Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pop

by mcmahoniel - Compo Entry

You're a balloon just trying to escape your humdrum daily life as a party favor. Ascend higher and higher, but try not to get hit by a meteor!

You can move with you left and right arrow keys. You'll grow larger as the atmosphere gets thinner, so be careful!

This is only my second Ludum Dare. Like my first entry, I built this with some great inexpensive/free tools. I drew all of the graphics in Aseprite, generated the popping sound with cfxr, composed the music (quickly) in GarageBand, and brought it all together with Phaser.js.

I was, surprisingly, able to embody both themes that were voted on this year!

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#359Humor2.63
#447Audio2.70
#554Mood2.87
#653Fun2.92
#715Theme3.40
#808Graphics2.40
#858Overall2.72
#889Innovation2.25

Comments

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27am

Good game! Simple and music felt good! Nice work! :)

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:27am

Simple and fun, good work! Though, I'm unsure of how to restart after I've died other than to refresh.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29am

Not being able to restart kinda makes it hard to replay.

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48am

Sorry about the restart functionality, I ran out of time. :) Thanks for playing!

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:55am

Solid, simple game. Nice work getting both themes in there.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57am

yep, simple and fun
the music fit the game really well

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05am

Would be better if we can restart

GodsBoss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:33am

Is it just me or is that game insanely hard? Why does the balloon try to ascend during the late heavy bombardement the Earth once went through?
Still pretty fun, though.

Serg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36am

Simple, but nice.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:42am

Needs restart! balloon looks weird but still an ok game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03am

Well done on a solidly implemented game.

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Music really fit the game. I enjoyed it, nicely done!

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Would have been nice to be able to restart after being hit. A simple idea but it's executed nicely.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

fun game and easy to play

psychonull says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Simple and fun game. Nice work!!

argowen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15am

I now have a complex with falling objects popping my balloons.

barret907k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:41am

Fun yet hard. No way to reset?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]