Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

FLOW

by Romixal - Compo Entry

Follow the line and find out where it get you.
Better experience with headphones.

Recommended to use windows build.

Update:
- Fixed instant transition bug;
- Fixed bug with audio in web version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Audio3.95
#64Mood3.84
#441Innovation3.21
#443Graphics3.17
#591Theme3.59
#704Overall2.98
#943Fun2.06

Comments

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

Great sound design! Very moody

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Well, this is an interesting game...Is there anything to find other than it "ending" when you follow the static?

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

The nothingness and my existential crisis grows as I play the game.

(very poor framerate on web version)

VascoF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

I played for about 10 minutes, not sure if there was an ending or objective. I tried to follow the sound, and tried to see if there was any pattern in the lines to follow, but if there was I didn't find it. Not sure what to think of this, since I'm not sure if this is all there is, or if there's more.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

Definitely run the Windows version of this, the web is almost unplayable

I wasn't sure what the point was, can this game be understood?

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51am

I love the mood, is it all just infinite static? :P

trykondev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

Really fantastic audio and mood/overall vibe

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11am

Much better framerate on the windows version vs the web one. Very atmospheric and relaxing...

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12am

I got to the end! It's real!!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29am

baah! not able to play it... no mac version and the web version does not even start!!

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:32am

Stunning game. The audio design is great, and the atmosphere is awesome. Absolutely requires audio though.

Tromino says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13am

This is a neat idea. :P Though sometimes it's hard to find the noise, like when it sounds like it's coming from the center.

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:19am

Beautiful and calming game. Fantastic use of audio and visual. Got sucked in an super relaxed.

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35am

I got to one ending, some kind of music. I don't know exactly what I'm doing, but it was a relaxing experience. Reminded me of playing Flower on the PS3 years ago.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02am

Nice mood!

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21am

Heh, interesting.. uhh experience! I tried to follow the sounds but could find nothing. Very hypnotic by the way. I played your game for a lot longer tahn I have others, and it's mainly because I was trying to figure out what is going on!

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46am

Sound design is, as others have set, pretty fantastic. The whole game has a fantastic atmosphere.

The frame rate on the web version was punishing though.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56am

Good audio, mood and graphical style. Also the controls are great. But I do not get the point of gameplay. It's kind of meditating but not challenging.

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40am

WHERE IS THE ENDING GODDAMNIT

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:06pm

this is more a concept game than a gameplay one which I like more, but still a nice realization

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Yeah, excellent Audio and Mood. And the concept is really nice. Good piece of art!

quacklemtduck says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:30pm

I'm not sure what the point of the game is

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Cool atmosphere

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Nice sound design but I don't get the game :/ a bit of a chore to play. Keep it up!

kepons says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Well, that was certainly a unique experience. Effective graphics and sounds for setting the mood.

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Even though this was a rough experience to play online, the mood still came through. Fantastic audio and visual design.

Gins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Not sure if I understand what exactly I have to do :o

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

What is going on? What is the objective of the game?
What am I doing here? Why do I have to follow the lines and where will it lead me?

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10pm

the sound design is great! but idk if has a ending or i'm just really bad at this game :b anyway good job!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Beautifully hypnotising!

tedling says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Very interesting "game". Very moody. It certainly is something different!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Interesting idea. Is anything supposed to happen if you find all the puzzle pieces?

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Not sure what the ending is, managed to get one piece, but that is also part of the charm. The experience feels really good and powerfull.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31pm

I'm not sure if the concept of the game is to make you question your own choices? Mixed feelings about this one.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I don't know if there is an end or not but if there is I couln't find it!

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

I like the visuals and the audio. After a while I found out that the noise in the background is changing. Though I could not find out how to decide which way to go to make it more or less. That was a bit frustrating as it seemed that my decisions have no influence.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Got one puzzle piece. Interesting game with nice atmosphere, but not very captivating.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Love audio games. Good sound design and mood establishment.

mendi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:52pm

cool

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Very relaxing, nice use of simple graphics and theme. I wasn't able to find the end, but appreciated the game nonetheless. Great work!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41pm

interesting experience, love the moody atmosphere, very zen, well done

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I think this would be a nice game if the objective was a bit clearer. As is, I'm not quite sure what I should be doing. Following the sound is an interesting mechanic that I've never seen (heard of?) before.

