Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Boom Boom Balloon!

by DavidErosa - Compo Entry

This is my 12th LD entry in a row and I enjoy it more with every new one.
As everyone else, having two winning themes was totally mind-blowing, but I was lucky enough to find a game mechanic that fits both of them.

I hope you enjoy the game and the little surprise inside :)

== The Game ==
Help those two pals inflating balloons. But beware, you must inflate them to the right level or they'll blow!

== Controls ==
Left & Right arrow keys on desktop
The two on-screen buttons on mobile

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Theme4.53
#184Fun3.60
#208Graphics3.67
#214Overall3.60
#402Innovation3.27
#2163Coolness22%

Comments

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:30am

It is very well polished but I think that it was a little bit too difficult. A lot of the pops just felt like they were almost impossible to get. Enjoyed it though!

makiki99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

Graphics are good, they give that nice retro feeling. Sound effects may be a bit annoying for some people, but I am okay with it. You did both themes well. Difficulty is increasing a bit too fast, and this is slighty lowering the fun out of this game. About humor... I don't want to know why you got an idea to do this 'surprise'. And about mood, I like this retro feeling of this game. Would be even better if you used Gameboy classic color palette. Overall, this is a pretty good game which lacked just a bit to be perfect.

koocachookies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Cool retro style and interesting mechanics. I think that maybe the difficulty is too high but it is great anyway. Congrats!

zzapp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Nice game and creative use of both themes. Some of the marks can be pretty hard to hit, although a little bit of a challenge is never a bad thing.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

I didn't understand the goal at first (did not read before playing), The gray area of the bar doesn't look like "good", I think I would have swapped the gray and white zones.

But once I understood it, the game was really fun to play.

Good job!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:40am

Decently challenging, I didn't mind the difficulty.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Fun entry. The sound effects are sufficent, the aesthetic is awesome and the graphics are incredible. The whole thing feels very cohesive and carefully planned. Solid game, congrats! (Played on a Galaxy S5)

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:44pm

When I pressed a key and released in the gray zone I felt rewarded. If you continue to develop this, for the first session, I thought I was supposed to fill up the meter altogether and pop the balloons, and felt disappointed when I scored 0. After I read the rules, sometimes the gray zone was narrow, which interested me, but I felt discouraged when the previous meters were much wider so I didn't feel I had been trained to try such a narrow band just yet.

CPau says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:32am

Very nice game and fun, well done!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Very charming little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

Warboys says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Heh this is a fun little game, really liked the mood and sounds to go with the very precise gameplay. It feels really good and the difficulty ramps up nicely. Good work :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]