Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Go On

by Sean - Jam Entry

A two-button game about growing up.

Made with S-Tengine2.

Special thanks to Michael Hetman for the music, he says that this game is about him.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#70Mood(Jam)4.00
#191Theme(Jam)4.05
#253Graphics(Jam)3.93
#330Humor(Jam)2.97
#362Overall(Jam)3.48

Comments

TeamOliphants says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

great ending

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:32am

I thought it was really good all around! Reminds me of Passage.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:22pm

This game was nice, good job!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:53am

Thats an interesting experience.. well done!

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:12am

A very nice metaphor! Amazing how so much can be said with something so simple.

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:21am

What a lovely calm and beautiful game. It's so rare to see people try something like this. The graphics and the music are excellent too.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:24am

Well, it has two buttons lol... Great indie graphical style! Not exactly what I would describe as being a "video game" though...

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:37am

Interesting entry. I liked the graphics and it fit the theme very well. I also liked the game's mood. Very thoughtful entry, good job!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:24am

The graphics were so adorable, it was a really pretty game.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:40am

This is a pretty strange little game, but I really like the ending - nice twist!

logorrhea says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:02am

Interesting game. I never made it to the end, though I'm not sure that I'm supposed to? Certainly beautifully made and thoughtfully designed. That said, it's appropriate to leave "fun" out of the score-able categories =\

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:29am

Music, art, and effects were really good at building the mood. The metaphor and ending felt a little thin and one-dimensional, though.

siege says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:39am

It took me a while to realize that you had to tap the button /incredibly/ quickly to get to the end. In fact, the first few times I wasn't tapping fast enough. But when I did? Oh wow, once you reach the flag? That ending.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:50am

In short: I absolutely love this game.
The music is lovely, the animation transitions are perfect and the choice of colour palette is perfect but honestly, the central, poignant metaphor of the game is what sells it to me.
In under a minute, the game touches on themes of growth, hardship, hope, impossibility, significance and insignificance.
There is a definite complexity to this simple game that, personally, I cannot praise highly enough. Kudos, and please, keep making games. :)

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Is it even possible to win? :P
Other than that a great game :)

simon.parzer says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:27am

Neat little thought provoker

Smirnov48 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:55am

Noooo!!! I can't to reach the flag!! It's so sad.
Good idea, good realization and graphics. I think you need little more interactive.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:40am

Nice game. Nice music. :)

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Nice story, nice mood and nice graphics. But not really a game, I miss the challenge.

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Very well made. Simple and well made. Much enjoy games like these. Possibly, it would maybe increase the experience if there were variations on the ending-text depending on where the Z button was pressed. But it's probably not necessary.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Lovely little game, had to play it twice to see if I could try to accomplish my goal before I grew old, but sadly I couldn't.

A very bleak look on life.

VitasaMode says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:02pm

In terms of fun it wasn't very, however for everything else it was quite exceptional.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:01pm

well done! really interesting game with awesome graphic!

camlang says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:06am

Lovely art, music and an interesting ending... well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]