Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

An Exponential Problem

by LastResortGames - Jam Entry

A virus wants to take over the world. Help it out a little bit. It needs something to defend it while it grows inside of its host. When it outgrows its current host it will grow in scale as well.

Trackpad mouse NOT recommended. Everything moves very quick.

Left Click kills everything.
Right Click infects "friendly" units (like red blood cells.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#51Theme(Jam)4.30
#337Overall(Jam)3.51
#415Innovation(Jam)3.28
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#566Graphics(Jam)3.35
#585Humor(Jam)2.54
#627Mood(Jam)3.08

Comments

zatch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Very cool to see where this landed at the end of the weekend. Thanks for including me in testing through its development! Solid overall entry. Graphics are pretty solid throughout, though definitely easiest to digest on level 1. They could stand for enemies and hosts to pop a bit more on 2 and 3 -- maybe more contrast between NPCs in level 2 and hosts could stand out against the background a bit more in level 3. Great job nailing both themes! See you at the next meet-up!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Solid entry, I was skeptical at first whether it's a good game or not, but then I ended up playing it through. :D.. nicely done, one of the best "growing" theme games I have played today.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Very well put together! Almost impossible with my trackpad (macbook), will have to plug in a mouse later and try again. (curious to see the bigger scale bits) :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

A surprisingly relaxing and tense game at the same time. The graphics are too small to make out details, though, and clicking on such tiny targets that move so fast is annoying.

Weloxux says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Really liking the variety between the levels. The virus becomes bigger, and you go from destroying cells to destroying tanks, which is a really nice touch. The music was good too, although after a while it became a bit too repetitive to my taste. The controls were fun, but slightly hurtful for my hands, but other than that, good stuff.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Nice game ! well done. It's a bit hard at first but quite enjoyable.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

My poor mouse - previously there was diablo - may be)
Nice game, accuracy is needed)
Perhaps there is some way to mix Infectonator and TowerDefence and this mechanic)

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Great idea. I enjoyed playing . Graphics could be better but mechanics counterrested it.

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice game, it pretty simple, but it works pretty well.
The only problem is that it becomes a bit repetitive after a moment.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Hey, not bad at all !
It's a little strange that the difficulty went down as you go through the levels (the first stage in blood was somewhat hard, but the two afterwards were easy, with far less ennemies spawning).

Solid entry :)

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

The concept of growth had more than one angle and I liked that. Very interesting and fun implementation. Maybe a splash radius for killing enemies would have been nice. Very difficult on a 4k screen. Still mildly difficult when adjusting the resolution down to 1080p

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Really interesting game, it definitely gave my hand a workout! I like the concept, although it was quite hard to play from the get-go. Well done!

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Very cool and nicely implemented concept! I really liked that the virus increased in scale with every level.

Maybe you could increase the radius of the attacks though, it was very hard to click in exactly the right spot.

Codexus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Nice concept, I liked the change of scale. Things are bit small to click but I have a large monitor so that's probably it. Good music!

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Nice use of both themes, overall a really fun game, although it really tired the fingers out after a bit!

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:25pm

This was really fun once you get the ball rolling! Has a nice snowballing effect to it.

Neil says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:36pm

That was fun, but the characters are a bit to small to really distinguish between them. My mouse fingers are not what it used to be, so I am a bit slow ;)

It does fit the theme well!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Damn hard to play on touchpad, but very fun tho.
Like your approach to "Growing" theme :)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Interesting concept. Feel like the click area and feedback could be a little better. Get hard when you have some different areas growing. Could mix in some tower defense elements so that growing areas could defend themselves and free you up to helping spread the virus.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Very nice, liked how you could keep growing in scale (was hoping nukes in the end!)
Excellent game :>

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Wow, that was awesome. Loved how the scale of the virus grew. Only complaint is that sometimes it felt like I definitely won, and was just waiting for that stage to end.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]