Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

QATERPILLAR

by Pilly - Jam Entry

A QWOPlike Caterpillar puzzle platformer. How do you control this thing???
Avoid bees, and don't step on ladybugs. Obstacles will repeat themselves until you clear them.

Originally created for the compo, but missed the deadline by over 2 hours, alas.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#151Humor(Jam)3.50
#164Innovation(Jam)3.66
#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#384Overall(Jam)3.45
#435Theme(Jam)3.76
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#546Mood(Jam)3.18
#656Graphics(Jam)3.17

Comments

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55am

Cute :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

Pretty fun game, not to mention difficult to get used to! It's pretty easy to cheese the last ladybug once you know how, though!

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:24am

At the beginning, I had no real idea, how you control the ladybug. But after some seconds I figured it out, and the game was quite fun and also innovative. Good audio and Humor is great! Love the bees c:

Afendar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07pm

So cute ! it's easy ! musique is cool

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Hard to get used to the controls, but I enjoyed it.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

I couldn't really figure out the controls. :(

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:07pm

This really impressed me. Solid entry. Well done. Very tricky but fun. The expressions on the creature add humor and the audio ties it all together. Great work.

Mattress says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51pm

The game is pretty original - I haven't seen anything like it. Unfortunately, the controls give me a headache, and having 8 buttons at once isn't very practical.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Cute game. haha
I liked it.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Fun game.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:16pm

haha that was definitely 'QWOP-like' [is that a new genre?], and it was just as difficult, and just as fun.

I loved the caterpillars little faces as he messes up haha, really cute.

Nice job, that's a really solid little game :)

Solifuge says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:14am

What a unique puzzle game! I've never been more glad that I only have 2 legs to worry about.

Loved the tone the art and music set; fit the awkward controls and goofy movements perfectly. I loved how you curved up the difficulty gradually by adding more parts too. I didn't really grok the controls until the ladybugs and challenge poses at the end, and had a lot of fun failing to move myself properly.

This was a simple, clever, and really solidly-made game; sorry you didn't make it in time for the Compo, but I'm sure you'll do fine!

sputnik says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Cute little game. Love the song!

Anachron says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Very cute facial expressions! I love the bees with cool shades :) Excellent music too. Would have been nice to have a reset button so I didn't have to wait for a ladybug to go all the way across the screen when I messed up right at the start of an obstacle.

gelisam says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:40am

I finished the game, and I still have no idea how.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:50am

Nice idea! Really cool, but hard!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]