Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Croc Climber

by thegypsyknight - Compo Entry

Theme - Growing

Help Croc reach the sky using fertilizer to grow beanstalks!

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys - Movement / Climbing
Z/Y - Pick up / Drop items
X - Jump
Escape / R - Reset game
M - Mute

Created by Erik Wittmann / TheGypsyKnight
Twitch - http://www.twitch.tv/thegypsyknight
Twitter - https://twitter.com/TheGypsyKnight
Website - http://thegypsyknight.com/index.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#71Graphics4.13
#84Theme4.22
#238Overall3.56
#291Fun3.41
#376Mood3.11
#379Humor2.59
#509Audio2.58
#545Innovation3.06

Comments

piluve says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Looking good :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:06pm

nice, the visuals and gameplay are very well made, nice job

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:44pm

I'm liking the art work ALOT!! Cool idea for growing as well.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:25pm

i love it

zguba says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:36pm

This is lovely! :D

markoburzan27 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:39pm

nice

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Suits growing theme well and cool art!

BCasaleiro says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Really nice visuals and the idea for the growing theme is awesome! Good Job!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Very nice art work, sound effects all fixed up, nice and interesting story and gameplay - though it crashed on the portal (windows 10 64-bit) and sometimes the one-tile tunnel is not large enough to go through. Overall - well done!

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Love the pixel art and gameplay mechanics!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Hey Gypsy! Chubb1337 here! ;) Your game turned out really nice buddy. I couldn't manage to finish your game, I somehow always fell in those nasty spikes at the bottem xD

Anyway, I also submitted mine, I started over this morning and just finished half an hour ago, damn these Jams are good for the productivity! Haha ^^

Take care!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:19am

Weird, I couldn't get it to load. :(

ErelDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Pretty fun game ! I like platformers and the way to climb with the plant is really fun !

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I didn't recognize the spikes for what they are until I jumped in, haha.

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Really cool and clean art (these snails so good :P)
Solid platformer, good job!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45pm

i like it, the graphics looks very clean, i dig the pixelated graphics style, and the platformer gameplay
really bring me back to old days :D

oxysoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

Should have made it so that there was an alternate, much more intricate way of beating the game and keeping one fertilizer for the trophy on the title screen rather than give it to the player at the end.

Might not have been hard to pull off in 48 hours of course.

Jelinib says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

I tried to bring a bag of fertilizer to the menu screen, but alas... no holy grail for me!

And those moments when I think, "Oh, I'll just carry this fertilizer with me up the beanstalk." Go ahead and laugh at me... LOL.

I think I had a bug a couple of times (Windows) while I was climbing down the first beanstalk on the left (or second beanstalk in the stage), and I got teleported straight down somehow and landed in the spikes. Not sure exactly what it is. Maybe I'm slightly clipping the corner when it happens too?

Overall very polished! Well done, clever and challenging too!

ambi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:58am

That was a really, really tough puzzle. But finally did it!

scorched says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Excellent graphics! Though I think that moving stones are confusing, and the game should be more fast-paced.
Also nice menu implementation! ;)

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Games great, love the visuals and sounds, watched you stream some of it too!

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I loved the menu and that idea of growing a plant to move forward in the level, it makes a quite old and not-so-fresh genre interesting to play.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:33pm

the jump and run mechanics are a bit hard but it's manageable, the puzzle elements well thought. overall this is a really good game. well done!!

Soka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Pretty fun to play but one error and you have to repeat all over again, but its one of those games that keeps you playing so I guess its fine, really cool game <3!!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:15am

challenging, yet adoarble. i really like the graphics on this one. nice game.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:31am

Aargh, the graphics are so cute my head might implode :D

Controls nicely, idea is easily grasped, this is the stuff! I hope you continue developing this!

SkullPixel says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Art work and concept were great, as is common with your games, but the controls and physics that went with them were a little off. Otherwise, you have yourself here a potential winner! Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]