Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Egggs

by simon.parzer - Jam Entry

You are a chicken, and your life goal is to hatch an egg.
Keep at it and dream big, you fabulous bird!
I wonder what's inside the egg though?

Instructions:
1. LAY - Stop the bar at when it's full! (Space)
2. BREED - Keep the egg at its optimal temperature! (Hold Space)
3. HATCH - Crack when the circles overlap! (Space)
4. press F

CREDITS
Peter Sperl - Graphics, Music, Sound effects
Thomas Unger - Background graphics
Georg Sperl - Programming, Graphics
Simon Parzer - Programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#17Humor(Jam)4.27
#56Fun(Jam)3.93
#95Overall(Jam)3.87
#113Audio(Jam)3.82
#134Mood(Jam)3.79
#253Graphics(Jam)3.93
#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#319Theme(Jam)3.89

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50am

Great little game, too bad some of the assets are not in the same style (differences in shading and outlines), Overrall great (mobile ?) game I could play longer with !

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

Well this is just adorably ridiculous, my favorite type of game! The sound effects add a lot, and I liked the zany animations and characters. Well done!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

Fun game, but it got a bit repetitive. Not much else to say, good job!

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

That was great! I don't know why, but I kept playing over and over! I loved seeing all of the different things hatch out of the egg! My favorite was probably the pirate chicken. Nice job!

adamyounis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03am

Really great entry! I was so curious to see what would happen when I reached the largest version of outer space. The result was awesome and melted my brain. I figure the game itself isn't so much "fun" as it is "entertaining" just sort of seeing what's going to come out of the egg next. The music changes were cool too. Great art, nice game loop. I really enjoyed it!

Ayte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03am

That's an amazing game, i now know who came first between the egg and the chicken.

Really loved the humor !

DeepBlueJeer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

The game is so nice! It's fun to see what will hatch from the eggs. The music is boring though.

Herzucco says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

The game is very polished. A pleasure to play it and discover all the characters !

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:13am

chicken chicken chicken chicken. good chicken

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:06pm

This game was cute :3

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Great little game

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:30pm

very good and addictive little game :3

Garris says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:35pm

This is a silly and hilarious game, and I liked it a lot! Not sure how a tree can lay an egg, but it happened. Nice audio and graphics, and overall, it was just fun to play. Well done!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Loved it, dumb and fun, played a full iteration just to see all the different "chickens", thanks for a fun experience! some kind of challenge or goal needs to be added though.

Raphi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Amazing game, really fun, nice work! :)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:57am

That was fun! lol
Nice mini game, a bit repetitive but I had fun with it. Congrats.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:29am

Great game, really funny and with a great idea behind. Would play it on my phone.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:49am

Too infinity XD

tompudding says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:02am

Looks great, and is adorably mental.

Headmade says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:12am

What would come out of the egg next, what is there to discover when I grow on? The curiosity kept me playing and I went full circle. Very nicely done, though I would have preferred an end.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:13am

Fun game, but I played it for a long time expecting a cool ending, but it just repeted. Also, at some point half the screen turned black.

Pixel Pub says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:03pm

nice, i had a lot of fun by playing it. i like the graphics too.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:13pm

love it. bit repetitive after a while, but I couldn't stop playing! loved all the art, and seeing how the background changed! very well put together!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:21am

Liked some of the surprises. Nice and simple mechanics. Nice job.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Funny game! I wonder is there an end? =)

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:11pm

...Was that a dickbutt?

Stending says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Really simple, but perfectly made, beautiful, polished, everything's awesome!

Sean says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:50am

Surprisingly fun! It'd be nice if the challenge level increased over time though.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:30am

:D .. well this is a funny game! great job!

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:22am

Eggcelsior!

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:44am

Strangely hypnotic!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]