Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Just Potato

by Kakureta - Compo Entry

Potatoes! Potatoes everywhere! I mean, who doesn't love potatoes?

This game is called Just Potato. It is a 2-button controlled infinite jumper in which you grow a potato and try to go as high as you can.

It was made in Unity
Art was made in Photoshop
Sound in 3ML Editor

A and D (or left/right) to move.
Collect gold potatoes to grow.
Watch out for red evil potatoes.

Can you get the highest score? I'd like to know.
Post your scores in the comments below ;)

**EDIT: I feel it might be important at this point to mention the fact that there is a warping feature in the game: If you go off-screen, you will be teleported to the opposite side of the screen. People tend to not notice this feature and then tell me there are impossible jumps. To those people: Try moving the potato out of the screen ;)**

- Kakureta

*P.S: There is a bonus Christmas mode (Hint: Check the options)*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#107Humor3.44
#480Graphics3.08
#509Audio2.58
#599Theme3.58
#625Mood2.77
#674Fun2.88
#792Overall2.83
#804Innovation2.53

Comments

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Nice touch with the Christmas mode :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

I really like the potato graphic! It's hard to move around though. I got a 7 on my highest

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58am

hahahaha, the christmas mode was cool. Navigating was hard sometimes.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Really funny and fun!

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Haha nice. Only complaint is sometimes I don't think it's possible to win... fun though!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

@pvtroswold You are right. This is a known issue where there is a 1/20 chance that the game might spawn an impossible jump. Can't fix it though, I don't have time :/

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Definitely hit a few impossible jumps, and the collisions feel just a touch wonky. That said, it's simple, fun, and almost a little addicting.

I got up to 42 on my highest run.

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:18pm

The game was too frustrating in my opinion, a lot of times it wasn't even possible to reach the next platform and the hitboxes felt off. Make the potato jump a little bit higher and things should be better I think :)

sergicollado says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Very fun, there are impossible jumps :(

illraceyou says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

The title is accurate. Not sure why I start with golden potatoes in normal mode and not Christmas mode.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:40am

Who doesn't love potatoes?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33am

Not super innovative, and the inconsistent clipping made me rage a bit, but the minute I found Christmas mode, ALL WAS BETTER.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29pm

The Linux build is missing the data folder

Kakureta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:28pm

@MemoryLeek fixed! Thank you for pointing it out :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Simple and fun, good job with the sound effects too! Didn't get very high up, but played for a while.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54pm

this was pretty good. couple complaints though, the hitboxes were a little ambiguous, some jumps were impossible or close enough to count, sometimes you spawn pretty much right on an enemy, or the platforms are so close you just move upwards rally fast and cant really decide to go anywhere like if theres a gold potato or something, and 'dying' was a bit anticlimactic when you fall below the screen just a bit and are still able to climb back up, but you're dead so it doesnt matter. also on the other side of the enemy argument, enemies arent really that much of a hazard, they're just kinda there.
otherwise, the game is pretty charming and the art isnt that bad. the christmas mode was a neat touch. and it fit the theme well!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Music is well done although my potato doesn't get on some platform for some reason

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Liked the art

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01pm

I like it! The potato idea and Christmas mode are nice touches. The level generation has some problems, as stated before, it seems impossible to get to some blocks.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:40pm

A very fun little game :) Took me a few minutes to figure out I could jump across the edge the screen and then it became a lot more fun. I ended up with a highscore of 43 :D I loved the art style and the sound effect for the potato was great. There we're a lot of small bugs that reduced the fun though, like the fact the score went down when you dropped so you could lose your high score, or the fact there's no quit button :p

Garris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:36am

This game was really funny and cute, but it was so hard to land that darn potato on his platform. I loved the weird noise it made when you ate a golden potato, and the graphics were nice and potatoey.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:49am

Hehe, this was fun flipping that potato around. And Christmas mode: omigosh! How come the potato won't flip in xmas mode? I guess that hat's too good to mess up, huh. :) I can tell you had fun making this! Good job.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:50am

Linux build works great now :)
Fun and slightly addicting game, not much to complain about.
A small bug is that you can keep jumping and gaining score after you've died :P

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I think it would be better if the camera could return downwards!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:49am

awesome) well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]