Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

RUN For Your Life

by bentglasstube - Compo Entry

You are a penguin trying to catch fish to eat while avoiding seals that wish to eat you.

A to run left, D to run right.


You will need the following libraries for Linux:

* libsdl2
* libsdl2_mixer
* libnoise

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#331Audio2.97
#428Theme3.80
#463Fun3.17
#515Graphics3.03
#544Overall3.16
#672Innovation2.80

Comments

Coherence says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

I enjoy this game very much. Well done. My cup of penguin spilleth over.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Lovely penguin graphics. Well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Thanks for playing on your youtube, Jupi!

Rys0n says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:16pm

I really like the penguin/seal speed balance. :)

in3orn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Funny game, I like it :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Is the music yours? Its really awesome.

kernel panic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:04pm

So cute! AH! SEAL!

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Yes, the music is mine. I am glad you liked it!

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:11pm

This is a very fun game! Good job.

Hackbug says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Your game is very cool, i love the music and the character design :) the only problem is the game is a little bit lagging :/ i have beetween 0 and 10 FPS.

But else i had fun while playing your game ;)

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Yeah, the FPS can definitely be an issue. I didn't have much time to do optimizations unfortunately.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Nice little runner game, well done!

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:27am

Nice and crisp graphics. Kudos for using SDL! I found the game a bit too easy, I would've liked to see the difficulty increase progressively :)

Zeriver says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:34am

I like retro vibe in this game, sounds and graphics match well together. In overall it's a fun game to play and kinda addicting.

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:09am

The difficulty should progress but it does so a bit slowly. As you run, the ratio of snow:ice:water shifts more and more toward water until eventually that's all there is and you can no longer outrun the seals

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Nice! It kinda reminds me of playing Skifree back in the day :)

Ace says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Perhaps you should package in any non-standard libraries that you're using, libnoise is not in my package manager in any way, shape, or form so I have to compile it on manually. Not something you want to force people to do when they just want to play a game.
It runs quite abysmally as well, nowhere near playable FPS on my machine regardless on if I throw in libnoise or run it through wine.

Apart from that though, the gameplay is enjoyable and feels really solid. The art and sound is nice too, and the controls feel good. If you could improve the performance slightly this would be a very good game.

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:45am

Cute! Love the art. Surprisingly challenging gameplay, too. I don't think I've ever more determinedly tried to outrun a seal. :)

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Adorable. Takes some practice, but rewards with a warm feeling of helping a penguin.

Surprisingly, two-button controls are smooth and intuitive. And the gameplay is not repetitive, with all these different kinds of fish.

Are rocks supposed to be insta-kills? I haven't survived a single rock.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]