Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cupcake Snake

by samreid - Jam Entry

Cupcake snake is hungry for only one thing: thousands of cupcakes!

You can eat cupcakes to grow longer, but watch out for obstacles that can trim you down. If you are over both buttons at the same time, you'll be able to make it through the exit to the next level (more cupcakes!). Overcome insurmountable odds in this sweet and epic journey.

Attributions:

Cupcake Snake incorporates public domain images and audio as annotated here:
https://github.com/samreid/cupcake-snake/blob/master/audio/license.json
https://github.com/samreid/cupcake-snake/blob/master/images/license.json

The software is built on the PhET Interactive Simulations open source libraries:
http://phet.colorado.edu/
http://phet.colorado.edu/en/about/source-code

As well as the following open source libraries:
https://github.com/phetsims/sherpa/tree/master/lib

Cupcake Snakes, why did it have to be cupcake snakes!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#36Fun(Jam)4.04
#60Theme(Jam)4.28
#81Overall(Jam)3.92
#105Innovation(Jam)3.80
#223Humor(Jam)3.27
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#533Audio(Jam)2.96
#577Mood(Jam)3.14

Comments

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28am

The wider the screen the more dificult it is! Bring back my old monitor so i don't havo to go over 4k pixels!! xD

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Awesome progression. Very cool idea. Browser game. yay!

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

Good level design!

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

cute graphics and cool gameplay. nice little browser game!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31am

Great game! I used to play Nibbles a ton as a kid and this definitely brought me back.

Made it to world 2... then it got too fast for me :P

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16pm

That's very innovative approach to snake, and sound of eating cupcakes is very funny.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:09pm

First time I see a snake game with leveldesign and it's pretty good. The only two negatives points are imho :
- having to clic left mouse button to restart ( left+right would be better )
- the lvl #3 is a huge difficulty spike. I had the feeling I succeded with chance only.
Apart of that this is a very innovative game and I really like the on/off sounds of pink and blue circle.

Switchiers says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:10pm

An innovative Snake, very good realisation!!
Good job, but level 3 is too difficlut

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Some of the levels were pretty impossible to pass unless you're at a certain length and the game itself unfortunately had a fair number of lag spikes (Was playing in Firefox) but I really liked the Snake-like mechanics.

chabuduo says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:00am

I found this to be amazingly well made!
the speed up , world 2 idea is really smart and works really well.
Very enjoyable

Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Came expecting a basic snake clone. Was pleasantly surprised at every turn; very well done. Third level's a *bit* unforgiving, but with a bit more polish, I'd play this for hours.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:29am

great version of the snake with clever leveldesign! very well done!

danbolt says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:01am

Nice! I liked the fact that the game runs on mobile! Or, even though Ludum Dare is typically a PC fare, it's cool to have that accessibility.

The applause was good feedback for finishing the level, but it felt a bit loud compared to some of the other sound effects. If you were to continue, I'd consider tuning the volume of the game's sounds. It can be a bit of a tough nut to crack though!

You also get a GitHub star. ;P

NuSan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:29am

Realy good game. I like making using the snake growing body to trigger door, thats clever. I also love seamless transitions between levels. I also like the neat graphics. In one of the latter levels, I had framerate issues, reloaded the page and restarted everything, completed that level, and the issue came back in the next level after a death (the spiral level) making it unplayable. Keep up the good work !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]