Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grazing Hell

by krzymsky - Compo Entry

Just feed your puppy, let him grow.
Fat guys are better, try to avoid te sick ones.

Z - change move direction
X - bat swipe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#14Graphics4.50
#24Theme4.41
#36Fun3.97
#44Humor3.84
#44Overall4.00
#45Mood3.94
#271Innovation3.48

Comments

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Disgusting (I like it) - and fun)

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Nice work! Fun game to play and good use of themes!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Wow! nice game. awesome graphics!!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Liked the art! Couldn't work out the difference between the guys until i read it in the description though. Satisfying to whack guys, though a little frustrating since they often go nowhere near where intended especially with the power up that hits them even further!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Absolutely fantastic artwork and sound fx. Great style. The game was also fun to play.

sergei_ryzhov says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31pm

it is awesome

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Fun to play, great artwork and sound. The background noises were a great touch. I found it so satisfying to just juggle the guys in the air sometimes. Great job.

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

Ugly in a good way. Fun and good theme.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26am

I really liked this. Great art, setting and mechanic. Was fun to play.

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

A.W.E.S.O.M.E.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Really nice graphics and fun gameplay! And most importantly the theme is respected. Really well done!
(it's a shame the punch powerup is useless as we miss more the monster than usual :/)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

like the art, easy and enjoyable game play :) cool ambiance with the dripping water in the background, nice level of detail in the sound :D

cescababs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Fun and a bit gross, would have been great to see the monster transform

krashja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13am

Nice work, i love this game!

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33pm

The monster is super-cute. :D And what are all these suit fellas doing in such jolly place?
Solid entry!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:49am

Great stuff. I really liked the art style - very solid. The game controls were tight and easy to pick up but fun to play with. This is a great entry. Congrats on finishing and thanks for sharing!

nosfer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01pm

disgusting but fun, greetings from fellow polish developer :). Did you consider changing controls to arrows ? Changing direction and smacking if you are already in that direction?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:16am

krazy good game - theme use was amazing

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Good graphics and funny !, my score is 110. Good job!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Got 135 point! I think, missed the last screen because I pressed a button just as it showed up. Anyways, fun and simple game with pretty graphics.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Cool use of the theme! Love the graphics and the idea! Good job!

bessdlan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:36am

very nice game ^^ good job;)

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:51am

Good job!! Nice graphics and great idea. Really like it.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:01am

overall great game! very well done!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]