Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Catalyst

by MoreRPG Team - Jam Entry

For this LD we had planned to create a small puzzle game because we had very little time.

The idea of the game was that the player controls terrestrial ecosystems and their chaotic growth and blending. The player can influence growth of the ecosystems but only in a limited way. And in the end it is always the nature, that has the last word.


Instructions:

- You goal is to reach a certain limit of points.

- You gain points by filling every empty tile with a certain colour.

- The closer colour to the objective, the more points you get.


- You can place one sphere at a time.

- You can change colour of the sphere in hand for a penalty in points.


- Each placed sphere grows more spheres of its colour.

- When spheres of different colour meet, they blend colour.


Controls:

- Left mouse button – place sphere

- Right mouse button – change colour



Our team members:

- Daria Paramonova - programming

- Anna Sviridenko - art

- Vladimir Gaidenko - game & sound design


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#327Audio(Jam)3.35
#390Innovation(Jam)3.31
#627Mood(Jam)3.08
#659Theme(Jam)3.53
#820Graphics(Jam)2.80
#896Overall(Jam)2.86
#975Fun(Jam)2.49

Comments

bessdlan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27am

original concept ^^

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Interesting puzzle idea. Nice atmosphere too. Good stuff.

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Cool puzzle game, I can see how some extra elements and sphere types could add more strategic play for a post-jam version perhaps? But yeah, in it's current state, it's a sold game, with some rather nice music, nice!

kernel panic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

The end condition seems to be a bit broken, sometimes I seem to win when I should have lost. The colouring rules are also a bit hard to memorise. I like the idea though.

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Ecology meets Go. Interesting gameplay mechanic, involving a healthy dose of strategy - should I put undesired spheres in one group? Spread them out? How will they interact when different groups meet? Visuals and music fit into calm atmosphere of the game too. Could use some polish though.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

The concept is great, and the game uses it quite well. It is quite easy right now, I found myself winning most rounds by just placing spheres quite randomly around. The presentation could be a bit more exciting maybe but this board game type of way works too, especially with the calm music.

Bogden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Interesting idea! A bit short though

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:20pm

All around good game. The gameplay, music, and graphics meshed well together, giving it a calm, relaxing vibe while still keeping me engaged. More levels would be cool, but even as-is I really enjoyed this one.

h.attila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49am

Interesting idea, a bit like Go or Reversi I guess. At first it was really difficult for me because the blending rules weren't obvious. Also, I don't quite understand the color switching function. Do I just get another random color then? The presentation is pretty nice though, it is a well made game.

tjxx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Fun, but really challenging. I like the originality of it.

skripteriant says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40pm

it took me a few tries to understand what I was doing, but once I did it was really fun. very original puzzle game.

But It seems that the objective it tells you at the top doesn't match how you win. I think the win state might care more about the score then filling it with a specific color?

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:53pm

You get the score according to the colour specified in the objective.

So if the objective is to fill everything with red spheres, then you would get 3 points for every red sphere, 2 points for spheres of colour which contains red colour and 1 point for any other colour.

Colour values change with the objectives.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I was rather confused what I was supposed to do. The game said that I should fill the grid with blue balls. However in the end all my balls were green instead of blue...however my score was over 500 so I won the game o.o
Nice game concept though :)

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:46am

Nice concept, great mood. It took some time to figure out how to play though.

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:53am

Nice music and mood, but I was mostly confused about what would happen when the colours mets

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:54am

good idea, but too boring, sorry.

mukult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Interesting puzzle..

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Nice simple game, fun to play with friends - gets quite competitive! Sound got a bit repetitive.

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:25am

cool concept. nice mood setting background music as well.

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Interesting puzzle game. Nice ambience too.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

nice concept, fun game

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Nice entry. Be careful, I had a warning on my computer when I tried to launch your game on webgl version. It said that it takes to much memory so it can't be played. I am on a correct computer and it is the first time I have warning like that. Anyway, it is an interesting puzzle gam. Good job ;)

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Thanks for the warning, I haven't noticed such a message before. We will look into that.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I really enjoyed the aesthetics of this game. However I never really understood the rules. No matter what I did, or where i clicked, I just always won.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:45am

I keep winning, but I'm not 100% sure how. :D That said, I'm not complaining! Beautiful music.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:23am

Interesting, could maybe work as a mobile game as well?

The win condition check didn't work for me. I sometimes filled the grid with the right color, but it still told me I had lost.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Nice idea

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]