Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Soylent Greenhouse

by sararyCow - Jam Entry

Harvest as many human-plants as you can in this fast-paced puzzle game.

Find harmony between human plants and make them evolve! Balance is the key to success.

Controls:
- Press SPACE on the title screen to start.
- asdf / arrow keys to move
- T to harvest a human-plant (when is evolved)
- bring evolved human-plants to the delivery point of bottom right of the screen.

This is a weak prototype of a more ambitious game, don't steal the idea! (:D)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#469Humor(Jam)2.72
#508Innovation(Jam)3.15
#578Audio(Jam)2.85
#639Graphics(Jam)3.20
#819Mood(Jam)2.75
#854Fun(Jam)2.71
#904Theme(Jam)3.08
#910Overall(Jam)2.84

Comments

jomomomo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I get to the menu, but can't get the game to start?

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Didn't quite get it on my first try, but the second time I got the hang of it and managed to grow a bunch of people. Pretty interesting take of the farming game!

Eldraev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

I got the same problem as jomomomo(can`t get past start screen)

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:54am

It was pretty interesting, but a little bit confusing =O I like the idea of growing those weird looking people and I liked the graphics and the music, but I think it was a little bit too cluttered and too vague; what do the symbols mean? There was a little poop symbol and water and sun but I wasn't sure if there was a way to make them grow better. I ended up getting 3 people but I wasn't sure why the others didn't grow. I hope that you continue to work on this game and make it better, the concept is really interesting!

sararyCow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:39am

For those having problems with game start: hit SPACE on the title screen to start.

The "press space to play" on the title screen was one of the details we forgot to implement because of lack of time. There are a lot more of it affecting gameplay. This game is just an early prototype of what this game may become, and things are a bit messy.

Anyway, thanks for playing and rating it! :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

+1 for the title :D Nice Artwork and funny idea... confusing gameplay. But Overall a good job. !

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08pm

I liked the way the ready to harvest plant people looked.

Taldius says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Nice idea but thhe gameplay isn't really smooth and, in my opinion, there's too much informations on the screen.
But everything else is fine, good job.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:10pm

I had a hard time getting anything to grow, couldn't quite figure it out. Even though, the graphics and audio were quite nice and I was able to plant some, helper plants, would you call them? Well done on your entry.

denycetm says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Had a hard time with this one. Coulndt get people to grow.

tazdij says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:02pm

was unable to get game to start

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:11pm

nice game

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:33am

Game stuck in the menu! (first screen), try to fix it! :D

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:22am

Really didn't get it. :/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]