Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Organization

by Somnium - Compo Entry

Unseen by everyone, yet aiming to influence all, a group was formed, but eventually went dormant.

That group, known only as The Organization, now has a new leader.

Do you have what it takes, to bring new growth and prosperity to The Organization?

Or will you be exposed, and defeated, by the world that you seek to control?


The Organization is a (primarily) text-based game. It was made in Java 8, using LibGDX - Java is required, in order to run the game.


Comments are very welcome :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#498Innovation3.13
#625Theme3.55
#665Mood2.71
#830Overall2.78
#847Fun2.52
#854Graphics2.17

Comments

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Oh boy.. so much text. I got bored from reading the tutorial.

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

It was interesting, but some of the events were weirdly composed(like paying funds to lose funds or similar). Very slow and it almost went good when just approving all decisions without reading them.
Would like a slightly higher pace and two different decisions instead of "Do something" and "Do nothing"

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15pm

I really like the premise of this game, but it seemed to suffer a lack of content. After I got past a couple choices, I got all the same stuff and it wasn't very well themed. I'm also not sure that the win / lose conditions are tweaked well? Even just clicking 'do the risky operation' ad nauseum it took a few minutes to lose due to scrutiny. A sound track might sell the mood, but it's mostly the choices.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Excellent idea and presentation, though it's clear where the 48 hour time limit hurt you. More variety in missions, and more significance for the choices would be idea, but creating all that in 48 hours must have been impossible. Good showing none the less!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Interesting concept. Although, it feels a bit slow.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Good concept but after a few initial options to increase my stats all I was getting was the event on the left and the right just said ignore the opportunity.

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Liked it! Loved the introduction and the characters. Would love to have some more flavours in missions. All in all, good stuff!

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

Easy to play, but difficult to master.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36pm

It was too long. Shout out for using libgdx.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Wow! You really illustrated that even secret organizations have boring desk jobs! But seriously, the pace is slow and after a while of playing I felt like I'd gotten nowhere, with my organization's increased capabilities offered no tangible benefit. I think it also would have been more interesting with forced action instead of just passing until you see something good. The opening sequence was excellent, and I think an expanded version of this has potential.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Wheeeeew...you completed the game in 966 moves.
That took maybe a bit too long. But that just means the game was interesting enough!

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Resource and risk management sim. I especially liked the dry corpo-villainous tone of narration. What could use improvement, is a backstory behind the missions - like in the beginning, when selecting between Markham and Anderson leads to two different sets of missions, each with some more backstory, too bad later missions become very generic. Still, really liked the concept, and with more time after jam, I hope you're going to expand on this.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:48am

There were so many choices! A lot of content for a compo entry. Nice work. :)

Pantoufle says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:09pm

I finished the game. It was quite fun :-)
I would like to have some background music while playing, and some more details on events (after the 3rd one, they were all similar and I suppose randomly generated).
Great idea and great job overall!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Pro:
+ Cool concept
+ Beginning was great
Con:
- The mid-late game becomes boring, just basic risk management, with little choice, since you can just skip the decisions, and no story behind the operations
- There were meaningless operations like Cost -1 Fund, Expected outcome +1 Fund (50%)
- Capabilities upgrades doesn't seem to have any effect on operations
Obs:
o Finished in 852 moves

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]