Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Totally Normal Train

by jigalx - Compo Entry

This is garbage. Please don't play it. I didn't want to submit it but my girlfriend told me to do it. She said it was fun. She's crazy.

It's a two button game with a bit of growth in it. Control a train/truck thing (ok it's actually a sphere) with the D and Space buttons travelling in only one direction. Buy and sell goods along your journey as you try to survive as long as possible by buying more fuel. FEATURING PROCEDURAL GENERATION! Wow. The businesses (ok, they're actually cubes) and power ups are at different location every single time, allowing INFINITE REPLAYABILITY! This game is your life now.

I didn't have time for any audio, graphics (all placeholder graphics as you can see) or even any play testing. It probably doesn't even work for all I know.

Don't forget to have fun while playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#165Humor3.17
#252Innovation3.54
#424Fun3.23
#524Mood2.90
#618Overall3.08
#664Theme3.50

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

I played it, you couldn't stop me, nice idea, you should make this into a game.

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Aww thanks dude! Maybe I'll polish it up one day.

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Hey, nice work! I really like the idea of a resource-management "runner". I was cruising along, taking on cargo...then "aagh where's a gas station! not oil, gas!" ... and then I ran out. 115km. Or miles :D

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Neat style game, liked it.

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Glorious idea mate, listen to the girl, keep the girl.

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Aaww thanks everyone! Didn't think anyone would like it.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Pro:
+ Neat concept
+ A lot of planning ahead
Con:
- Sometimes the gas station would too far, and sometimes had 3 in a row, but hey, it's procedural generation, didn't except that it would be like totally balanced

Didn't forget to have fun! But this game isn't my life now... ;)

eddynardo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35am

nice one, with a bit of graphics and a good soundtrack this would be really great

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Actually a great idea, it's sad you missed time ...
Keep it up, you'll do better next time !

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:37am

Funky.

dodormeur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:42am

Nice idea, too bad the game wasn't polished enough. With a bit more work it could be a nice game :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:37pm

1202.8 Km. nice gmae! it's pretty chalenging to monitor everything at once, but i like that!at first glance, it isn't, but it truely is quite a strategy game.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:29pm

nice

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Mediocre. Maybe the graphics should be better?

Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:26am

Thanks for the warning, but I only listen to my own advice, and even then, only when I'm drunk. So I played anyway.

This does have potential as an idea for some kind of game.

Regarding whether or not you should submit things, even if its not done you should or your time is wasted - even one person's feedback could be of value.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:00pm

You told me to don't play this game. Chrome told me to don't play this game. I've played this game. And.. it's nice ^^ Simple concept, but effective. Quite hard, but it's addictive. Well done ^^

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Nice game, graphics really bad but nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]