Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bouncing Knight

by Multiplexor - Compo Entry

The Princess has been kidnapped by the evil Rigor Mortis. It's up to you, Sir Bouncealot to rescue her and bring justice to this world!

Bouncing Knight is a roguelikeish platformer kind of game where the main character is bouncing all the time. You can control him by using the left and the right arrow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#28Fun4.00
#49Innovation4.00
#68Overall3.92
#107Mood3.67
#109Theme4.17
#111Humor3.42
#115Audio3.58
#198Graphics3.69

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08am

I like it! Great approach to 2-button platformer, moves/bounces are predictable so it is easy to control the character.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:19pm

I loved this! Very creative take on, also the art and sound assets are fantastic.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Awesome game, great graphics, nice music, cool mechanic! I love it!

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Awesome game. The game is really fun, deserves more comments and votes!

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Fun game! The graphics were appealing and the mechanic was fun to use.

@SamPotasz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

I had fun flying around this game! Really enjoyed the character sprites.

mat1er says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

The only default that the game is extremely hard

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

A solid platformer! The bouncing mechanics is an interesting twist and turns out not too hard to control! Very enjoyable game, great variety of puzzles!

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

Wow this game is pretty awesome, I was having a lot of fun playing, but every time I die I have to restart all the way from the beginning! :(

Good implementation of a fun mechanic, with nice enemy design and art style. If I could have seen new content by restarting from the level instead of going all the way back to the story I would definitely have played a lot more.

It's nice work though, and I understanding wanting people to face the challenge of beating the whole thing in one go.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:06am

hahaha this was great! I loved the control and uniqueness of this entry. the fighting mechanics were also very well done!

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Fun game with great depth! Awesome!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Really cool little game! The controls are suprisingly smooth and easy to use, the soundtrack is simple but effective and the gameplay mechanics are really nice overall - I like the ability to disarm your enemies before destroying them :P Keep up the good work!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:01am

Nice game and very creative ! The diversity in the ennemies and in the different part of the castle makes it that we want to play again to discover new things !

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Really cool idea and fun!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:37pm

This is great! A simple but well implemented mechanic, a nice little world to explore and complete and having upgrades was a nice extra.

Very cute and well put together, good job!

(I feel like my time playing VVVVVV helped prepare me for this quest. :D)

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Fun game, though it seems confusing as to where I need to go

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:48am

A little buggy with me (sometimes sticks on ceil or floor), but I have seen enough to like it well. :)

AndreasL says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:21am

Pretty good! Interesting mechanic. Maybe i was just greedy for the treasure but I felt that it got tough quite quickly. There are many rooms to explore which was nice, seems like a lot of thought went into the level design.

rzuf says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:27am

I was bouncing so hard that I bounced off the screen on the second level. But the next time around I finished the game with no problems and it was tons of fun. Reminds me of exploration platformers for old computers (Dizzy, Miecze Valdgira or kinda recently released l'Abbaye des Morts).
Super-fun mechanic and clever level design! The only complaint I have is that the final boss is a joke with the flaming sword. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]