Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SHRiNK

by qkerguelen - Compo Entry

SHRiNK is a small game about a little ball which shrinks all the time. In order to survive you must collect green diamonds to grow and avoid death by implosion.
Unfortunately the world does not help you.. Moving blocks, spikes, everything wants to kill you in SHRiNK!

Use the RIGHT and LEFT arrows to move
Press R to restart a level

Short Post Mortem:
It's my second Ludum Dare and i'm quite happy with what I've done. I started a bit late so I had to find a simple idea to make it work. I had a lot of crazy ideas but it would have been too much work and I wouldn't have finished in time. So I focused on a really simple gameplay. Only two buttons to control the player and a cool shrinking/growing mechanic. My idea was clearly in the theme :D Everything worked just fine, and I finally finished way earlier than expected. The only bugs you'll probably encounter are related with the changing size of the player that makes some collisions weird but it won't be a big deal I hope :)

I hope you'll enjoy!


Troubleshooting:
Windows: The game may be blocked by Windows, so if you can't open it :
Right click on SHRiNK.exe > Properties > Check "Unblock" and it should run just fine! If it doesn't, maybe your antivirus is blocking it :/

Mac: If osx tells you something like 'Downloaded .app is damaged and can’t be opened, you should move it to trash', just open a terminal and go to the app folder (doing cd Downloads for example) and then type:
xattr -d com.apple.quarantine SHRiNK.app

Linux: Also this is the first time I've done a Linux export, so I hope it works ok.

Don't hesitate to tell me if anything goes wrong.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#36Fun3.97
#131Innovation3.76
#147Theme4.11
#163Overall3.69
#169Audio3.40
#170Mood3.48
#513Humor2.32
#515Graphics3.03

Comments

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Very smooth game, but looking at the stripes strains my eyes.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Cool game, I liked the visuals and music. I got stuck in a wall a few times, though!

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Wow! This is the best game I've rated, yet! It reminds me of VVVVV in a VERY good way. The bright stripey colors sometimes hurt my eyes when I was moving quickly. I would definitely look into expanding the game post-compo and releasing it as a paid app.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Liked how aggressive the visuals are on my eyes.

Reminds me of both SuperHexagon & VVVVVV in a good way.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Hey thanks guys for the votes! I'm really honored to be compared to VVVVV :D I'm really glad you like it :) I wanted to give the game a trippy LSD cyber-retro style (does this even exists?) so this can explain your eyes' pain, please don't blame me :P

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

This is great! Feels polished which I greatly appreciate.

Lizandros says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Challenging, hypnotizing(these colors @_@) and bug-free game. Good work!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49pm

My god...my eyes!!
hahahah!
Nice game!!

I wonder if the stripes are a design choice or something else...lol

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Wow, it get's really hard o.O

Only one little bug i have found: If you press into a wall you sometimes glitch out, but it doesn't affect you that much :)

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Yeah I know for the little collision glitches. It's because of the size of the player that changes and make collision calculations a bit hard. I'll probably try to fix it in a future version and I hope it won't bother you too much :/

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:35am

Horizontal collision gets a bit wonky.
The overall design is super awesome and innovative.
The strong urge to pick up everything that's inherent to gameplay... just completely destroyed in front of me. Awesome.
I'm gonna poke around in your code for a bit if you don't mind

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38am

oh, there it is.
if(keyboard_check(vk_left) && !place_meeting(x-hSpeed,y,o_walls))
{
x-=hSpeed;
}
ok right so it checks you wall collisions,
but o_vmoving isn't parented to o_walls, so there's nothing to stop you from moving straight through a wall

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31am

It's a shame that it's not on a phone, as I would love to play it on lectures :-D

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26am

Great challenging game! Could get more fun with a sperm theme?

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Very cool! Reminds me a lot of VVVVV like others said, and also 99 problems. Or maybe it's you who made it as the sound of explosion is the same? Anyway.. Bravo!

ragnta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Nice game! I liked the visuals

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Awesome game! Feels very polished.

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:31pm

I like both audiovisuals and gameplay. Neat idea for theme. Oh, and I just dem flashing sprites. ;]

BoltKey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Very good game, I really enjoyed it. Nice difficulty scale (for me). I loved the idea that you have to compromise with you size so you live long enough and fit in between spikes. I would love to see more levels and enemies in perhaps post-mortem release, I think there is potential in this concept and idea.

Sometimes I died when I was being pushed by wall to the right. The moving walls felt a bit buggy as a whole. Nice sound effects for a compo entry.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:33am

I really really like the gameplay mechanic, but my eyes T_T

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:00pm

OW MY EYES.

Brilliant :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:20am

great idea - polished - very good entry

Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Awesome game! Loved the tight controls. The mechanic of dying over time combined with your size was interesting. Definitely caused a conflict of interest for me with trying to max my life but also drain to navigate the harder level sections.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:10am

Really cool game. It's kind of hypnotist. I lost so much but I enjoy it. Great job, one of the best I played in this jam.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Really nice, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/-PrUibNueHg

kmakai says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Great job, I found the gameplay really satisfying! The "time limit" was a great way to avoid having players just bounce back and forth and try to get them to go for non-stop precision, which added a lot for me.

I enjoyed the music and the aesthetic, though maybe the background/stripes could have changed colors or something between levels -- there was a bit of strain caused after staring at the same pattern for too long.

I'd like to play some more!

mat1er says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:27pm

For some reason that strongly remind me of a game I made...

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:36am

I got blind, but very good game! ^_^

Jace239 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/01/02/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-5/

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:10am

Loved it! One of my favorite entries so far! The third level was super frustrating but I love frustrating games! A very simple but awesome mechanic, could definitely see this on mobile devices! Once again, one of my favorite entries. I remember watching this game be played on Twitch. I love it! Well done! c:

Wakefield says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:53am

Really nice! I have a lot of fun playing it! Hope to see it on android or similar! love everything.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]