Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

\\God Machines

by yhsper - Jam Entry

\\You have destroyed your own planet.
\\You want to create it elsewhere.
\\You send your machines to do your deed.

The God Machine is controlled with the left and right arrows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Overall(Jam)4.05
#64Fun(Jam)3.90
#107Mood(Jam)3.86
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#241Graphics(Jam)3.95
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

DeltaNegative says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20pm

It's got a super-simple idea, but looks and plays awesome!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Very cool game. I really like the upgrades. It occasionally feels unfair (meteor spawns too far) but otherwise feels and plays excellent.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Cool idea, I wish I could keep the upgrades for whole game!

Spyboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Great game!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

The gameplay is fun and the controls feel very tight! There's a bit of a difficulty spike, but otherwise a very fun game! :D

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

nice game- after getting upgrade with advanced control- i realized - i even can control this GM )
it reminded me hexagon and some other 2-buttons mobiles.
May be some controls could be made more adaptive (like auto-targeting when PC help you to be more accurate), and at the same time add more enemies to keep gamemplay hard
Now it's like juggling or riding unicycle - very hard )
I think it has got some potential)

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Very cool game. It's hard though, and mainly because it's a bit bulky to play with arrows on a keyboard. Gamepad would be better. The graphic-style is excellent. Well done.

I vote for multiplayer co-op ;)

architect404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:41pm

wow I really like this, great glitchy music and sfx, simple but fun controls and even an innovative menu, great work! my only complaint is that sometimes it's simply impossible to reach areas in time, maybe a mechanic where pressing both buttons together would flip you to the opposite side would be good?

crucknuk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Wow ! such a simple idea but well-rounded. A very good and addictive game. A multiplayer co-op mode might be a lot of fun :)

Nice upgrades though i felt like some of them make the game more difficult (e.g. greater spawning rate with mines upgrade...). Maybe just a feeling or bad luck ^^

Great entry !

guoboism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:06am

Innovative! Feels a bit of impossible.. Never made it to see the upgrade..

holgk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nice game.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Very nice game (and hard too!)
Biggest terraforming I got was around 33% wonder if the planet changes shape when the terraforming grows?

r8berto says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Amazing, my favourite game this Ludum Dare.

kaa says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Supergame! Just take my fives

yhsper says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:13am

Hey, friends! I'm just stopping by to tell you all I'm reading all your comments! There are some GREAT ideas in almost all of them, so keep'em coming! :) You are the best!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Good concept and amazing execution. The minimalist graphics fit the game very well. The difficulty might need some toning down. Making the upgrades permanent could be interesting too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]