Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bloodrinker and the Terrible Tower

by Ilseroth - Compo Entry

This game was made in a very short period of time for Ludum Dare 34 with the dual themes Growth and Two Button. I had a fair deal of ideas and ended up switching my entire project several times with me eventually settling on this concept.

Wielding the bloodthirsty sword, which grows as it drinks, ascend the tower.

As mentioned, the game is fairly short as it was made in a fraction of the total time; and I am fairly disappointed with how it came out. The weapon and character model were both temporaries but I didn't get enough time to finish.

Overall I came up with 4 full games for this concept mix and put time into all of them; next time I need to temper myself to get a decent amount of polished content in the game... oh well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#385Innovation3.31
#405Audio2.80
#498Graphics3.06
#632Overall3.06
#649Mood2.73
#744Fun2.75
#939Theme2.38
#2253Coolness17%

Comments

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

This game looked and felt really good. I have one really minor complaint I wish there was a shadow because often I would fall because I couldn’t work out where a platform was in relation to the player. However that’s a really small detail on what it otherwise a very good game.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:51am

i like the idea of running in circles. good work

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:06am

Nice game ! The camera angle is really nice, I stressed before each jump. Really cool idea, good job !

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:05pm

This is very impressive if you only did it in a fraction of the time! The character animations are flawless and the gameplay is quite polished. The music went well with the mood. I did fall a bunch of times because it was sometimes hard to see where I would land. Great job otherwise!

Ilseroth says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Regarding Shadows: I agree and I attempted to make it happen, but for some reason Unity just decided screw me and not allow the shadows to work... for some reason... no clue why.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:50am

Love the concept, just need some sort of clarity as to when and where you are in relation to the platform and when you jump. I fell down the tower way too many times, which was super annoying. Nonetheless, I really like the feeling of jumping from this angle (in theory) and with some more active and satisfying combat this could be really cool

Dianouille says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Great gameplay, too hard for me, but it's good game, well done !

fxtagn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Interesting idea with tower, and good mood! May be, too slow for "run & slash" game.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Interesting concept - I liked the aesthetic. However I don't know if you play the guitar riffs, but you must review the fundamentals of harmony. Ugly :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]