Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Models!

by Obvious Industries - Jam Entry

In Models! you are the next super-model to-be.

Just take one step after the other and follow these rules:

1. Don´t take the same foot twice in a row.
2. Don´t fall over the edge of the stage.
3. If you stop walking, you´ll turn around as you learned it in model school.
4. Only go back to the wardrobe after you were at the front.
5. ONLY GO BACK TO THE WARDROBE WHEN YOU HAVE ENOUGH POINTS.

And now smile and be beautiful!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#104Humor(Jam)3.68
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#421Fun(Jam)3.26
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#580Audio(Jam)2.83
#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00

Comments

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Cool game. Once I got by turns down I was Super-Perfect! Vomiting horse is nice too.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Cool Idea, on some resoulution you don't see the complete screen.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02pm

@Berserker_Chris: I guess this is fixed now
@SecularBaron: Thanks, this is the best character anyway ;)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Nice concept!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

This was great - really using the two-button controls to do something unique. I liked all the little humour bits as well. It's a bit tough to know how to win at first, but I think just playing it and letting what happens happen is the best way.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Love that slightly over the top humor. Well done!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Hilarious ! thanks for the laugh and congrats for the cool game !

Gipzo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Great entry! I really enjoyed the game.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51am

Haha this is just nuts, absurd humor really adds a ton to the game. The walking mechanic caused me to fail a lot at the start (thankfully everything was hilarious so I kept at it), but once I got the hang of it I was twirling around and making unicorn rainbow puke.

abuzreq says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45pm

I liked it , it's very funny :)
there is a noticeable difference in the art styles of the audience ,the judges, the environment and the model.

the blood was a bit dramatic though

Si1ver says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I don't adgee that LD themes are the worst... Imho LD themes are fine. Not the best and nt the worst.

GGJ themes are the worst. In 2014 theme for Global Game Jam was "We don't see things as they are, we see them as we are". In 2010 - "The rain in Spain falls mainly on the plain".

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:42am

This was really fun :D
A little more explanation about the scoring zone would have been nice ;)
The levels could be a bit harder, since running perfectly make them beatable in a "single run". If this is a joke about the challenge of the model "job", please ignore that comment :'D
Nice work :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Great game concept. The game mechanic of one button per leg and how you solved to spin of the character is good. You should improve the GUI (it's difficult to control the step, were is the character and how much money did you get).

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:50am

still not sure what i played - but it was fun - interesting idea and well execute - good job

Miko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Really hard to read the text on resolutions lower than 800x600, so I had to try a few different sizes before I could actually play. Neat concept though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]