Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

AboveBelow

by PaulJs - Compo Entry

I didn't have the time to create a full-game this time but i wanted to participate. So I made a game in 3 hours.

Controls : Mouse position

Achievements :
60s - Pro Player
90s - John Cena
120s - Putin

Thanks for playing and rating ! Have fun !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#195Innovation3.65
#617Fun2.97
#650Theme3.53
#709Overall2.97
#764Mood2.50
#844Graphics2.23

Comments

flakoflak says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:33am

Fun game and idea.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:29am

could make an shmup more elaborated based on this rotate-and-avoid concept. Good concept!

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:44am

fun game, unique concept. Could work well on mobile!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:53am

Cool concept!

crabcrabcam says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Very good game. I managed to get putin level on my second go!

PaulJs says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:11pm

It seem for me impossible x) My personnal record is 70s ! If it's true, well played !

Thanks all for comments ! I think i'm gonna make an more elaborate version for android after the Ludum Dare.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:58pm

hard game, less fun :(

need more gamefication for this

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Interesting.

farnsworth2 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Very well done for a 3 hour entry. Demonstrates how a simple concept can be well implemented and fun!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Pretty interesting idea, although actually controlling the balls proves to be rather difficult.

_stice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Now there's a control scheme i've never seen before!

Arowx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Amazing work for 3 hrs well done.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Oooh, you're supposed to avoid them.

Fun game thingie. Well done for 3 hours. Would have rather have actual buttons instead of this mouse-touchpad-thing-ish, but that'll do.
Extra points for using both themes.

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

At first I though I had to pick up the balls and grow haha, it's a neat game though :)

Melusine says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:05pm

An interesting game good job

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21pm

It is a lot of fun, especially for a 3-hour game :)
Maybe a bit too difficult, and it would be nice if you could control the rotationspeed (mouse in top of the screen is fastest, mouse just above the middle is slowest)

hexagore says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02am

Hey thanks for linking this. Really original idea. Not bad for 3 hours too! :)

RadStar says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:03pm

wow! I didn't expect a game like that. The concept of the game is pretty cool!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Funny, but hard. A original idea - well done ++

pokipsy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Great entry for 3 hours of work ! A bit too hard for me, I think I'd prefer to control rotation with two buttons rather than to control it with mouse position.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Nice idea. The graphics are clean and sharp. After about 5 or so points all you really have to do is let the circles spin and they collect all the points. Over all not a bad entry at ALL for only 3 hours. =)

elizeu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Cool

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Really fun idea. Good amount of challenging. wish button control was an option as well. Graphics are simple, but really work for the game style.

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

May the first game I've seen that growing is actually a negative thing. :P Great concept, it's really difficult to control though.

3/5

JoseArias says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Nice idea!

shar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Well... this peculiar idea looks like it has maden by a professional. Awesome!

Zyow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Nice game for a 3 hours entry! Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]