Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Button Simulator 2000

by wilsk - Compo Entry


You've been unemployed for a while, and by the time you applied for the job online you would have taken just about anything. The advert said "Wanted - Grower to maintain crops and ensure high yield. Must have experience using HappyTime GrowMaster 2.0 HyperTerminal growing machinery."

Of course you had no idea what on earth this was, and now as you stand in front of the graffiti covered door in the seedy back alley ready for your first day, you don't feel as if this is the time to come clean about your ignorance. Nothing for it but to push on and hope for the best!

---------------------------

Button Simulator is a game about switches and dials. Flick the switches and turn the dials as if your very life depended on it (it may well do!) and grow the crop before harvest.

---------------------------

Technologies: React / Redux / Webpack

---------------------------

EDIT: Found the little boxes which let me make the embedded window large enough.

The LD preview window above is a little too small for the game. For the best experience, play in full screen or play outside an iFrame at https://buttonsimulator.surge.sh. Tested in current versions of Chrome, IE Edge, and Firefox on Windows. Doesn't work in older versions of IE due to some missing ES6 functions (what a surprise). Audio seems a bit temperamental in Firefox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#116Innovation3.81
#235Humor2.93
#430Overall3.30
#467Mood2.98
#498Graphics3.06
#689Fun2.85
#690Theme3.45

Comments

scars377 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:07pm

wow I don't know react can be used for game making :D

wilsk says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:55pm

@scars377 yeah I wanted to try it out :)

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:45pm

game doesn't fit in iframe correctly play in full screen to see the terminal screen. (Not your fault)

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Text is under button, it can get confusing if you think description text is above the button.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Toggles are enabled when in down position. That is inverse of what I thought it would be.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Just found the help button now I know what to do

argowen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49am

all made sense in fullscreen well all made sense maybe not but flicky things on and zippy sounds, too bad I let the plants die. Would let plants die again I say would think it would be inevitable that they'd die on me :( and now I feel sad

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53am

Really cool idea and I loved the graphics but some hints would have been great XD

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:33pm

nicely done, but as a gamer i was a bit overwhelmed.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Really cool use of the themes and a nice tactile feeling to all the buttons, dials and switches.

gv1351 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Great

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29pm

This is probably one of my favorite entries I've played so far (even though there's CLEARLY more than two buttons). I love the vague premise of preparing for the harvest, and the whole set up for the buttons and panels was elegantly crafted. I love the intentional complexity of all the controls, even though I had no idea I was supposed to scroll to the right until I read the help. Overall great and well polished entry.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

bib-bub-bib, wait a lost? great game m8 i had lots of fun!

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I like that you don't know quite what effect things will have, although this makes it quite difficult

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

This is just awesome. I wish there were more games with this style of controls, nicely done!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37pm

The intro was nice to see. Really set a good tone for the game.
However I played many games and still struggled to work out the connections between some of the systems and that is a shame because there is obviously a lot of depth behind them. Still had loads of fun.

I didn’t think playing with buttons could be so enjoyable.

EwChap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18am

Great entry. Love the concept and the hook right up front.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

Ugh, I played it like 10 times before I saw the help button! Maybe make it a little bigger or point it out in your instructions on this page? Or are you just evil and letting the new engineer on the block stumble >=)

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

Ugh, I played it like 10 times before I saw the help button! Maybe make it a little bigger or point it out in your instructions on this page? Or are you just evil and letting the new engineer on the block stumble >=)

Nice game once I got the instructions though!

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11am

@Frenchie... just evil! :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Very interesting idea for a game. It's quite appealing. Took a while though before I understood what I was meant to be doing, but I guess that's the idea behind the game.

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I love this game, but... it's sooooo hard.. I'am loosing again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again.. but i have fun =)

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Really cool to have absolutely no idea what to do (only the major goal) and to have to find out by yourself. I would have liked to be more clear what the active and not active states are though. And in the status bars I was not sure if it must go up or down or stay in the middle. Otherwise a very clever game, well done!

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Very confusing game. It was still fun trying to figure out what does what but at the end I wasn't able to fully grow anything. After a time the systems stopped working and I don't understand why :(

I still like the game, I just didn't get it. A short tutorial would be nice.

BobM says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

The game is very cool but i get lost too easely xD

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Thanks for the comments everybody - if you look down the bottom right of the screen there is a help button which gives you a few hints...

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:30am

And I thought I was killing it! Man, great game. I was a bit overwhelmed but nice concept with a catching intro.

canon says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:45am

I enjoy these kind of simulation games where you have to figure out what to do and toggle a bunch of levers to get it to work. There's a lot I still don't really know, but at least the game over messages help. Nice work!

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Very interesting concept, and I like the design of the interface a lot. If I had one suggestion, it would be to try to associate the buttons and labels a little closer somehow. I definitely understand trying to obfuscate the function of the device, as that's part of the fun, though. A little bit more feedback on what's happening each time you make a change could help. Overall very innovative, nice job!

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Interesting concept. I could have used more obvious and immediate feedback from my choices. I couldn't quite tell which combinations to use and when. If you were to turn this into a full game, I would give people healthy crops first so they can learn how to keep them healthy, and then start throwing in obstacles that force them to figure out how to recover. Good job.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Definitely needs some instructions front and centre. Once I finally figured out why the various systems were shutting down on me I found this quite compelling, and I love the realistic industrial control interface. Still can't get the crops to harvest though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]