to try this game, but it isn't in WebGl, so sorry.

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:40pm

So much fun playing this game! If only the ball can rotate faster!

Kouthem says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:46pm

nice and simple concept you have there.

mxjones says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Awesome concept, really fun to play. Good job

Ovidios says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:24pm

The physics made this one unique. For me it was pretty hard though... Also: Don't use the "z"-key! On QWERTZ-keyboards the z and y key are switched. It wasn't too bad for this game but it's still annoying.

trueboolean says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Awesome! It's pretty challenging!

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Love the idea of the game. The physics make it fun and difficult at the same time (i almost punched the boxes basically in the core :D ), the only thing that annoyed me a little bit was the X Z combination (due to the Qwertz/ Qwerty difference)

George says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nice concept, digging the art style!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This game is pretty hard, or so I thought, until I found out you could used both Z and X at the same time ;)

Simple but nice game.

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36am

Sometimes bouncing the cubes off feels inconsistent in terms of which direction they end up bouncing in.
The yellow-on-white of the player does not provide a lot of visual contrast. Adding an outline to the player would address this.
Do you currently ramp up the difficulty? Spawning less enemies earlier and more later would be a good idea.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

nice game, the music was a tad too loud

TsFreddie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18am

Quite challenging. I'm enjoying the music.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Wow, awesome O.o the idea, the game, the controls, really really good :D

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58pm

the idea is nice and the game is fun to play
maybe you could have added also the growing theme by making the circle grow each time it was hit making it also more difficult

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Really fun game. The music was good and the graphics fit really well :D

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:44pm

This has a simpler look to my game, but different mechanics. Nicely done. Seemed a bit slow rotation though.

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:03pm

SICK BACKGROUND MUSUC!

Awesome minimalistic art stile, pretty gameplay and good game overall.

Well done dude!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Great fun. Loving simplistic concept and addictive gameplay. Great job.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Very cool little game. This is fun to play and has lots of potential. Great work

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Fun game, nice job!

Emkiusz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Simple and fun :)

victorfisac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04pm

So funny v:)

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Simple and addictive.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Cool idea, and the game looks and sounds really nice! Love the funky bass.

It was interesting how I didn't just have to touch the blocks, but actually smack them hard enough to drive them off course. This made the game more unique, and the slow movement of the ball made for some OH NO moments where I was already too late but watching the disaster unfold.

I think there's one design choice that hurts the experience though, so don't take this badly but I want to offer the suggestion.

It needs a faster retry loop.

It has three delays every time you die and want to play again:

A delay before the death actually registers.
A delay while you watch the score screen.
A delay going back to the main title screen, which was made worse by the fact that I had some glitchy issues with the two-button combo keypress registering to start the game. Sometimes it was immediate, other times I had to jam the keys repeatedly for a few seconds first.

I would prefer the game to instantly kill me and show my score with a single-key instant restart. I would have played a lot longer if it was that way.

The problem with this kind of slowness in the retry loop is that it most punishes a brand new player, who is eager to experiment but likely to die quickly. The developer, who is expert enough for a long gametime, doesn't feel the pain.

That's just a small thing though, nice compo entry!

ajopart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Hi daleth90 . Great game ! Perfectly executed !Thanks for your comment on my game. I uploaded the folder. You can now test it. Cheers.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Simple and fun. Nice audio too.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44pm

ahh this got me frustrated lol the controls were alright just didnt seem to get to block some in time and if i got there late it bounced then into middle even faster but i did enjoy playing this just had to stop or it would drive me crazy wanting to beat previous score :)

Well done!!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Was a good game :) I think the controls became un-responsive at one point but that may have been an issue on my end, as It never happened again.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Real nice ! I enjoyed playing your game. Well done

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Great use of the theme. congrats!
The gameplay is very good too. I haven't figured what the yellow box does.

sirono says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Exciting game, and great and simple Graphic design.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Average game, a little too impossible though.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Simple but fun! (A color blind mode would be nice though!)

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

+ Good concept.
+ Has health powerups.
+ Simple.
+ Fast paced.

- Slow ball.

blackname says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

A lot of randomness, I think it would be more fun if you create a progression. But it's simple and fun, I like it!

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Nice concept simple and good fun - playing several times comparing high scores with my family.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Extremly simple but fun to play ;)

Lia-Sae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:39am

Having trouble getting past the start screen for some reason. It's as if you're testing the events GetButtonDown or GetButtonUp for both keys (instead of checking for both being down), and having both events on the same frame is rare.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Really cool game, such a great concept for the two button controls! Personally I found the music a bit distracting... but a fun game.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Nice entry! I had fun playing this and it was quite addictive! Good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]