Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eldritch Trance

by TheWzzard - Compo Entry

Eldritch Trance: A Lovecraftian Rhythm Game
Please play with sound!

CONTROLS:
Uses only:
Left Arrow / Left Mouse Button / F / Left Bumper / Left Trigger
Right Arrow / Right Mouse Button / J / Right Bumper / Right Trigger
Any of those will advance when the menu comes up.

For the browser version you may need to press a face button on your controller for it to be recognized. Windows version is recommended if the Browser version is dropping frames, which may happen. Chrome is the recommended browser to use.

HOW TO PLAY:
Match the symbols by holding the correct buttons. You must hold them. Learn the ever building pattern as you call forth the 11 Ancient Ones.

TOOLS USED:
Developed, designed, and coded in GameMaker: Studio
Graphics generated in SPARTAN
Recoloring and editing done in GIMP
Some editing, animation, and sprites in GameMaker: Studio
Audio in Ableton Live
Gain adjustments in Audacity
One sound effect made with SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#11Mood4.31
#21Audio4.10
#25Overall4.12
#26Theme4.40
#32Innovation4.12
#77Graphics4.12
#143Fun3.65
#423Humor2.49

Comments

Kapura says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11am

Excellent little rhythm game. Making the most out of those two buttons!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Really good use of the theme. Music was really trippy!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Real trippy, but real good! :) Wanted it to be a bit faster maybe.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Very interesting game! Good job

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

This is one of the best entries I've played so far, great job. Fantastic atmosphere. If there's one thing missing it's a little better user feedback when the correct symbol was held.

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Interesting game. The progression was a bit slow, so early on the game was really repetitive.

I did like seeing the different summons.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Cool, I don't usually go for rhythm games but the Lovecraft theme and graphics sucked me in. The creepy vibe is there, with the arcane symbols, the slowly growing monster/portal approaching in space, and the music.

Also you had me restart on the current monster in a failure rather than crushing my soul by sending me back to the start of the game, which would have been a ragequit moment.

At first I was sad that I had to focus on the symbols instead of watching the growing monster, but eventually I learned to unfocus my gaze and accept both into my mind simultaneously.

Well done!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34pm

nice game dude.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Really excellent combination of gameplay, art and sound. Very nice!

Boonearth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I liked the game it was very nice and quick at the controls kinda like really fun keep up the good work

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48pm

My favourite game so far, perfect score from me. Super cool mechanics, fun, engaging and challenging; perfect theme fitting; well crafted aesthetics; lovely sound design; atmospheric and super interesting mood. Loved it!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:49pm

It's like a Simon says game but with higher stakes (you know, the eldritch gods kinda stakes).

During the tutorial i was like "ah okay, yeah, cool, oh i see, i get it".
Then the game started and i was like "WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING?!?"

Love it, very nice idea, love the visuals, made me want to play Loom.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Awesome! the graphics and sound are incredible, love it! lovecraft rules!

AlmightyTuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Awesome, awesome game. Great music, great art, super intuitive, there's a pretty sharp difficulty spike though

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Really got me going. I know it's good when i've played long enough to be frustrated but keep going

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Graphically impressive. But too slow to not become tedious after a while.
Still loved it.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Really unique, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/HyS0oGo3sGY

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:14am

Love the aesthetic: the symbol design, monster design, the otherworldly sounds of summoning. Hell, even the health icon -- that jittery, Geiger-counter of a heart is resonant and deep in a way. The human heart is irrational and fragile but can be forceful and unflinching in the face of a monstrosity -- I'm overthinking things. But that's what I loved about this game: it left so much to the imagination while seeding it with well-chosen details and LET me overthink it. Lovely.

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:47am

The audio is amazing! It's really remarkable what you've done with just two buttons. The theme was super eerie. Always a big fan of rhythm games and great audio!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:16am

Fun game! I enjoyed figuring out the combos, though there were a couple levels where the difficulty spiked unexpectedly (namely where the speed increased). The audio definitely set a fitting mood and I found winning each stage quite rewarding.

Robber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:28am

great game, pretty sick mood. the audio is excellent, so dark..love it

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:31am

This was a really amazing experience!
Game reminds me how strong is my love with H.P. Lovecraft)
Nice art and mood is far beyond 5 stars, great work!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Such an interesting graphical style, but everything is crystal clear. The sound is good, the game is fun. My one criticism, I think, is that the difficulty jumps when it starts rising; could use a smoother curve. Haven't played post-compo yet, though.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:28pm

This was super fun, and I enjoyed it thoroughly. Maybe in the future more story stuff with each summon and a bit more gradual on the acceleration of pace, so that it's not suddenly way harder.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Really amazing game!

Eingya says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:48am

Nice entrancing little game! Maybe the symbols should match somewhat in shape the direction you are pressing, but the nice curve with which the content is presented doesn't make this much of a problem.

Well done!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:52pm

That difficulty curve is WAY too steep when the summonings get faster! The game is very very nice in almost of all the ways!! Just that difficulty curve... Still, very good job!

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Didn't manage to summon them all, but it was still a nice experience. The aesthetic and the gameplay worked together incredibly well. Like some have already mentioned, the feedback could have been clearer.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Excellent. I was terrified, amused, and somewhat disturbed. The only light quibble we ran into was just just after a summon, it was too easy to advance and miss the summoning animation; a brief period of no input would solve this nicely.

Great entry!

Lythom says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Hi !

What I liked :
- Great mood and atmoshpere, very unique feelings while playing this game
- Fit the theme perfectly with original approach

What imo could be improved :
- I didn't understand why I failed :( (heart fading out while the symboles were corrects in the 5th or 6th level)
- Sounds gets annoying in the long run
- A beautiful stellar background would have give the game even more magic

Overrall I enjoyed my time, thanks for the game !

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Gets really hard during the later levels but this was a really fun entry to play.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:37am

I could only summon up to Ph-ph(?) The Terror
I guess I make a pretty lousy cultist

Sweet game, though!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Simple yet fun, liked your use of the lovecraftian themes :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Oh man, haha. Good job :)

oparisy says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Very nice audio and visual cues, helped in "getting in" the game fast. Kind of hypnotizing, but got boring after a time: it was not clear I was on the verge of losing. Nice realization of the theme.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Nice audio and cool graphics, very nice concept and could see more! Great arcade game!

radmars says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:53am

Combining lovecraftian vibes with rhythm games, two of my favorite things, may be the fastest way into the grotesque multi-chambered eldritch horror of my heart :D It took me some time to figure out how the gameplay related to the rhythm, but once I got it I was hooked. I love how games like this can make you feel like you've learned some bizarre language. Great sound design & graphics too. My main issue with it is that it seemed really difficult to avoid taking damage on certain transitions (left to right for example), so the later levels just felt like a war of attrition rather than an accurate test of skill. (this was using the mouse btw) Also I wish there was some more variety in the audio, like if it progressed over time, and I might prefer some sort of interaction on the beat itself rather than doing something then waiting for the beat, but that's just my preference. Still this was an awesome experience and really fun. Excellent, excellent work. I WANT MORE! /|\( ;,;)/|\

amras0000 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Nice work, great atmosphere. Main issue is just the lack of difficulty. If you'd matched the changes of symbols to the audio pulses you could force the player to have much tighter timing on their changes. Maybe start with two training rounds of each pattern without losing health, then force the player to match the timing tightly not to lose health.
It feels really odd for a summoning ritual of ancient gods to be this trivial is all >_>

amras0000 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Should be noted, I didn't notice the post-LD version until after I commented. Forcing the player to hit the start as well as the end of each rune would still improve the game, though, I feel.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]