Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SnowRoll

by StabAlarash - Jam Entry

You are a snowball, roll down that mountain !!!
Use left & right arrows to steer, press them together to speed up, release them together to jump, that's it.

Was a bit under the weather this time so I used a lot of free assets from unity asset store, only made the gameplay and the music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#86Fun(Jam)3.81
#143Overall(Jam)3.77
#150Theme(Jam)4.10
#334Audio(Jam)3.34
#350Graphics(Jam)3.73
#434Mood(Jam)3.31
#589Innovation(Jam)3.03
#697Humor(Jam)2.30

Comments

BigBrother says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Wow, even if you used assets from Unity, this is really great for what you had! I really like how you got the two buttons to work together like that!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

Nice game! I did something very similar, although not as pretty :)

wilsk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Neat - almost reminded me of playing the game Snow! Best part was when I rolled off the world... wheeeee!

The "impact" / crunchy snow noise seemed to play a bit randomly when I was just rolling along.

Thanks

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Nice entry. I really liked the fact that the snowball decreases its size when it hits a wall.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Really awesome game! It was hard to see in front of me once I got to a certain size, though :(

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Nice snow roller, at the beginning I was impressed about the graphics then actual gameplay.
Wish it would last longer though, just when Im about to get to good size I fall off...or maybe theres someway to avoid falling?

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Very fun! I wish I had thought to use the two buttons in combination to do something. The controls feel very responsive and great. Great choice of graphics, and I really like the music. Good work!

tayl1r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Looks really nice. I like the way you managed to get 4 functions out of two keys!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

c-a-n-'-t s-t-o-p p-l-a-y-i-n-g ;D
Very addictive, great fun!

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Really fun and addictive!!

Graydom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:58pm

This is amazing. The graphics look astounding for the amount of time you had. Overall its fun and engaging when playing it.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18pm

This really fun to roll down the hill. The controlls are really good (+1Overall) Nice game ... good job

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Enjoyable to play. Good job!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Pretty awesome game :) I would have loved to have seen the game with custom assets but it was still well made. I think you need a better way of ensuring the player doesn't fall off the map, because I played the game for a while riding along the side of the hill.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:51am

some kind of high score and a faster game over if i fall down would be nice BUT overall great entry! like the game mechanics very much! well done!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:41am

Ah, another roller-compatriot. Nice usage of Unity for good looks and upbeat tune.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:19am

SnowRoll.exe caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module SnowRoll.exe at 0023:0048b258.
:(

kowalski says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:08am

Perfectly fits the theme, amazing graphics and the gameplay also is simple and fun. The snowball could be a bit more maneuverable imo. But anyways, this game is a great contribution to the LD34!

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:13am

Good job! nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]