Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lumberjacks Must Die: The Story of Treesus

by Captain Awesome - Jam Entry

WASD to move
Shift-R to reload the level


In Lumberjacks Must Die you play as a Japanese Maple named Treesus who eats lumberjacks by running over them. There's no end to the game, you just eat lumberjacks until you get bored.

I wanted to give the tanks flamethrowers, but ran out of time, so... You can eat them too!

** To get the Mac or Linux version, just click the "more" button on GameJolt right next to the "download" button.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#909Mood(Jam)2.53
#1029Innovation(Jam)2.00
#1038Theme(Jam)2.53
#1061Fun(Jam)2.16
#1117Overall(Jam)2.00
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09pm

haha! Killing tanks leaves a blood spatter on the ground, loved that :)). Becomes a bit hard to kill the lumberjacks when the tree is big. Nice job!

Farelle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10pm

enemy units are walking/driving backwards and are sometimes vanishing into the ground, there is no feedback of the "eating" actually happening, there is randomly a splatter effect either appearing or not.
It honestly doesn't feel very good to play, since it never really changes.
Have to say though, that the music and bloodsplatter creates an eerie feeling, which I guess is intended, therefore I say the mood is fine.
and in terms of innovation...what better way to express to be against deforestation then by creating the "saviour" Treesus to defeat all the evil woodcutters :o (but whats the point of the tanks?)

Roffe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:26pm

There is no executable for the linux version.

abuzreq says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:15pm

hhhh so funny , would have loved to be cannibalistic and eat fellow trees :P

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05am

Thanks for playing! I will try your games soon!

VladRusu, you must have killed a lot of them. :O I Should have moved the camera up slightly every time the tree grew.

Farelle, it's lacking in polish and fun because I ran out of time. There really is no deeper meaning to the game, you play as a tree who grows because that fits the theme. Lumberjacks seemed to be a good enemy for a tree. Tanks were supposed to balance it, to come blow you up or light you on fire. But I ran out of time.

Roffe, it's kind of hidden on the Game Jolt site. Click the "more" button on GameJolt right next to the "download" button, and you'll see download options for Mac and Linux versions.

abuzreq, ahahaha that's a great idea!

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

nice idea but the graphic can be better

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:41am

I wasn't really sure what the "game" aspect of this was, but destroying a tank with a tree, and somehow causing blood effects, was kinda interesting in itself.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:33am

I like the creativity behind this game, I think it's a great idea that could be made into a really interesting game. I would really like to see that brought into the game mechanics. It would be really interesting, for example, if it was more of a stealth game: you had to sneak around the lumberjacks, and if you moved in their sightline they chase you and try to cut you down, but you could kill them from behind and stand still to pretend you're just a normal tree. I enjoyed the visual effects added to give a bit of feedback.

Japes says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Nice idea but I can see you ran out of time. Lack of unit animations and some other graphical kinks made it look unfinished.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I've found my mother, but she didn't reacted when I was around...

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:53pm

The game is crazy, but I liked the fun to destroy tanks. Well done

Muel says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:13am

How I felt playing this game:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdwC4vhc594

Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:22pm

LOL, I wanted to have chainsaws. But ran out of time.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]