Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Handshake Sim

by fixedgerald - Jam Entry

Handshake Sim is a game where you take on the role of a businessman and must shake the hands of world. Made in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 34 with the theme "Growing".

Features:

-Handshaking

-Business

-Real Music

Programming and graphics by Spencer Larkin

Music by Devin Wall (https://soundcloud.com/devinwall)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#19Humor(Jam)4.21
#114Innovation(Jam)3.76
#174Overall(Jam)3.72
#193Mood(Jam)3.65
#207Fun(Jam)3.56
#310Audio(Jam)3.39
#703Graphics(Jam)3.08
#830Theme(Jam)3.25

Comments

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

Loved the variation of the different characters :)

Bamboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

Hand shake game? Interesting. Controls feel a bit sluggish and I didn't realize I had to move forward after the tutorial because the projectiles were moving toward me.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

Wow. Really clever game! I enjoyed it.

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52am

hahaha! love it! made me think about my neighbor who have a "too soft" hand shake. I'll give him your game!

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:57am

This was surprisingly fun for such a simple game! My only complaint was that some levels were a bit easy. Perhaps some auto scrolling would have made it a bit harder?

Graphics were simple but got the job done. Audio was excellent!

Use of the theme(s) didn't really seem to be there, but I did like the tongue-in-cheek business commentary.

Well done!

mr. a says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Cheers on the humor!

A few impressions:

That first (extending) moment as your reach further and further across the table is great.

Took me a minute to realize that only your hand is vulnerable, but the formation of the levels made that clear pretty quickly.

Mr. Business is a very abrupt difficulty spike, felt a tad cruel. Eventually did shake his hand, though.

vetch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Loved the "Hi!" from the other guy when contacting wrong hand ^^

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:05am

Great theme, (Spoiler Alert) the firmness meter made me laugh

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:08am

Ha! That was a lot of fun. I liked the variety of different obstacles while going in for contact.

brandloose says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10am

Pretty good. Felt like it needed a bit more though, kinda felt a bit plain at times, and also maybe a safe zone at the ending, cause I would get to the hand and as I go to touch it a drop or such would fall right through it. Good game though :D

dlowe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:41am

Bwaaaaaa ha ha ha :D

Almost the perfect handshake simulator. My only advice would be to add a few frames of invincibility after getting hit; I found it annoying to be killed from 2 health by a well-timed pair of obstacles.

Thanks for the game!

walaber says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:03am

silly, fun, awesome. i like the variety between each character, and the ridiculous premise is just enjoyable.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:34am

LOLed as soon as I read the title.

Thought it was a innovative game.

Music matched the style.

Game overall was really good.

This game really shows how the business world really works... :P

richardboegli says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:36am

Oh forgot to add, option to use WASD would have been really good addition.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:33pm

This is awsome!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]