The atmosphere that you created is really impressive.

eskivor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11pm

is there a end ?

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

I never found an end :( ye webplayer was buggy and glitchy but better on windows :) great entry to the jam

Well Done!

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

The mood and audio in this was great, but I don't really know what I was supposed to do.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Top marks from me for Mood, Audio and Theme. Played this until I got a puzzle piece. Loved tracking the sound and trying to imagine what was going on. Superb atmosphere. amazing stuff. Really liked this.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Pressing keys gets a little tiring, but I love the mood

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

A bit too subtle.

windwarrior says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:17pm

As others say, interesting idea, bit stanley's parable, I could as most here not really find the objective.. but it certainly spiked my interest :D!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Well done! Impressive Graphics!

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Seemed like an interesting concept but unfortunately the web version has very low frame rate.

AlexLamarche says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02am

Cool game. Felt nice

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

Interesting idea, but maybe you need more visual progress. Or maybe some text story-telling

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59am

great way to direct players through the space. did not expect that. 5/5 for audio and its design

OkaDoka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

Interesting, kind of an art piece I suppose.

cryptlexity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

Very nice sound, not sure if there was an ending or I was moving in circles. =P

Aerohand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

well, kind of boring after several choices...

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55am

Such a mysterious game. There isn't much to do, but the mood with the audio: Incredible!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Awesome sounds and cool visuals, not overly ambitious but still a very cool entry. Beautiful simplicity.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

WHAAAT ONLY ONE PUZZLE PIECE>!!!! I guess I gotta keep going.

Lapiroxx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22am

Very interesting, could have maybe needed another twist.

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

This was minimalistic, and beautiful. It was a bit dull, and I never found the ending, but it was a cool experience, and had a little ASMR for me.

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Overall great mood and sound! GJ

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Welp. I found all the pieces. Good game! It took me a long time to "piece" it together!

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09am

cool idea,,, needs some more gameplay elements

tvheeswijck says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13am

Nice little audio/visual experience. I assume it's infinite, no point rating on "fun" but I felt the theme was a little bare beyond the audio.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

Got one piece of the puzzle, will definitely go back to get the rest! Very interesting game, very moody and audio is top notch! I really enjoyed it but I can understand why some people might find it boring. While there is interaction its more of an experience than a game, which is not a bad thing. Its a very cool experience and I look forward to delving further into it! :)

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Very relaxing

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:04am

I came close to something! ... I think.

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19am

Great atmosphere build, very relaxing, but not very fun, especially after exploring the world for 20 minutes and finally got an end but it turned out to be only one of four pieces of a puzzle...

plauk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

Amazing audio. I very much recommend downloading and playing in fullscreen with headphones.

I wish I had more time to see if I can get more puzzle pieces, but I must move on to other games. Still, I'll come back to this one later.

The presentation in this game is super nice.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58am

The graphics are amasing but for labyrynth it's very hard.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07am

This is so entirely, body-consumingly, deliciously, and excitingly relaxing! I am impressed! I didn't want to stop! Great job!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12am

Excellent audio and atmosphere, but it was too difficult to follow the sounds, and as such I ended up simply wandering aimlessly, only running in to one of the puzzle pieces by accident before I got tired of looking.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

Great game but boring after several choices... BUT, the fact that we still have no end is great: why? Because it brings the player to always says: "C'mon, there is a end, isn't it?"
And that's very nice!

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23am

quite repetitive and can't feel any progress feedback

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

There are definitely the building blocks of a neat experience here, with nice sound design and a cool aesthetic, it just feels a bit barren in its current state, though I suppose that was kinda deliberate.

TheAwesomeHNH says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

Nice atmosphere and sound design, got bored of it quickly though.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

I really enjoyed the PC download of this. I was not to sure off the objective but I found the experience soothing none the less. The static was a nice visual touch that accompanied the sound design really well

For anyone else playing the web port does not do the game justice, download the pc version it's worth it. I think we all deserve some time to just relax :)

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18pm

5 stars for mood and audio, but fun.. this game is pointless for me ;P Anyway good job!

