Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of the Vikings

by terryg - Jam Entry

The vikings are causing trouble in your village.  You must drive them away so that people can be safe again.  You discover a magical plant that can GROW tall enough to reach the god of all the vikings up in the skies.  However, it needs nutrients to keep GROWING....vikings, that is.  So you fling vikings at the plant before the viking hoards can cut it down.  Can you destroy the viking god?

You will want to play with full screen in order to access the controls to start the game at the bottom of the screen.

Use arrow keys (or "a" and "d") to move the player left and right.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#439Audio(Jam)3.16
#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#657Innovation(Jam)2.94
#933Mood(Jam)2.46
#957Fun(Jam)2.53
#977Graphics(Jam)2.22
#1014Overall(Jam)2.66

Comments

ragnta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I can go out from the screen. Is it deliberate?

terryg says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:59am

Yes. It actually makes it easier since the hero sometimes gets in the way. By putting him to the far right, if a viking gets flinged too far, then the viking will push the hero to the left and allows you to get early detection since that's usually the case when the viking will really go to town chopping down the plant.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:27am

Interesting game. I see it was made in unity - by the way to fix the weird shaped health bar you can use a 9-slice in the sprite import settings.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:34am

Nice little game. Didn't succeed to end it though !

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:19pm

pretty nice concept. the collision is a little weird. sometimes dragging a viking causes my character to fly with him if near. Adding more variations might make this game more fun

terryg says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Thanks, Efuvex. I'll look into that.
Thanks, Blake and YellowFish. It seems that the there might be some friction with the rigid body and that might cause the lift of the character too. I've had it happen to me.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:42am

It fit the theme but I wasn't sure what to do at first.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:19am

Interesting game. I was first confused by the fact that you have to move the character (the tutorial doesn't say anything about it?) Anyways, I got it quite fast. Nice idea, and I love the audio.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:27pm

The game does not start... I stay stuck on a white page :(

justinooncx says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:20am

Kind of frustrating, since the flinging isn't responsive and the player gets in the way. Otherwise, an interesting idea.

Zener says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:22am

Interesting concept and good music

OwT says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:55am

Oh man... It turns out that I have the patience of a nut! At first I though I'm gonna throw everything out of the window. I really did not know what I'm doing! But then it seemed to work so I continued... and then I won?
For me it was not so fun, but people around me almost died from laughter so it was worth it!

terryg says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Glad to hear Owt! Yes. Mostly you just move the "hero" out of the way, and start chucking vikings at the plant.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:35am

I finally beat this game.

There needs to be a bit more feedback for click and drag as it's not obvious what's going on from the tutorial alone.

I was furious when I almost reached the clouds but missed one shot with a viking who single-handedly chopped my plant back down within seconds. It's a bit brutal with punishment and could be balanced a bit more (understandable with the lack of time and all, though).

I feel like the little pilgrim avatar could have had a bit more pushing power against the viking soldiers to give him more reason to stay on screen.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:10am

Interesting, but damn this was frustrating to play on a trackpad :D

The music seems to restart every time you change a page in the tutorial.

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Thanks for the feedback @loneshark. Spent a lot of time trying to get the flinging action to work. A floating arrow or something would have helped but I didn't have time. And the vikings are too aggressive with the axe. I think if that was half the rate that would give you time to deal with that viking. I could add more weight to the pilgrim.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:26pm

I'm not sure what to make of this. The mechanics are inventive, but it took me a while to work out how to be effective. Momentum can easily turn against the player, and the player character seems to get in the way more than anything else. The fling really does need an attached power arrow. Also, the UI buttons are tiny. I liked the challenge scaling as the plant neared the top, but it was very easy to get knocked all the way back down to below the starting point.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:39am

Rather difficult game play, but nice music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]