Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

spin-circle

by Modoc73 - Compo Entry

Spin and dodge. Spin around the circle avoiding oncoming projectiles. Collect points to increase your score.


[Controls in game]
Use mouse to select buttons.
Continue from help screen using "Esc" key (PC) or "Back" (Android).
Left/A, Right/D for movement.


Two Button Controls:
Well, left/a turns you anti-clockwise and right/d clockwise.

Growing:
Not only does the view grow, but you will too if you hold down your controls too long.


I went for a more simple approach, it wasn't going to be humorous, so that's why I took off that category.
I was fairly happy with the audio, however I do feel like it could be improved. (Spoiler - As you progress, more instruments/different instruments are added)


Leader-boards are not supported through HTMl or Windows.exe, however, when the Android release is out they should work.

Made in 48hrs by Modoc73 for Ludum Dare 34.

Appreciate the feedback. Thanks!

[Update]
For user friendliness:
Added a button that exits from help, and menu buttons now can use left/right keys to navigate. No changes to graphics, audio, gameplay.
Also hopefully fixed bug that game didn't run on some pc's.

====================
LEADER-BOARD
====================
1. 681 - @JamesMowery
2. 421 - @Evergreen Games
3. 299 - @Imagos Softworks
4. 295 - @Solifuge
5. 293 - @crucknuk
6. 285 - @KayZ
7. 260 - @sleepYxy
8. 167 - @SeriousCreeper
9. 138 - @MikeTsunami
10. 112 - @LittleThor
11. 102 - @Jace239
12. 93 - @Krafty
13. 80 - @inbetweengames
14. 35 - @Jupiter_Hadley
15. 10 - @KaiseanGames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Fun4.03
#31Overall4.09
#63Audio3.83
#72Mood3.81
#95Theme4.19
#112Graphics3.98
#223Innovation3.59

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

So fun, too hard for me though

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09am

Really fun actually. Great job!

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12am

Its very fun and polished! Great entry.

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14am

Really enjoying this one! Well balanced, intuitive, and very attractive!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

Thanks guys :)

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

Nice game!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

Fantastic game. It is addicting, the visuals are great, and it is challenging. Can't ask for much more.

mactinite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

Looks great, really polished. Really no problems at all!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53am

Great mobile game, would not play on PC. Asked me to post to my circles, betting it was oversight.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

Thanks @timeshapers I will check this out asap.

daleth90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Great gameplay and great graphic!
By the way, can not run the windows version on my Win7 x64

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Very well done, great game

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Simple relaxing fun. I love it!

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I found the difficulty on this just right. It was full of good design choices and plays really well. Congrats!

JaJ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Great sound design and very visually appealing too. It's a pretty basic game but polished really well and very fun.

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Very fun. Very crisp. Next LD I will be striving for this level of quality.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Great work! The choice of colors and minimalistic look gives a nice feeling and, together with the soundtack, it creates a really nice, relaxing mood. Loved the layering of sounds with the progress too!

The controls are really well written and it feels really good to play. The growing view adds a really nice touch to the game too! So great use of the theme! :)

ruerob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

Great work on this one! I like it a lot. Nice soft music and visuals.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:49am

Great concept and execution... I liked the cleanness of the graphics, with the almost subtle sounds...

Jace239 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55am

Nice take on both the two button controls and growing themes. The graphics, while simple, look nice and polished, and the style is consistent. I like the introduction of more instruments as you progress, and the music's good too.

As for the gameplay, it's fun and engaging. I enjoyed the challenge of trying to minimize my movement so I could stay small and dodging at the last second.

If there's one thing that bothered me about this game it was the menu at the start. You mention nothing about using the mouse in this entry or in the game, so I was stumped for a while trying to figure out how to progress. It didn't take long for me to try clicking, but it would've been nice if that were more obvious or the main controls were used somehow.

Nonetheless, great concept, great game, great job!

dmecke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06am

Feels very polished, very well done!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42am

Thanks for feedback everybody :)
I'm am considering creating a HD version for Android too.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04am

This is perfect! Awesome art, creative idea, nice music and sound effects and matches the theme perfectly. Very challenging too (highest i got was 167), but lots of fun and very addictive.

Wish you could restart the game by pressing A/D or something as well so i dont have to use the mouse at all, but other than that it's great!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42am

Very simple but fun. NICE!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

112! Yay!
I LOVE it! It's exactly the kind of game I'd be happy to make. It's beautiful, the music is great, the SFX are super cool, and the gameplay is really neat and addictive. I mean: "Superhexagon addictive level"
Great work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Simple, fun, well made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/p3nh2TkdCXs

okusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Really great game and nice idea!! Simple but deep!! :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10pm

A rather simple yet challenging game. Definitely suited for mobile.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:26am

Fun game! Got a high score of 138! =)

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:44am

Wow! 260 after 3 tries. I like the smooth and minimalistic style. The balance feels just right and the controls are super easy to adapt. Great game :)

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:17am

Extremely professional art style. The sounds are also really reactive.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12am

Very fun and innovative, though the difficulty ramps up veeery quickly. Love the minimalistic look and found myself retrying multiple times, good job!