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I really have no clue what to do. Maybe because of my speakers...

CremaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Played for a while, did not quite understand it. Good sound design, though. Maybe making it 'grow' faster or make your intentions a little more clear? Played on Windows, not the web version, so it run smoothly.

daleth90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Really great graphic!
Really great audio!
Really great mood!
Not good playing experience since I don't know what I'm doing even that I know I have to chase the sound :(

johanw123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:10pm

I tried to follow the music and listen for sounds and i did get some static after a while that got more intense. Then i lost the static and got bored. Dont really understand the objective in the game im afraid. Nice wooooshing sound effect tho.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Feels like an "escape from snow and ice" game and with good sound design. I started feeling cold just playing it. I'm going to go put my coat on now.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Nice overall atmosphere. Great work!

jeff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:40pm

nice graphics and sounds,
no gameplay :/

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Great idea and execution, but I'm almost deaf on the left so I got stuck :D

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Very moody

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I like the mood this game is setting

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Nice conceptual game, but it really needs to make it clear if it's just that or more. Sometimes it feels like you're progressing towards something, other times not so much or like you're regressing. If it's a metaphor for life, well done, otherwise, I'm a bit lost.
Excellent relaxing mood though, really makes me all zen and whatnot.

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Cool small game with great mood to it. Wish it'd run smooth-er on my pc tho :\

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Nice game!

The web version is VERY laggy, but the windows one works just fine

zlaine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Not sure if there was anything beyond the obvious, but it was soothing nonetheless.

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21pm

I'am confused... :D And i want to reach the end!

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Uses multiple buttons(menu) and I don't see a tie in with the theme "growing". Not following the theme is fine and stated in the rules but I am unable to award you any theme points in my rating.

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48pm

This is a nice experience !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Played the windows version after trying the web version (anyone reading this, do NOT play the web version, it is unplayable). Good game, very good atmosphere. Sadly I do not have any headphones on me so I a never got to the end, if there is even a end.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

So happy to see solid projects like this that are built using GameMaker (my engine of choice as well). Congrats on the fun, minimalistic game!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Very polished and atmospheric game. I am still oblivious as to what are we expected to do. I just went left or right randomly, then at the end I got a piece of the puzzle and I started again. I an not really sure what to make of it, but the mood is incredible.

maerzhase3000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

nice idea. very nice atmosphere. but after a while i get tired :)

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Liked it, made me relax after a tense day. Such a mood change

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Game (especially graphics) done very well but unfortunately not entirely clear target of the game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Great simple minimalistic art style :) looks stunning plays well

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Took me awhile to realise what I was supposed to be doing. It's a really well put together game and the mood is intense.

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Interesting concept, playing a game just by its sounds. A bit boring if you ask me, but good job anyway :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Looks great, sounds great, but as an outsider I don't really know what I'm supposed to be doing.

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Playing this on the Web Version. from the comments it appears there is supposed to be background sound while sitting at a branch? I can't hear anything except when I move, so I can't really make a choice, and am just wandering randomly.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Cool, experimental concept! I got one puzzle piece, but eventually gave up b/c I didn't seem to be making any progress.

I love the sound design, mood and atmosphere!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

this is a very artistic experience, i like games like that. i really felt immersed in the sound and visuals.

and there are endings. i found one.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Im very confused, is there a goal, or is it endless?

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Like art!

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Really nice!!

JanGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Great mood and audio, didn't get to the end but i like the experience.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I don't understand the purpose of this game. You follow a line and every single outcome seems to lead you to the exact same fork in the road. The mood is alright, but it doesn't do anything for the game since there is no game. Graphics and sound are nice, but there's not much else.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Sound designs great, it just lack things that happen in the game.

Suaave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Consistent, minimalistic art style. Well-chosen sounds. This game has a dense, moody but still somehow contemplative quality.
I think contemplative is a good word to describe FLOW as flow can be a result of contemplation over a work of art?
I love the idea that you cannot turn back in this game, but sometimes you have to go in circles to return to your origin.

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Very interesting. The mood is strong with this one. Although I didn't quite know what I'm I supposed to do at first.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Really good audio and mood, as other have mentioned. I played the web version and didn't understand what to do for a good couple of minutes... Gotta admit reading the comments here "got me in the right path" heh

punkto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Very interesting, but I feel a little lost in the game. Maybe I need headphones to follow the music.

