Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SWOOP/POOP

by Foofanoo42 - Compo Entry

Control a pigeon and dive-bomb to defecate on a sheltered statue. Using the 'two button controls' theme.

I had only about 10 hours this weekend, so this is it. Used HTML5 with collie.js, GIMP for drawings. It should work fine in new browsers.

Note: I made BFXR sound that I loved....but couldn't get the game working on hosting that allowed sound. Damn.

Source is the one js file in the html source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#36Humor3.88
#452Fun3.19
#545Innovation3.06
#562Theme3.63
#598Mood2.80
#632Overall3.06
#657Graphics2.78

Comments

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31am

Came for the title, stayed for the swooping and pooping, rated for the glory of Pidgeon Poopenheimer

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31am

Playing this reminds me of trying to throw grenades while parachuting in Just Cause 3. I did get some weird graphical glitching with pellets hanging in the air and the background flickering back and forth between the texture and solid blue but it works and is playable with only two buttons. Is there a tactical reason to swoop? It just seems like it makes the trajectory harder and doesn't really help any.

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08am

It's uhm.. swooping and pooping. What else can i say?

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10am

Took me a little while to figure out that the platform the statue was holding was not the target.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31am

came for the poop, stay for the poop lol

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35am

God, yet another game about swooping and pooping.


Just kidding. Swoop/Poop was a first for me. The title is very honest, for I did swoop and I did poop. At one point the statue I was pooping on stopped counting my poops, but that's okay. I'm not in it for the money, I'm in it for the joy of the swoop.

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:15am

That's really fun! Nice job!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16am

I came, I swooped, I pooped. A rather simple game, but simple isn't bad~

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17am

could use better poop physics

sanojian says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

The title says it all. What has that bird been eating anyway? Fun little game.

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

Nice little pooping game. Was a bit unclear how to dive, but overall a lot of fun.

demogorgon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Would be better if my poop was affected by gravity, but this is great. :P

guru-guru says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:56am

Got 7 hits. Very interesting game.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Haha, hilarious!
My only gripe with this game is that the position/direction of the bird seems a bit flaky at times.
The swooping mechanic was quite nice though!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Good fun, I found that rapid fire pooping increased my hit rate massively - i would suggest making poop a limited resource, and provide some way to get more such as stealing it from pedestrians - this way, it would have potential as a mobile game.

samreid says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Got 2 hits, sound effects would really liven up this game.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:26am

Descriptive title :D

Maybe a bit more response for a proper hit would be nice. Otherwise, nice pooping action!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:42am

It's a shame you didn't have more time to work this but the concept was pretty amusing.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:09am

Swoop and Poop.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Haha! What a brilliant name, and simple concept, I could play this for hours!

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:12am

Super fun! I always enjoyed doing the bombing runs in games like U.N. Squadron and Sopwith, but this was even more amusing because of the funny theme and the well designed controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]