Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow The Hole

by Elit3dGaming - Jam Entry

The concept of the game is pretty simple, you play as a black hole and your objective is to grow. Once you reach a certain size you will create a new universe! I would've loved to add more to the game but I had some time constraints, however the game is pretty fun to play so I hope you enjoy it! This is my 2nd Ludum Dare entry.

Controls:
- Mouse pointer controls the black hole

Credits:
Programming - Kyle Thomas (@Elit3dGaming)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#443Mood(Jam)3.30
#697Humor(Jam)2.30
#757Overall(Jam)3.05
#773Fun(Jam)2.84
#999Innovation(Jam)2.19

Comments

im-oab says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Movement feel too slow when black hole grow up. :)

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:20pm

This was almost soothing to play. Nice atmosphere!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:32pm

@im-oab thanks fixed for web build, fixing for windows build now :)

Xgor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

I love the idea of a Single Player Agar.Io but I feel that the game needs some challenge as the spike balls didn't give me any.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26am

nice music

bushmango says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:28am

it is too slow when you grow up, but the game is fun

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Nice quote from Sagan

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Fits very well with the theme

eerongal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Nice game! Similar in design to mine (but very different in mood). Great music, nice work!

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Not a bad game. Not a new concept but done pretty well. Nice feel and aesthetic.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I like the mood of the game. Good choice of music. The sound effect for picking up stuff kind of ruined it though, as it got really tedious to listen to.. Too bad, as it could've been a very soothing game otherwise.

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Of course it reminds me of other games like agar or Solar, but I think with some more work it could have been great. This version lacks challenge imo

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I like the spin on this type of game. I almost felt like moving up or down was way slower than moving sideways. Although I'm not sure why you lose some of your size (I guess it happens when you take too long to between consuming new orbs/universes), I did like the idea of having to regain it. Good job.

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Looks nice. Movement does feel a bit slow (and moving up or down is slower than diagonally). But it had a good vibe to it.

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

The mood is great. Very relaxing.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Nice one, need a little more variations to be more fun but it's cool :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:17pm

I like it, it was fun!

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:01am

The mood was so great!
I like the presentation, the music, the quotes and even those little dragon balls ^^

Maybe I can ressurect my black hole with those, right? ^^

YinYin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

So at first I thought I have to only collect purple stars as they matched my colour. Then when spiky things started to chase me I noticed that I do grow upon collecting anything.

This is the first game I play here that actually zooms out upon growing, so that's good. Unfortunately that also made the controls more sluggish - which made it less fun to play as I progressed.

Finally I conjoined with a fellow black hole because that looked like a good level exit ... oh well.

I wish it had more different interactive sound effects.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29pm

I do think the shrinking is too fast, but beside that a very nice game!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:46pm

After size of 150 I've had a feeling of a real massivnes, it was a very nice experience. It was a surprising that you also created ending of the game with some message, good job!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Interesting game. Vertical movement is the only problem in terms of speed. I reached near screen size but then suddenly went down to a tiny mass of 8.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:28pm

this is a very pretty game!

reminds me a little of solar 2 / agar.io, and the gameplay was rather relaxing.

I kinda wish there was a way to deal with the mines, other than just let them hit you, but other than that, it was very fun! Nice job :)

utgarda says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Nice mood, but probably needs more challenge!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:04am

Pretty calming game, if rather simple.

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:51pm

The game is more fun at the beginning that at the end. By the way, it is a nice work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]