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

On the web version the frame rate is neigh undoable. The standalone works good. Interesting take, great setting of mood.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

It made more sense when I put headphones on.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Liked the mood @.@

Mekuri says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

This was.. a different experience. I tried distinguishing and following some of the sounds, but I seems to miss them every time I got close. Nice mood.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Not really a game... But moody

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Super atmospheric, I LOVE what you do with sound. All the different layers are interesting, and the use of stereo to guide the player is neat. I found myself just playing with my eyes closed, so soothing. Great job!

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28pm

I don't get it.

Also, web version seemingly won't save my puzzle pieces so I wasted a few attempts for nothing. :(

blackmagic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Very very interesting. Could get a nice expansion. Congrats!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Pleasant atmosphere, but i don't get the point of the game. I've tried to find pattern in the crossroads or sounds, but all in vain (

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Masterpiece of minimalism. So conceptual and meditative. Bravo.
Also solved - https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0LkFgNCfm1hNGFwY0FrQnlRV1E/view?pli=1
=)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I liked the graphics and music/sounds but somehow i didnt find anything at all.

:)

wehard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Nice atmosphere!

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Very interesting, you certainly accomplished the atmosphere/mood. I got to the "end" once which took me a while, I may go back through and see if anything changes. Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I'm not sure what I played, but it was very relaxing and I stayed on long enough to get the first puzzle piece, that's definitely something.

ploy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

There is no mindblowing ending :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

The graphic design is fantastic, however, it failed to keep my attention.

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Liked the audio and mood.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Couldn't grasp the objective - maybe add some visual hints of some sorts to guide the player.

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Very interesting zen experience! Loved the sound design.

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Great sound.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06am

Very interesting. Not so much fun, but super moody and innovative. Great job.

saucygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:15am

Really makes you think, if you were to go left or right. Which way would you go? After going left so many times, I began to question my own existence. Waiting to see the beach. Pretty great xp, got one piece of the puzzle.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40am

Interesting approach. Framerate could be improved on web version. good work

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50am

Very artistic!

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

Its good but i dont find the objective. Nice concept of game

Mikhail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:43am

I like the audio and it is immersive but there isn't much gameplay. Games like this are great when you bring awareness to something or give them a beautiful experience. There is a game called Flower that is like you game but the reason it's a nice game is because of its beautiful scenery. Put some beautiful scenery in this game and you may be on to something!

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:48am

I love atmospheric games like this. Great use of audio! I would say that headphones are not just recommended, but required.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:03am

I Like the sound desigd. Really.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:06am

This game is like a piece of abstract art.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36am

Windows 10 marks the Windows .exe as malware.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:08am

Wow this is amazing! 5/5 on audio and mood. It was so relaxing i almost fell asleep except that it was intense at the same time. I got 3 of the 4 puzzle pieces but after 6 more attempts i couldnt find the last sound. It was confusing at first, but i like it that way because it all started to make sense. over really great.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:46am

Interesting, but it was really difficult to find out where to go :0 I was so confused! I really liked the atmosphere of the game, it would be nice if there were a little bit more direction though. Great game!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48am

Not too sure what to say

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:51am

Not too sure what to say about this game other than the sound is great. Impressive entry, and btw how the heck do you have 210 coolness a day after the jam ended? Lots of games you've rater, I respect that dedication :p

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:38am

More an experience than a game (in the traditional sense). Great mood and audio though.

koocachookies says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54am

Never ends!

terry90 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41am

Ok, after trying the web build (which was completely borked), I downloaded the Windows version and it was much better! I think it needed to be a little more obvious which was to go, although I could hear what was supposed to be happening I think. After the first puzzle piece I wasn't sure if anything changed and gave up after a while. Good mood though!

kaype says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47am

We've had a very relaxing pool of entries this LD, and yours is no exception! I got one puzzle piece, and this game is actually really calming

Baransu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55am

I really like the idea. Minimalist audio and visuals are very moody. Great experience overall.

For me iframe version works fine.

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02am

This was an aural delight! Managed to find 3/4 puzzle pieces. Excellent job!

