Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Winter

by sydan - Compo Entry

The Old Ones told of the time that the emerald comet would fall, bringing with it a terrible darkness. Now you stand between the evil and your home village. Raise the Guardians and destroy the evil before it grows too strong!

Controls
-----
LMB or Z: Plant a seed
RMB or X: Dash towards the mouse

Hints
-----
- Planting a seed costs a full energy bar
- Dashing costs a small amount of energy
- Totems heal you and replenish your energy bar

Theme
-----
I chose to target both themes. Growing appears twice in this game, firstly with the demon comet which grows as you fight it and secondly with the seeds that you plant which (strangely) grow into objects that are not plants...
The two button controls are slightly supplemented by the mouse position and I also use other buttons for things such as skipping menus and exiting the game.

Builds
-----
Some reported issues on Linux build.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#18Graphics4.47
#33Mood4.06
#101Audio3.65
#137Overall3.73
#317Theme3.92
#320Innovation3.41
#412Fun3.24

Comments

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22am

LOVED THIS ONE, GOOD SIR!

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25am

My only suggestion would be to somehow show how close you are to killing the thing in the center...

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27am

First of all, the game looks great. The two button controls were done well and just looked really polished! Great job!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03am

Nothing against you, but I freaking hate Unity's exporting to linux, so many bugs... like for example: the mouse is about 100 pixels off in game.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

Hey batmanasb! I'm really sorry to hear that... I didn't know. Is the webplayer version usable for you? Do you know if there are any work arounds that I can implement for the mouse issue?

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21am

Beautiful game :O

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Beautiful game! The art and audio were great.

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

OMG! This game is so polished!

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Great game, and art is so coool!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Really great game here. Great mechanics and controls. Only thing I might say was having dash on button UP confused me but it still worked fine.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

interesting game, i like the look of it.

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

Hi Fanttum, I'm not sure I understand what you mean? Dash is either X or right mouse button?

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Man, this one looks damn sexy. Great work. Love how the music speeds up.

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

Very pretty! It would be interesting to see how the bullet-hell aspect of the game could be ramped up. Nice work :)

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Fantastic! 5 in Graphics, Audio and Mood, 4 in the rest.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Beutiful art and sound. Love the exposition and consistent style. It was kind of hard to gauge progress, but otherwise wonderful job!

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Great job! Loved the atmosphere and unique gameplay! Tutorial text could be a bit clearer, other than that nice work.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Great entry! was a bit unsure of how I was doing as I progressed but the art and atmosphere were stunning!

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:27pm

beautiful !

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Great graphics, nice mood setting music. I liked how the ground would open up beneath you, helped balance the game keeps player moving. Feel like the increase in difficulty was big, but not impossible. Great job.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37pm

It's pretty hard once the eye thing grows stronger, but it's very well made and the art is fantastic!

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:57pm

That was good fun! I loved the different stages of intensity! I didn't notice my dash depleted my Seeds bar, at first.

Loved the little cracks of doom that would go after me, stopped me from using cover too much. Well designed, well balanced with great artwork!

If there's anything to improve, it would be a little outro, which tells the player that he has defeated winter and that things are alright with the world again or somesuch.

Great work!

Bacontree says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Nice graphics and mood! I didn't know what was going on all the time, but I finished it on my first try. Cool game overall!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01pm

wow, this looks beautifully, nicely done!

the movement felt very good, and I always felt "in control" of my character, which is important for this type of game.

the challenge was there without feeling unfair, short and sweet, I loved it, nicely done! :)

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26pm

This game is amazing well done

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58pm

that was fun. was good graphics and theme. felt polished.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11pm

This is a really interesting and well designed idea, every time i thought i found a way to take advantage of the system the boss would do something to keep me on my toes. Reminded me of Titan Souls in a way, challenging but fun. Great work!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:39am

Fantastic job! Gorgeous art, nice introduction, and great job building up the tension as the game progressed!

One suggestion with a little known Unity trick: when you make your web build, set the player settings -> desktop resolution to 9999x9999. Doing so will cause going fullscreen in the web build to actually use the PC's native resolution instead of just keeping it the same and stretching the image. On a game as pretty as this, it's a shame to not get it as crisp as it should be!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46pm

The art and the sound are amazing! Great work!
(But it quickly become very hard :p)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Both links are errors for me (both web and windows)

sydan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Hi Jupiter, sorry about that! I forgot to pay for my hosting!! It went down today. Should be back up now!

