Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rollin Lemmin

by PixelStuff - Jam Entry

In Rollin' Lemmin' you're Mr.Fox next morning breakfast, try to escape the fox's fangs by rolling along the mountain slopes to find safety at your family's homeplace.

--- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CONTROLS

Spacebar - Jump
Shift - Get rid of snow
Esc - Back to main menu

--- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tips: Gain speed by getting rid of accumulated snow or slow your pace by catching some while rollin'.

Known bugs:
- Parallax issues sometimes -> relaunch the game to solve it
- WebGl didn’t work with Chrome :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#166Graphics(Jam)4.10
#339Humor(Jam)2.95
#508Theme(Jam)3.68
#659Fun(Jam)2.98
#730Mood(Jam)2.95
#808Innovation(Jam)2.68
#857Overall(Jam)2.93

Comments

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:49am

the art is excellent, and the "story" too! too bad that the game is buggy (mainly collision problems and level ending detection).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36am

Nice art! Collision detection is a bit wonky as said before, but I understand that these kinds of collisions are not that easy to make. Pretty cool!

filthsu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36am

Buggy physics, but looking good. Fix & push this to mobiles with endless mode! :D

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37am

Really cute game! Loved the graphics. Unfortunately, I kept falling through the world so I couldn't get very far.

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38am

Nice game! A bit of music would be nice, and it was easy to get stuck on rocks.

guoboism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:53am

Graphics is good. But the game feels buggy:
It ends too quickly,
space bar for jump
yet what does MAJ mean´╝č

Transmit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53pm

I had fun playing it, but I would avoid using shift in your controls. I kept getting sticky key pop ups!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Amazing game. Very cute graphics. I rated this very highly.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Awsome graphics! And fun mechanics! But game have some bugs and spoils gaming experience.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I really love the visual style here, and the overall environment you were able to create. With a little polish, like was mentioned in other comments, I can see this being a successful mobile game. Best of luck!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10pm

The idea is cool, and the graphics are great! Colliders are a little bit buggy but this is a nice entry!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

If you fix the collision glitches, this game has very good potential! Nice graphics. Would benefit from audio ;)

Japes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Great graphics, pity about the lack of sound, and it's really too buggy to play at the moment. If the physics issues are sorted out I'm sure it would be a fun game.

PixelStuff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Thx for your feedbacks! We are working on the issues and will try to provide to you a stable version as soon as possible

sikosis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Couldn't get it to run on Mac Safari, Chrome or Firefox. Pity, the graphics look nice.

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

I'm unable to get past the initial segment, but I think that's because I'm misunderstanding game mechanics. It's still well done, and has some potential.

RevelBase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:33pm

very cute and slick vecto :) works fine on windows but i couldn't get it to run on either firefox or chrome

BoltKey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Can't play on Webgl, Chrome, Windows server 2012. Log:
UnityLoader.js:1 GET http://www.pixelstuff.fr/ld34/wegl/Release/wegl.js 404 (Not Found)LoadCompressedFile @ UnityLoader.js:1LoadCompressedJS @ UnityLoader.js:1(anonymous function) @ UnityLoader.js:1
UnityLoader.js:1 Invoking error handler due to
Uncaught unknown compression method
UnityLoader.js:1 Uncaught unknown compression methodo @ UnityLoader.js:1DecompressAndLoadFile.o.onload @ UnityLoader.js:1
UnityLoader.js:1 Invoking error handler due to
Uncaught incorrect header check
UnityLoader.js:1 Uncaught incorrect header checko @ UnityLoader.js:1DecompressAndLoadFile.o.onload @ UnityLoader.js:1
UnityLoader.js:1 Invoking error handler due to
Uncaught incorrect header check
UnityLoader.js:1 Uncaught incorrect header checko @ UnityLoader.js:1DecompressAndLoadFile.o.onload @ UnityLoader.js:1.

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Love the look of the graphics, but couldn't get past the first mountain, that fox is just too fast!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42pm

The game looks fun, but I always get eaten by an invisible fox.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Nice one :)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:51pm

I like the art and the idea but it´s surprising difficult.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:26am

Great game, great idea, but buggy physics.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:49am

Aww man couldnt play. I got a Javascript error in Chrome and FF :( Sorry I tried.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:06am

Web version didnt work (JS error) but the windows one did! Really stunning work on the graphics. Didn't get very far. You could have made it a bit easier :P Brilliant idea for collecting the snow and funny idea to make it a lemming. Would work well as a phone game. Reminded me of Olli Olli. Amazing work for the compo well done!

blubberquark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:05pm

WebGL did not work in Firefox (unknown compression method?)
-bob

FiSilva says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Awesome cute art, quite fun, but buggy

Dege says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:27pm

+++ Graphics.
+ Nice use of theme.
- WebGL build doesn't run on Firefox and Chrome, I ended up downloading the Windows build.
- You can remove the *.pdb from the zip to make it quicker to download, they are not necessary.
- Can't get past the first hill O.o.
-- You could add the fox in-game, not only on the top bar.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]