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:36am

Headphones definitely help. This was so atmospheric and relaxing after the initial spookiness work off a bit. The web version does seem to be pretty unbearably framey, but I had no troubles with the windows build. It's always good to see a really well done game in GameMaker. Good job!

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16am

The first time I've thought "this game is better if you shut your eyes" and not meant it in a negative way. The sound design is superb, and the visuals (before I closed my eyes) are simple and fantastic; I especially liked the small touch that the lines seemed to get more uh, static-y the more interference there was on the screen. I found all four sounds, but there was no reward? Slightly disappointed in that, but the experience itself was so rewarding that I don't care as much as I could about that. Well done, if this doesn't win there is no justice. (seriously, a game you can play and enjoy with your eyes closed!)

Silvio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11pm

interesting

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:28pm

The game is very strange and original, the gameplay is simple, maybe too, but the mood and the atmosphere that has created is well done, good job!

abuzreq says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:32pm

it's so calming and simple(in a good way).
I felt so close to the shore but never reached any.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52pm

I'd like the idea, but I couldn't figure out how to get the last puzzle

Rogod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26pm

I'm not really sure this constitutes a game as opposed to a show-offy arts project. - It was a 48hr "game" programming event.
This game has managed to bore me. Not excite me; bore me. This isn't what games were invented for. Games are for fun, so you can relieve yourself of boredom, not to induce it.
Also how in something so simple have you managed to make the line bug out when transitioning sometimes? It'll just oddly change shape the second you press a key and pretend that was the line you were looking at all along.
If this wins, I will be sorely disappointed in the voting and will go back to playing pong, half life and chess - some real games, with actual content and a purpose.

Rogod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27pm

If this wins, I will be sorely disappointed in the voting and will go back to playing pong, half life and chess - some real games, with actual content and a purpose.
Games were invented to alleviate boredom, not induce it.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Great mood! Took a while to realize the sound was indicating anything at all, probably because I kept going right at the first 15 intersections and never heard anything change. Wasn't able to find anything other than more intersections though.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Not sure if there is some secret thing after you get all 4 pieces but wow. This was a trip. I've never gotten such a feeling from a game-- "I'm so close..." but I'm so lost. All while feeling pretty tranquil.

I think the trick here if you want to find the peices is to play with your eyes closed. I was examining everything I could at first-- trying to find a pattern in the waves along the lines with my eyes and the game became easier when I stopped and just used one sense. Great great job.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Very good abstraction, I think each man will find something special in this idea.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Nice moody game. Since its not a fun-based game i would have expected some minimal story though to understand said mood.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57pm

The performance wasn't great but I absolutely loved the idea and execution. Loved the atmosphere.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:34pm

I haven't found much sense in this, sorry. Got bored after 10 minutes and randomly finding one puzzle piece.

kebabskal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Great aesthetics. Sounds and looks very polished. Don't really know what to do. Should have played fullscreen and just zoned out I guess. Sweet, good job!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Nice mood and audio to go with this game

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I simply didn't get it. The mood and audio were great, but after a few minutes I just simply didn't know what I was supposed to do.

Akhera says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:24pm

If you want players to follow a sound, you need to make the stereo effect way less subtle. Pretty much the only way I could follow anything was by taking off headphones from one ear and then the other to be reliably able to tell where the sound is coming from.

Chewie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Maybe I'm missing something but it feels for me more like an art project than a game. Nothing is happening, crossroads are all the same, it's just visual flow without any consequences. Looks good but lacks gameplay.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Mood - great
Design - welldone
theme - of course it is.\
Special thanks for web version!!! It is true pleasure!!!
One more stars on every category,.. such a sorry I can't place six of them!(

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Is there an end to this game? I got the four puzzle peices. The game is a bit boring, the only reason i kept playing is to see if there was an end.

micky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:14pm

great game :) simple but elegant, loved it, good work :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:30am

Moody and relaxing. Just like life, just like neo and the matrix

Reccy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:14am

Cool music, but the game itself feels to abstact and artsy for me. Sorry, it's just not my thing. :P

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:37am

"I shall be telling this with a sigh... I took the one less traveled by..."
So much comes to mind as I wander through the whiteness. I begin to wonder if it was three teardrops joined in the center, and I had been returning to the same point over and over.
The static seemed like a snowstorm filled sky. Whitenoise felt like eardrums frozen in the wind.