Fartenko says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Wow! I'm speechless. Nice job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Really well made game with great graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/G4-JCtlxKuU

loxo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Great entry, I especially like the graphics. You managed to create a very atmospheric game, it's nice to explore it and to find out how to destroy the evil.

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32pm

That's a cool game !
The graphics are really good, and the global mood of the game (with the music) is nice :)
Good job !

abolfazl.sh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:48am

Nice job.
pleas play may game.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=59316

Gornova says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:57pm

well done, if I can say, it's opposite of my entry in some ways :D

zguerrero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Great graphics!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

The mood is cool, and you made a great work with your idea. The fact that you can hide behind your totems makes things easier(when you get it).

I was a bit disapointed by the end, as you started a story at the beginning of your game. It could have been cool to have a "happy ending".

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Jus wow. Great job !

shrapx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:32pm

very clean graphics with nice shadow effect, and tense music, which made for some interesting atmosphere, i was expecting more levels when it faded out to play again or quit. The game is like a traditional boss fight, well done!

Herzucco says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Good game, simple but fun :^)

Louspirit says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Fair use of the two themes, great job :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23pm

This game looks amazing, well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30pm

This project looks really interesting. The art and audio were great. Nice mood setting music - all is very polished. Neat ++

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Interesting game, cool graphics and sound. Good work!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Cool game, looks and plays well.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46pm

wow, this can grow into something really big over the apple store. Congrats guys!

flwns says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:56pm

I was playing, and forgot about dashing, it was really intense, great game.

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Nice Work!

I think i'd like to move with arrow keys rather than towards mouse - i know it fulfills 2 button controls, but if you go on I think that'd be worth it.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Nice mood and art style. Good job.

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Nice game. Dashing wasn't very intuitive, and there's not much depth to the combat, but other than that, nicely done game.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18pm

This was really nice, I liked the atmosphere a lot! Very well done :)

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Amazing game!

I loved the graphics (both the boss and the Guardians looked incredible!). The game itself was fun as well, I really liked the way that the theme was implemented in the game! Also the level of polish with the added screen shake at just the right times made the game much more immersive and fun to play.

the-arrival says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:17am

Awesome music and art. Gameplay could have a bit more depth, but definatly impressive for a 2 days work!

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:41am

Super impressive, it looks great and is fun to play!

tharealjohn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58am

I really liked this. Good job!

The second stage was pretty tough. The thing aims right for me every time. I must of missed some strategy!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:57am

I love your game, great job. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Nice gameplay!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:30pm

nice, awesome visuals, well done

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Really fun and really invitational I had a blast playing this game. I beat the boss my first try but it wasn't easy, it was a great challenge which I liked a lot! Also I love the way you took both themes and implemented it differently.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Very beautiful one !

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Really nice game! Almost got bored quickly as it seemed so easy, until the game really took off and got harder and harder. Really nice boss fight feel like classic videos games had.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:01am

nice one. a little hard to get what's going on, but nice one

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Nice game! Worked fine on Linux (64 bit). It looks pretty good. It got pretty hard in the end, when the thing starts actually aiming at you and there is barely time to plant something. But the progression of difficulty seemed well balanced. Good job!

Small hint: X and Z are not next to each other on many keyboard layouts, see discussion here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/24/why-z-is-a-bad-action-key/

In your game, it was acceptable, because these two keys were the only ones, just as a hint for the feature :-)

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:07pm

This one is really nice. Well done! Nice sound too.

huminaboz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:44am

Loved the sense of mystery and evilness.

emmes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:34am

Awesome game art, interesting gameplay. I'm not completely sure, however, I understood every aspect of it...

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:06am

Good idea, would be better if the rules were shown before the game (or at the beginning), not during it

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Wonderful lighting really sells the mood. Great job!

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:20pm

I liked it - never killed the item in the center. Not sure if I came close or not. I did enjoy the mechanic of being able to use two buttons and to grow. Very nice audio and graphics were cool! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]