Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceSnake

by rplnt - Compo Entry

SPACESNAKE is a snake game set in space. Unlike many other versions, this one allows you to move freely (as many allow you as well).

Game modes:
* Classic - slow, casual, yet still challenging after a while
* Insane - you start faster and gain speed with every point you take (until you can't keep the snake within the bounds)

Controls:
* Use ←/→ or A/D or J/L to control the snake.
* M to MUTE the music (and all sounds)

Notes:
* If you can, use the Unity Plugin version or Windows executable.
* The WebGL entry is having trouble displaying some fonts (icons) properly. Namely menu icon in Game Over (left button).
* The Linux build was tested very briefly - might not work properly.

Credits:
* Unity3D - game engine and stuff
* Paint[dot]NET - graphics
* audiosauna - "music"
* sfxr - special sound effects
* Visual Studio - text editor

Updates:
* itch.io mirror contains minor fixes in UI and a gameplay tweak in insane mode
* slightly modified version of the game is now available on Google Play https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ozerogames.spacesnake

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#438Theme3.79
#526Graphics3.00
#543Audio2.50
#586Fun3.00
#591Overall3.11
#745Mood2.54
#925Innovation1.97

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28am

Attractive take on an old classic. :)

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28am

I liked the game! Despite not being that original, the graphics were great. The fluid controls also made the game a lot more fun. Good job!

thecord says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Nice take on snake :-)

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Can i just say one thing?

RAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNBBBBBBBBBBOOOOOOOOOOWWW~!

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

nice snake-like take on the boh the themes
it doesn add very much of original but is fine to play

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:29pm

did 51!

Nice and fluid, il like that it's a bit permissive on the borders but the chips could have had a bigger hitbox.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:44pm

nice, trippy visuals, great job

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Great job

SamH says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Insane mode is great. Also there seems to be some tolerance as to when the snake can walk on its own tail, but it’s not very obvious.

By the way, the Linux version works, but it uses 500 MiB of memory (which is a bit “insane” too).

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Nice effects, but gameplay is boring. :(

Anyway, good entry.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Fluid controls, nice graphics, I like it!

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Nice, although I miss a little precision that old snake had with its limited movement ;) good entry!

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28pm

A good classic ! I like how the rainbow tail is rendered, looks pretty good :)

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

I really like your take on snake, it looks nice and it's fun to play. I enjoyed both modes but was far better in classic mode.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Fun take on a classic. Got a high score of 30.

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

Simple, classic, efficient.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:38am

A nice take on Snake, and the visuals are quite impressive!

One thing I'd suggest changing is increasing the hitbox of the pellets. The current hitbox seems to be slightly smaller than their sprite, when a hitbox slightly larger than it would help compensate for the difficulty of aiming.

A gentler beep for leaving the play field would help fit the chill feel of the game too, I think.

I managed to get up to 52 in the regular game, but only 8 in Insane, so I can definitely say you've got a full range of difficulty too!

Split82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Nice feel and it totally fits the theme! Good job.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:28am

I really like the polish of the game. The visual effects on the snake and the background music really helped the mood of the game. Insane mode was extremely difficult, as it was hard to loop back on yourself due to the slow controls and fast speed! Overall, while not innovative, the execution of this game is really good. I would like to see some more features like enemies or walls or something added to increase the variety in gameplay.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:58pm

really like the idea of a snake not being confined to 4 directions and your lovely take and execution on it. really nice

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:22pm

A nicely implemented take on Snake. Looks and feels good to play.

Feedback wise, it's a little unclear where on the end of your trail it becomes 'solid' as it fades out so it can be hard to judge where it's safe to cross. That might impact the nice look the trail has though were it to be changed.

Anyway, pleasant stuff. Nice job. :)

StaNov says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I like it :) I would hugely appreciate more precise information where does the snake end. Thanks for making this, cheers from Brno :)

StaNov says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:24pm

One more thing - reminded me of the game ńĆervi :)

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Lovely colors, simple and fun game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

jackrugile says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Nice take on the classic! I had fun playing it. I love the forgiving bounds collision. It was an unexpected and welcome surprise when I was able to save myself.

Some of my concerns have been voiced by others, but I'll repeat them here anyway, in case you're keeping count :)

1. A larger hit box for the food would be nice. Sometimes I could clearly see it overlapping the snake's body, but it wouldn't collect.

2. Even though the tail fade looks nice, it is hard to tell where it ends. Maybe you could keep the fade, but have a particle emitter at the very end of the collision area of the snake's body, so you know exactly where you can cross over. It might look cool too, rainbow particles or something.

3. As a possible addition to the difficulty increase over time, maybe you could start with larger food bits, and have them get smaller and smaller the more you collect. To a point of a course. Then your reaction time and precision need to improve over time as well.

I got up to 39 on classic. Nice job, overall!

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:37pm

We had a similar idea, check out my game, it will be very familiar haha

Nice rainbow trail :D

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:29pm

So…, It's snake. The music was a bit jarring. Was a bit miffed that I missed a little thingy even though my body overlapped it by about 25% but as soon as 1 pixel of my body hit another part I was dead instantly. Liked the "get back on screen" alert. Needs a Colonel Campbell voice over.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]