Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MutiVeg Labs

by EwChap - Compo Entry

Welcome to MutiVeg Labs. Your job here is simple. We need you to combine our basic veggies with some sentient samples, to grow the Veggies Of Tomorrow! Each round you will be shown a target MutiVeg to create. Pick the ingredients you believe will make that MutiVeg. When you have selected the amount of options needed for that MutiVeg the magic will begin.

Controls:
Right Arrow: Move Right, or progress when prompted
Left Arrow: Move Left, or progress when prompted
Right & Left Arrow Together: Select Item to Combine

** Audio is a bit quiet, please turn up volume if you can!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#65Humor3.70
#548Innovation3.05
#599Theme3.58
#633Fun2.95
#662Audio2.00
#672Graphics2.74
#728Overall2.95
#740Mood2.55

Comments

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41am

Love the treatment of the double theme and the fun artwork, great job! Favorite one was hot mess but they all cracked me up.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

More recipes ! Quite funny, well done !

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:24pm

hahha ... that was funny ...

The graphics were a little small for me. Maybe allow me to make whatever and give me an innovative name

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Compulsive to figure out all the pictures/recipes.

AwfulMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Neat idea! Funny little game, good job.

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51pm

That was funny! good job, voice acting was a huge plus :D

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Neat little game. Made a lot of hot messes.

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Original idea. Lot of potential in trying to find all possible combitions.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:13am

That was terrifying. Also it was fun ahaha :)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:38am

Fun little game. I couldn't hear any sound on the WebGL version though.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:26pm

neat idea, and good use of controls, no sound though?

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Very fun and solid game. My 6 year old loved it as well! :)

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:34pm

chicolli and bullmato please :D super funny.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Really funny. I wanted more combinations! On the downside, audio seemed mono (right side only) and too low.

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:15am

funny little game, could be a nice toy too if you worked on many different results.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Cool game! It's hard to get all the combinations right and the combinations are really funny!
The audio was to low for me to hear! :(

Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Interesting foods! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/iU4q-3Z4nkI

ac7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:07am

Good game mechanic and reasonably challenging, given the short time the target MutiVeg is shown. A little difficult to play since the keys have to be pressed over and over instead of being held down, and the simultaneous button press is really just bending the rules. Not bad.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:22am

Super cute idea. Fun guessing what the ingredients were when they weren't obvious.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]