This is without doubt my favorite entry so far.
When it ended I got a lower left jigsaw. Not sure what it meant? Perhaps there is a way to complete it?

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:42am

Very nice audio and mood, I just didn't really understand what the objective was. Very relaxing to play :)

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:49am

Sad that the web version isn't working for me, I was looking forward to some nice ambient gaming here.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:54am

Nice mood.

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:36am

Very moody indeed. Wasn't sure where it was all going and yet very peaceful the whole time.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:11am

I'm not sure I quite understood the game and didn't seem to get anywhere after about 15 minutes of play. However, the style and mood the game was really good. Very ambient and moody with the static sound and slow introduction of music. The graphics style felt appropriate for the game.

Patomkin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I keep hearing sounds and coming at them only to lose them after a while. Don't really know how to do anything to progress :/
Nice mood and audio, though!

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Really cool game , nice having sound as a massive part of a game for once

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Yay, I made it to the end! Cool to work with audio like that! Good job!

pontooncity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Excellent. Would like to play till I get all the pieces but feel like that would take ages.

hiki911 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:52pm

very confusing experience

sichevoid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Is the web version working? I see the screen with Start button and some setups - but nothing happens no matter what I do.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:40pm

You've managed a very nice, relaxing mood :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Wasn't 100% sure what to do, but I really like the presentation

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:26am

Yes, you managed to put me in the state of flow. Though I couldn't beat the game - played for about 10 minutes trying to follow the noise but nothing happened.

dodormeur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:50am

More a strange concept than a game, but nice audio and graphics :)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:12am

Sorry. I didnt get it. =/

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:07pm

web sound seems to be broken , good job btw

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Interesting experience. Does it have an end or just goes on infinitely? I kept hunting the static but eventually I have to sadly admit that I got bored after about 5 mins of trying to find it.

Really pretty piece of work though

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:21pm

imagination is a powerful tool. with a branching black line disappearing into the fog with subtle audio cues you made me imagine amazing story set in the silent hill universe. its my story and i like it a lot. so i rate you high. and good job.

rijnswand says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Beautiful game! the web version seemed a tad slow and clunky at times, but the experience is very pleasant.

jofra says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Love the abstract feel to the game! But i felt it could had a lot more depth into it and be a little more developed.
great job!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Even if I couldn't find the ending, I liked the music and how relaxing it was to go to one direction and another. Cool experiment!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Cool mood, but... I seem to be going nowhere fast.

aare says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:20am

Amazing idea, and sound design :)

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:18am

Like the way you made the road!

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:55am

I played the web version and while the frame rate was OK, I had no idea what was going on until I used headphones. I managed to get one puzzle piece but after that I couldn't seem to follow the sound to its source again - just when I'd get close it'd fade away again.

It's an interesting idea, but some more direction or feedback from the game would have been nice...

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:53am

Really great look to this, and very effective use of mood and audio. Not really sure what the point is, but it is interesting nonetheless.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:16pm

not really anything to rely on. i have bad hearing

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:12pm

A very moody game, maybe it was too hard for me - I wasn't able to work out what to do, I found two sounds - tried to reach them, went round in circles a few times - not sure if there is an objective I missed.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:42pm

As others said the sound design is the best! Wish there was more clear objective other than running in circles listening to the same sound sets over again and hoping that you'll arrive eventually ;-)

Pusty says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Sounds nice , but kinda confusing
Nice mood tho

Taldius says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Nice experience, I couldn't find the last piece of the puzzle but it felt good to play and pretty fresh.
Good job.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Unique.

A333 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:42pm

As far as I understand, you have to follow sound. Line order seems not important.
Managed to find three pieces, three distinct sounds: one is white noise, like waterfall, second is sharper noice, like the torch flame, third is the melody. But i've not been able to find the fourth piece. I've tried to evade all sounds for a while, but for no avail.
Overall it's a nice relaxing experience, not many people will agree that this is a game, but for me it clearly is.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Interesting, I need to play more see what other endings there are.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:40am

Wine why you no work... I want to play some games...

