Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cornzilla

by Saymon - Compo Entry

CONTROLS :
E move left
T move right
E THEN T shoot right
T THEN E shoot left

So here it is, my second entry for Ludum Dare.

this one went very wrong in many ways, but hey, i still managed to put something together altough the controls are catastrophic ...

so yeah also, the main charachter, the very same one that makes the title of this game, is merely a cube, i know, sorry ...

But there is cool sounds and music i made !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#237Audio3.18
#372Theme3.86
#397Humor2.54
#470Innovation3.17
#492Fun3.14
#607Mood2.79
#632Overall3.06
#711Graphics2.63

Comments

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

Very fun gameplay. The shoot controls sound terrible in theory, but are actually really fun to use - massive props. This fits the theme great. Also, this is probably the best music I've heard so far, so thanks!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

Good implementation of the theme, two controls.

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Nice music!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:59am

Nice gameplay...

It becomes impossible to hit a few enemies sometimes when they come really close to you.. :P

Overall nice game...and good music!

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

The idea around the controls was actually really cool! I loved mastering it. The game was a little easy though.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Hi, This game was nice idea but due to lack of graphics and the controls being confusing to get working especially when to enemies are close to you on each side didn't seem to be able to reach then and ended up button bashing lol

overall not bad i enjoyed playing it

Well Done!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Very fun game, good concept

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice game, well done!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Cool little game, really enjoyed the sense of scale and how you felt you were growing massive! Controls were a bit awkward for my liking

Emkiusz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:31pm

At the first I didn't understand the controls, but now everything is fine.

And the music is really cool.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37pm

It was fun but it would be better if it was more challanging.

rplnt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Couldn't wrap my head around the controls for a good while :) I actually like the cube, it fits in well.
I wonder what's the story behind the cabbages?

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:37pm

It was fun but it would be better if it was more challanging.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:46pm

A little unpolished with odd controls, but otherwise an interesting game.

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Cool game. Good music!

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Nice music and graphics, even though they are simple they look nice. The controls are fine, and sfeel natural after a minute once you get used to the timing.

Loved how the city gets smaller as I eat nuclear cabbages? But needs more challenges, and maybe an objective.

Overall good job on your entry, well done!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11pm

It's pretty funny, but very hard to actually shoot where you wanna shoot.

Still, after a good while I just stopped because I just kept healing anyway, is there an end to the game?

Also, everything is cube-ish, which in and of itself looks pretty neat, but then why are there cabbages? Haha

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Nice game. I like the funky shooting mechanism ! It adds some fun to your game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]