Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

subatomic borrower

by pyokoanarogue - Jam Entry

Scale bending Platformer Adventure
post jam version fixes.

better jump

new character animation

android version

webGl version on the ludumdare page loads with a white screen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#243Humor(Jam)3.19
#642Mood(Jam)3.06
#663Graphics(Jam)3.16
#764Theme(Jam)3.36
#829Overall(Jam)2.97
#994Fun(Jam)2.41

Comments

Kyace says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

I enjoy your art style and humor, but there's a few control issues that stuck out. Your jump is very binary: All jumps are to full height instead of jumping less if you tap the jump button vs holding the jump button. As well, the sideways component of the jump was added once but couldn't be dampened afterwards. So you could jump up, jump up and add a sideways direction or jump sideways, but you couldn't slow down a sideways jump once you've committed. Taken together, this makes many of the jumps very tricky if you don't start in exactly the right place.

There were also a few places where I got stuck in the walls during a jump (notably in the Giant Woman stage and near the proton).

I enjoyed the Steven Universe reference and the art is nice and works well together. I enjoyed seeing the same object from two different scales.

davekalina says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I like the aesthetic and vibe. Jumping puzzles are a bit thorny due to iffy mechanics (air control would make a big difference) and platforms being non-obvious when climbing the giant lady.

OwT says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:21pm

First attempt: I got stuck between a wall and a npc. Nice!
Second attempt: I got stuck somewhere else.
Then the jumping drove me crazy.
Overall: the humor stands out. Controls could be more controllable.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Hard to play, how does the theme fit in?

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:30pm

The jumping felt a bit floaty. I struggled with the fading platforms. Really liked the concept, art style and writing. Climbing up the girl sprite was a cool idea but could have used more visual cues rather than the hints.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

That's one hot big woman ;) Well done, the controls were a little stiff

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40am

The one thing that I didn't enjoy about this entry is the platforming mechanics.. It's just really glitchy. The first run of the game I jumped to the right and got stuck in a wall :| everything else seems cool though nice job

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:42am

By the law of Ludum Dare participant, I must rate your game :). The humour was right on spot, and the art style looks great. The jumping was a bit difficult, though, but overall a very solid entry. Congratulations.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

I like the art style, and what I played seemed like the start of a cool adventure. Not being able to change directions in the air once you've started moving in one direction make the platforming excessively difficult, especially given the precision platforming required for some sections. Making the small change to allow in-air control would instantly make a huge difference.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:50am

Very nice, but the controls were a bit annoying. I also got stuck in a wall a couple times. Other than that, I really liked it! Good job!

niccholaspage says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:09am

It's a clever concept, the controls drove me up the wall but it added a bit of difficulty so I guess I shouldn't complain. Well done!

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Interesting concept, that much's there. Besides that though the game itself doesn't do much... Follow a bunch of prompts and proceed. The platforming controls are competent but feels flat, unalive.

The fact that the game needed to tell me "hint" shows a lack of design... You really should guide the players in other ways. Distinguishing between what's supposed to be a platform to stand on vs not was impossible there were those faint blue lines in the end, but that's again, taking an immersion-breaking shortcut.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Could do with some sound and the controls definitely need tweaking (the jumping is too powerful to handle properly) but I like the concept plus I loved how you've interpreted the Growing theme.

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:47pm

I found the jump to be a bit weird, but good game overall. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]