REIN1 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:50am

Very fun ! Great game !

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Hey this is perfect! Looks beautiful, controls are really responsive, difficulty is absolutely spot on. Exactly what I was looking for :)

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Really polished little game! It feels quite finished, simple and full of details and tight feedbacks.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Very meditative! You get the most points if you stay still 80% of the time and let the points come to you. I love it!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Nice concept, hard and relaxing at the same time.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25pm

This's high quality entry :)
Also, minimalistic art is on point.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:33pm

liked the simple style of the graphics

rnlf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Many cool android games this is the besg i've seen so far.

Fluid gameplay and great polish!

The audio was a bit distorted sometimes, but I guess that was just my phone.

Simple and addictive, playable in a few momemts, just like mobile game should be.

I'll keep it on my phone after the compo.

Good job!

The mandatory G+ connection was a bit annoying though...

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:05am

Great work dude! Really simplistic and challenging, nice effects and graphics and gives good game-feels!

Was going good until a red 'thing' appeared outta nowhere, right into me xD

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:49am

Really cool game. Really fun. I will download it on my phone

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:24pm

nice, very clean and minimal, the game mechanics are cleverly made and solid, sound fits perfectly, very professionally made, well done :)

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Great style, works really well and reminds me a bit of super hexagon

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:07am

Very simple yet addictive entry. Love this minimalistic graphics and nice audio. A lot of good feedback (i.e. appearing of new circles or getting multipliers).
Hi-Score: 80. :)
Thanks!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:05am

Fun game. Kept me coming to get a high score. Ended up at 299 points. This game looks like it would be right at home on a mobile platform!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Really expertly done. Simple game but addictive and satisfying. True to the two button theme. Great job.

KayZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:55pm

A very fun and fast paced game. Got my heart pumping when I finally went beyond a score of 200. Ended up at 285. Quite polished.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:49am

I included your game in my Let's Play Ludum Dare series as thanks for commenting on my game!

You can check out the details here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/19/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-01-is-now-uploaded/

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:58am

Wow so addicting!!! Really fun and polished. Nice clean graphics. Definitely take this to mobile. Only issue is staying in place will get you a ton of points. Great game though. My high score is 421.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:58am

High score: 681! I love it. Super addicting, super fun to get into, and definitely has you on the edge of your seat the whole time!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Fun stuff, simple but deceptively challenging. Controls feel nice, with just the right amount of physics in the movement. Beautiful presentation as well!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:17am

This game is amazing! So much fun, very addictive and great concept.

Wevel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:26am

Very nice and polished, love the controls

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Very nice! Game play is great, and the graphics fit the game perfectly. Enjoyed playing!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Man, this is one of those games that just digs at you to do better the next time. Simple enough that its frustrating when you cant to better. Well done.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Very nice concept and amazingly clean execution! The game plays very nicely and feels very rewarding. I love all the graphical effects that translate what's happening in the game. Absolutely amazing entry, well done!!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Fun, innovative, addicting and awesome game. Just perfect!
Release an iOS version too!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:21pm

I wrote this before in many two buttons entries, but I have to write it again here...PEOPLE WILL LOVE THIS if you place it on the mobiles stores. Awesome work fellow dev.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Felt like the audio is what glued me strangely enough. Very solid entry! Had to weigh risk/reward alot, and I feel like any game that makes me think in that light is a cut above the rest

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:14pm

You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRXegYh1MPw

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Simple and challenging avoiding/collect game. Hard, fun, well designed, good job !

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:45am

Wow - this is incredibly well-polished. Fun concept, simple-but-challenging gameplay, slick animation, great sound. Amazing work.

Krafty says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:41pm

This was fun and pretty difficult! I only managed to get 93 >__< I like the visuals, and the sounds are pretty cool too. Great job! :)

Tapehead says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:58am

cool idea!!!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:46am

Love it ya it looks similar to mine but nice concept u got going here i love the simplistic art and fun gameplay :) Kudos m8

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:19pm

681? I gave up on 10.
Too hard for me, but it's really nice.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Just hit 295, around the time I finally understood that the blue pickups clear the board: http://i.imgur.com/Dspzf7C.png

Great minimalist design, nice use of a growing number of instruments and more music as a reward for progress, and a pretty fun arcade-style game overall. The growing-by-moving mechanic felt a little like an afterthought, and didn't make much difference; it'd be interesting to see see movement controlling or influencing the size of the circular path instead, though it was fine as is too.

I very much enjoyed playing this. Thanks for putting it together!

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:40pm

The audio is cool and the graphics are beautiful. The game feels polished and is nice to play. The only drawback is that the gameplay is not very original. But good job anyway !

crucknuk says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Nice entry I really like the concept, the game was very addictive! I made 292 ;) Great job ;)

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:33pm

The game is very simple and fun. I didn't like how slippery the controls seemed, but otherwise no complaints! The sounds fit the game very well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]