Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vine Runners

by ss64games - Jam Entry

Vine Runners is a game in which competing vines weave through obstacles and intertwine with each other. Whichever vine is last standing gets to bloom. Think minimal local-multi snake. Features 10 levels with beautiful palettes.

Don't worry, Vine Runners includes AI so you may play by yourself, but the fun really begins when you grab friends and family to do the vine tango with.

Supports gamepads but also has keyboard controls for up to four players!

*Download the game for higher graphics quality if you like the browser version!*

[Post Jam Bug Fixes v1.1 12/14]: When playing with many human players one or more gamepads could override all keyboard inputs. When quitting back to the menu, the main game theme would keep playing simultaneously with the menu music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#51Theme(Jam)4.30
#70Mood(Jam)4.00
#73Overall(Jam)3.93
#88Audio(Jam)3.93
#90Fun(Jam)3.80
#321Innovation(Jam)3.40
#329Graphics(Jam)3.77

Comments

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Great idea love the movement. I can't wait to play with friends :)

NoOneJeremy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Really nice work, congrats!

Zulgot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21pm

At first a was pretty confused what is going on :D But later the game became very enjoyable. I especially like the music and AI.

lawendt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Simple and entertaining. Congratz!

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

wow, very smooth movement, and best music I have heard so far this ludum dare, and this is my 41st review. graphics were great too

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

wow, very smooth movement, and best music I have heard so far this ludum dare, and this is my 41st review. graphics were great too. shame the ai were too easy

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

This is so soft, polished and sweet. Just like die Curve, but nicer. The AI is a bit retarted, but that is understandable. The music is very well chosen.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25am

This game makes me happy. Great music, surprising variation in the levels and cool colors.

I thought it was gonna be another local multiplayer game where it would suck if you play on your own, but this is something else. I enjoyed.

at fist I was a bit confused about which I controlled and I also thought I couldn't hit any other lines. But as I found out, you just can. seeing this is so similar as tron gameplay-like, you probably should point out this is a bit different and you can actually go through the lines. Mabye more of a foreground/backgroud setup for the lines and leaves. the flower in the end is also super nice!

also, I like the white-ish level that is shrinking the most. I feel a this white-ish color works best together with all the colors and it looks nice when it's taking over the color space in this level.

I had some fun with it. the gameplay is not that interesting I must say, so I'm also not sure how long you would play this with friends. But for something in 72 hours, good job. also you make up for it with the level variation. it changes up gameplay a bit.

movedaru says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51am

Great Idea... Fun gameplay, music very good, innovacion 100%... 4.8/5! It´s Really Fun!!!

Madball says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Finally, a multiplayer game with AI. Thank you for making it.

It was very fun to play even against AI. Music and graphics fit each other, and the gameplay is well balanced between surviving and trying to mess up your opponents.

I was confused at first, since no controls are given. I didn't expect you to prefer spacebar over enter. Also, the fact that only moustaches (of course they are moustaches!) have hitboxes is unclear.

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Nice concept, it's good that there are more levels. Music is surprisingly catchy.

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07pm

I really, really like the music. Really chill game and cool idea.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Simple and very fun take on an auchtung die kurve-like game. Loved it!

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Really enjoyed this! Audio was great, very fun stuff!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Very cool! I love the multiplayer component. A refreshing twist on a previous idea. Only other comment I have is that it is hard to tell at first which player you are controlling. Great work!

PanKamil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

A very pretty and creative take on an idea I've seen a few times before. It must be a ton of fun when you have somebody to play with :D. I like that you can start a new game in a blink of an eye.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56pm

This game must have a hotseat or some sort of multiplayer.
Very immersive gameplay, like it :)

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Dude what's up! it's a great looking game, and pretty fun to play. going to have to see if I can get 4 controllers hooked up for some multiplayer

luysse_l says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Great game, nice work

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:37pm

I loved this one! Can't wait to get some friends to play it with. The AI is pretty good though and this type of game was a great choice for multiplayer since the AI probably wasnt super hard to code. Very smart, good aesthetic, intuitive controls and mechanics (although it took me a minute to figure out which vine I was in single player)... good iteration time between games for single player; I had some nice relaxing fun with this one.

Jan 16, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Cute, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/jZIKMICuSkI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]