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

Astonishing music and graphics! There are more which I am not able to describe but great work!

felilix says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:31am

Reminded me of Myst. One of the best I've played this Jam!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:49am

cool mood and audio .. but i don't get the concept of this game

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I played the web version. When I heard the music begin, I felt intrigued. If you continue to develop this, at the menu when I pressed X and the game exited I felt confused. After trial and error I pressed Enter to start. When I got to a branch and pressed left or right then Enter, and repeated this a couple dozen times without noticing anything different, I felt unaware of how to progress out of the repetitious branches.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Nice concept.

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:37pm

graphics are good, but on the web version it lagged a lot, a lot, animation and especially sound

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I love concepts like this. A very calm and soothing experience. Collected all 4 puzzle pieces.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Pretty lacking in my personal opinion. there wasn't really a goal. i just kept moving into boring nothingness.

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:53am

Interesting game, sadly before looking at the comments I was going left & right without understanding the purpose at all. Very good audio, just try to find a way to give more visual directions to the player.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:26am

Great moody game.

thynnmas says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Excellent mood, but branches where the sound felt like it came from the center (played with headphones in stereo setup) got me stuck and were a bit frustrating.

GetDoSed says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:35pm

The web version is almost unplayable, but it does look great! xD

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Interesting game.., very atmospheric with great graphics and audio.

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:33am

knowing it was sound based (headphones) made it simple enough to figure out how to get all puzzle pieces, very interesting and well executed

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:37am

Web seems broken. Windows version runs fine. Great mood!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:02am

Very interesting and minimalistic design. Was a bit hard to hear in which direction the sound was coming from sometimes. I like that there are different endings to explore, and the grainy effect.

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:22am

You've got to use headphones to properly play this game! It's pretty relaxing!

Nice use of theme and game mechanics too!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Good idea! I loved the sound and the ideia of never eds

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Nice audio and aesthetic. Couldn't find an end myself. A little slow for my tastes but pretty for a black and white experience.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:21am

Great atmosphere!

What a pity I didn't found what to do :(

I'm really curious to see the end of this game!

Congratulations!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:43am

Didn't understand the point, but design is good. :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:21pm

oh noooO! I went right a little then left heaps and never met back up too the line... this is deep lol :) but I couldn't see the game, and from the comments it sounds as if you need to make the objective clear rather than hidden. but idk I just made it too the static.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:59am

Excellent use of Sketch Block Bold; the gameplay was a little dull.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:03pm

I am not sure that there is a real ending to this game, but the idea is very cool and your work on the mood is insane. Both visual effects and sounds serve the mood and it's just perfect. Try to bring the end earlier next time to avoid player's frustration.
Good job!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:07pm

I have no idea if there was any goal, but the journey was spectacular. I bear no regrets of playing this game

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Neat!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Web version doesnt work and my pc wont let me play the windows version because it believes strongly that it is a virus (like it really wont even give me the option to over ride it.)

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Interesting. Didn't really get what I was supposed to do after eventually finding the "end".

Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:42am

Like the aesthetic and mood of it, but there isn't much in the way of gameplay.

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Well, I played for a very long time. I got all 4 puzzle pieces but then couldn't figure out what to do after that. Maybe nothing is supposed to happen. There were no new sounds after I got them. Fantastic game otherwise, just wish there was a little reward upon completing the puzzle.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Web version was pretty laggy (Also the Windows version had some sort of trojan according to my antivirus so I couldn't play that at all) but this was a pretty interesting entry and I liked how the art and sound blended together.

bessdlan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:56am

nice mood and concept (but unplayable on web version :x)

Markus Brand says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:43pm

what am i doing with my life? i am following endless black lines to nowhere... without knowing, wich direction to take. Does it even make a difference? 2 times i have already reached the "end", where the line just disappeares, and i gain one piece of puzzle (2 times the same one?!?)

What is the purpose of this, goddamnit? What am i supposed to do? What is this game? Please, make some kind of tutorial, telling what to do. Or provide at least a walkthrough - video :D

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:02pm

I got 1/4 pieces. Enjoyed it very much, but maybe clue people in a bit.

Jan 11, 2016 @ 12:15am

Very calming music! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EnuG74cyOfk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]