Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mt Etubo

by thebrickanator - Compo Entry

(I decided to implement the theme of growing)
Stop the villagers of Beothata from sacrificing themselves to the volcanic depths of mount Etubo.

The volcano feeds and grows from the Beothata people's sacrifices and threatens to destroy the village, along with your loved ones, living there.

The bar at the top of the screen indicates how volatile/aggressive Etubo has become, and the bar at the bottom illustrates your progress through the 3 min game length. (each stage is 1 min long... its long enough :D) In the future I may add more stages.

use the WASD or arrow keys to move, and the mouse to move the view
(left mouse button is also used to fire lightning in stage 2 & 3)

use the 'esc' key to open the menu overlay.

I hope that you enjoy the game :D

Remember don't worry if you cant complete it :P it was balanced to be able to play a few times if you wanted to :D

=============== SPOILER /explanation ==============
At the end of the game (at least, when the volcano erupts) a Monster climbs out of the top showing how when the people were sacrificing themselves into the volcano they were actually helping the monster grow by feeding it, therefor causing the volcano to erupt.

This is at least how I originally intended to implement the theme but am not sure how clear it is for people to understand so I thought I should clarify it here :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Audio3.85
#64Mood3.84
#67Graphics4.15
#92Innovation3.88
#103Humor3.46
#110Overall3.80
#301Fun3.39
#790Theme3.28

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38am

VERY VERY NICE! Love it :D

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43am

amazing work

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37am

I love everything about this game. The graphics are superb, the audio very good and the gameplay super "juicy". Even the story isn't bad. Awesome entry!

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:44am

The graphics are amazing. I love how you implemented the storyline text in such a simple gray box.

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31am

Amazing, it has a really nice mood to it and the gfx are incredible.

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Fantastic atmosphere! I really liked an intro to the story :)

I find it a little hard to prevent people from jumping into the volkano tho :(

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

So fun and innovative concept!! it was challenging but not imossible, GJ!! :D

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Really nice game. Well polished with awesome graphics and sound. Gameplay feels solid and nothing looks rushed. I just failed to see the theme (I didn't beat it). But overall its an impressive game for a 2 day competition...

in3orn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Cannot rate :( After the intro I got this error message:
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: sha_lava_liquid

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_obj_lava_render_Draw_0
############################################################################################

:(

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice! Music and graphics are top notch! And I really like how you set the mood! Keep up the good work man!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50pm

@in3orn Unfortunately this is a bug not with the game, but simply means your graphics driver does not support gamemaker glsl shaders properly. To fix this error apparently all you must do is install the latest 'direct X' version on your computer.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

Very nice! I love the human volleyball with epic Sith lightning powers!
And how did you do the liquid lava? It looks very nice even though its only a small puddle and a few droplets.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:31am

@theholychicken Thanks heaps :) and I used a rendering technique called metaballs. it's very simple and a quick google should show you how to do it.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I didn't entirely know what I was doing but I had fun doing it! haha

Looking forward to dissecting the source code. Thanks for release it :)

nodens says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17am

Great fun! I'm not super good at it, but I had a great time.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:26am

Loved the combination of all the effects, the rain, the lava the lightning etc. it was really fun watching all the chaos. It was comical trying as hard as I could trying to convince villagers to not throw themselves in lava. Things were sweet once I unlocked force lightning. Overall it was really pretty. After a game over screen I just had to sit and watch all the pretty lava effects, and smoke and boulders.
It was also nice getting to hear your voice and have you personally set up the explanation for the setting of the game. Thank you so much for making this game! Great job!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:13am

Really impressive work -- I love the music, the art is really nice, and it's just fun to play. Great job!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:10am

Real speech, real presentation, real pixel art, very nice gameplay (even if i would have better love to put the fellow humans IN the volcano :D), and real challenge ! (65% of the game for my part)

Very nice game !

berkano says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:35am

Stunning game!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55am

I refuse to believe that this was made in 48 hrs, 2good2betru xD

esayitch says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:55am

Really stylish! The idea of jumping to fend people off of somewhere was also pretty new and neat.

Good luck!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I rated this 5/5 in humor for trying to save suicidal villagers from themselves.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:29am

The setting is really cool, have a nice use of the theme! It's very polished for a compo entry, the rain and music brought an "urgency" for the situation. I do had a little difficulty to stop the villagers xD

Anyway, good job!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:27pm

When I deflected a villager from the volcano, I felt proud. If you continue to develop this, when villagers went into the lava after passing through me, I felt unaware of the technique that would deflect them.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:03am

Great entry. Well done with the graphics and game play. Awesome to see what other users of Gamemaker Studio can accomplish. Going to look at the source to see how that lava works. Awesome job.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:10am

This game was really really great haha, had much fun playing it, well done! ^^

KayZ says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Can't play it :(
Bandwidth Limit Exceeded
The server is temporarily unable to service your request due to the site owner reaching his/her bandwidth limit. Please try again later.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:28pm

