Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow

by Melusine - Jam Entry

Grow is a platformer about being a water drop which waters trees and makes them grow. Grow them out wisely so you can avoid the clouds and watch out to not fall on the ground.

Controls are arrows or WASD.

Follow us on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/melusinestudio/

Game by
Melusine Studio

Art & Music
Matei Osenk

Programming
Aldin Zorlak

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#383Innovation(Jam)3.32
#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#533Audio(Jam)2.96
#715Humor(Jam)2.27
#743Overall(Jam)3.07
#764Graphics(Jam)2.96
#783Mood(Jam)2.82
#799Fun(Jam)2.79

Comments

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Cute entry. Graphics were nice. Good job!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41pm

cool concept, but it's easy to get killed. a health-bar would be nice. well done

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Nice risk-reward gameplay. The music died at some point for no reason whatsoever. The collisions with the clouds were a bit unfair sometimes, but it was fun overall.

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Great game! The only thing that I noticed was the lack of sound effects, a little something that is played when you lose.

buddhaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Fun game and a great idea! The jump height could be higher, sometimes it's impossible to dodge the clouds.

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

I really enjoyed the music, and the idea behind the game feels fresh and unique. However, the game itself feels a bit harsh. I would love to have some sort of warning in advance for where coulds are coming from as sometimes when in the left or the right column, a cloud comes straight at me and I don't have time to move before I lose.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:17pm

That was a bit hard to deal with collisions and overall but cool and simple idea...Maybe a faster input response and a higher jump would make it a bit more fair!Cute clouds btw

wehard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I like it! Good music!

Reinoso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Very well thought out! like really, simple to play and easy to understand!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I actually really enjoyed this game, it was a bit hard at first but when I got used to it - it was quite enjoyable. Well done!

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Enjoyable is the word. I had fun with this one. Nice usage of both themes

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Nice game, the concept is interesting. It is counter intuitive that the game is controlled completely by keyboard and to restart you need to use the mouse. The music is lovely!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Pretty simple, and after 2 tries, all interest in it is lost.

drludos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:18am

A simple yet addicting gameplay idea, good job! The graphics are nice and I love the music too. To polish the game, you should maybe try to reduce the "slippery" of the hero on the floor, and, please add the possibility to restart the game by hitting a key instead of clicking twice: as we get to restart the game pretty quickly, I want to be able to restart it without leaving the keyboard to reach the mouse :)

Big Cow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:11pm

The concept is really clever. Just a few negatives. The control over the character is really frustrating. The music was good but creates a really negative atmosphere that didnt go with the very nice cartoony graphics so the mood was a bit confusing. Overall though nice take on the theme. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]