Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Run

by DarthThomas - Jam Entry

Ninja Run is an endless runner game. Run through platforms and kill enemies on your way.

Controls:
z - jump
x - attack

Design/Programming - Tomasz Trzaska

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#641Audio(Jam)2.59
#984Graphics(Jam)2.17
#1048Innovation(Jam)1.67
#1059Fun(Jam)2.17
#1064Overall(Jam)2.50
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11am

With my average life span in this game, you'd think this should have been called Flappy Ninja. lol

I did have trouble with the jump key not always responding, leading to a few of my many deaths.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13am

Fits the theme very well but gets repetitive very quick. Could really use more content/variety and some rules in the randomization of the scene because it can happen that the level is simply impossible to do due to bad spawning of platforms/enemies

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59am

Flappy ninja indeed ;) my highest score was 161 in the five mins of play. a lower jumping height would make me feel a bit more in control.

NecroMac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05pm

This need some more content. Nothing new can happen after you play for more then 3 min. Try and look for "art of screenshake" video, to help improve the visual aspect of the game

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:48am

nice jam entry - some more control tweak are needed - jumps are too high and uncontrollable - nice job

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:56am

I would agree that the game would benefit from tweaking the jumping mechanic. And I don't believe anything was stopping me from spamming the attack button.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:16am

Quite an average game. Very basic concept & unoriginal idea.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:53pm

In a twitch game like this it's vital that all controls always respond immediately and they don't.

Anti says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:02am

Very addicting and hard. Could use a little more variety as it gets a bit boring after a while. But it is a very fun game.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:20am

Solid game but needs work. Graphics and music are ok but Gameplay is kind of boring and doesn't make great use of the 2 button controls. A variable height jump is needed. Also would be cool if enemies attacked back or throw ninja stars.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]