@KayZ Yep Thanks ;), we have been trying to get our server administrators to look at this problem but cant get them to respond... It appears our site has been attacked/bombarded and ran out of bandwidth in a few hours. I will upload the files to a temporary server until this is fixed.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Server bandwidth has been temporarily increased :) so hopefully our site will stay active now.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Really nice idea! not easy to play though

Krafty says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:38am

Pretty cool game! It was pretty hard to prevent people from jumping in, and they kept shooting lava at me (when did these villagers gain that cool power?). Still really great! Good job! :)

zulman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:14am

Awesome, thank you! Game dynamics is great! Hope you'll enjoy Let's Play Simulator 2016 as well http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114 :)

vedmich says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:16am

Lots of fun, nice visuals and ambient sound!
Cool stuff to play.

uthamon says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Usually I'm not fond of using pompous terms, but this game feels... complete? It has easy to learn, hard to master gameplay with enjoyable controls. It has beautiful graphics, atmosphere. It has fitting audio with these cute "bomp" sounds. As if that wasn't enough the story is interesting. Good entry!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Great game, amazing work man. The intro was awesome but the gameplay was hard! It´is so difficult to stop the villages (even harder when they spawn right at the top of the volcano!)
Very innovative idea but need some balance and level design to be better. Continue improving this game!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:21pm

What a fascinating little game. Beautiful graphics and nice sound.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Very frustrating. I was pushing the villagers towards the lava about 80% of the time I was trying to push them away from it. Very pretty, sounds cool, concept's great and good fun. But so frustrating...

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:32pm

The boss in end scared me. Solid entry.

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Very fun! I loved the lightning power

piper82 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:24pm

bit hard preventing villagers to jump in at first, but not that it matters because its not too punishing. you have a typo in the lose message. good job.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:41pm

"God damn, Stop sacrificing yourselves you stupid people! Ok... except you Jimmy, I can't stand you anymore, just get the f*** in the vulcano already."
The concept is pretty funny. But the gameplay can be quite frustrating, pushing people into the volcano 'by accident' *cough*, especially since you can't control your jump height. Eventually I just ended up guarding one side and shooting lightning to the other side whenever it was off cooldown.

Bensonance says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Sweet little game!

Really like the idea of the game, and the perspective/graphics work well too.

It's a bit tricky to play at the moment - I think you need more feedback that you're getting damaged (screenshake/sound etc.) just so that it's clearer. I'm also not sure that the health part was needed? I really enjoyed fending away villagers - I think more of a focus on that part of the game would have been great.

Good job! :D

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Awesome! Love the theme, and it's really quite fun. It seemed extremely difficult to catch anyone in mid air if they start jumping in, which was a little frustrating, but I learned to stop them before they reached that point. I knocked more than a few villagers into the flames accidentally...whoops!

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Best graphics and presentation I've seen so far this LD!

r8berto says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Amazing work! What game engine did you use?

Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:22pm

@r8berto Thanks ;D I use Gamemaker Studio.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:48pm

It seems like I had about the same chance pushing someone away from the volcano as I had to push them in. A bit hard to control and have an impact, but an interesting concept which was quite fun to play. I think it fits both themes, with the growing of the volcanoes wrath (even though the monster baby wasn't too obvious).

Allthebees says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:16am

Difficult controls but a fun game! It definitely fits the theme.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:02pm

It's gread and new, but I find it too hard. I don't know how to block them. Instead I kept pushing them into the pit.

However, it's very nice. Keep up the good work.

anael says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:44am

nice mood, the concept is original

justinooncx says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Jeez Louise, this is a bloody difficult game. All my efforts end up chucking them into the volcano. Otherwise, pretty great game!

Warboys says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Excellent style and I absolutely loved the intro and tutorial combination. The game is reaaaaally hard. Those tiny blobs of lava were the big killers for me, it felt nigh on impossible to dodge them and the balance of the amount of dudes felt quite unforgiving.

Still, I like the concept a lot and movement also felt very good on top of the style! Nice work

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Quite nice. Though somewhat hard to achieve anything, as walking into the villagers often does the exact opposite of what you want, and if it does what you want, then the effect barely makes a change. But is's a neat idea.

uvwar says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Hello fellow Volcano game! I'm not sure if it was just my browser (Firefox) but I kept lagging a fair amount in waves, which made it almost impossible to time anything. I was also struggling badly with my jumps because they would jump 'low' and I would always jump 'high'. Really awesome game!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:05pm

You were featured on Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9tXmMvEBfI

yuigoto says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:39am

Great work! The graphics are beautiful, the concept is a really nice one and loved the use of the theme in this one! The lava flowing is also well done in here!

The soundtrack is also great! Though I didn't like the monster fx a bit. :P

sergicollado says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:03am

So fun game!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:43am

Nice. Found it hard to figure out a good way to keep them out reliably, so the pace remained frantic. Good polish, it's nice seeing all the little pieces come together.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]