Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MusiChaos

by SigmanZero - Jam Entry

Welcome to MusiChaos! This is a rhythm-based game inspired by the hectic nature of games like Super Hexagon. As white bubbles float outwards from the center, hit the Left Arrow Key if it intersects with the orange outer circle and the Right Arrow Key if it intersects with the blue outer circle. The closer you are to pressing the key with the beat of the song, the more points you'll earn! It looks simple at the start, but just wait for chaos to ensue...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#348Mood(Jam)3.42
#377Overall(Jam)3.46
#542Fun(Jam)3.13
#592Humor(Jam)2.53
#684Graphics(Jam)3.13
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41am

This is like the next Super Hexagon or something, freaking insane (and awesome)!

BigAnt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

Loaded slow for me so it was a bit hard to play but the overall game, especially the graphics, is top notch!

Outbreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

Well done. Great Game. Had fun playing it!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53am

This is a neat idea, but it feels like it's way too difficult to follow. Even when I could keep track of when I needed to press a button, I often had blue and orange mixed up. It feels difficult in a frustrating way, not in a good way. Still, points for a unique idea, and the gameplay is solid, if confusing.

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54am

great little game, simple but fun :) enjoyed playing it !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55am

This could have the potential to be a good rhythm game.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39pm

wow, that was awesome, great challenge, very original rhythm game :)

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Wow. That's well named. Very chaotic. I'm REALLY bad at keeping track of that sort of thing, but it's very well done, and I'm impressed.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Very fast pace, took a while for me to get the muscle memory of orange/blue, but once I got it, it was fun! Good work.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15pm

I would say that this is great design for two button rhythm game. Would have been nice to start with the blue on directly on right and orange on the left so player can get used to the controls. Also some more feedback on the colours changing place. I kept finding that one of them had moved sneakily.

greenscreen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Great game, but a little too difficult for me. Music is awesome and this would be great as a mobile game. Perfect for short bus or tram trips.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:57am

Nicely done, but found it quite difficult.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Wow, great concept but was really hard for me to remember whether it was left or right I should be pressing, let alone following them zipping all over the place - though that could just be me! Nice music and fit the theme nicely so well done!

banana4life says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:06am

Very hard although I like music games. Apart from living up to its name my main challenge was to remember what color the keys are for^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]