Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stomp Time

by NecroMac - Jam Entry

Hello, NecroMac here, a fledgling game developer from Poland.

With my very first time at the Ludum Dare I wish to present You "Stomp Time"!

Based on both topics, 'Growing' and 'Two button controls' I decided to create a game about monster rampaging through the city.
Monster can grow bigger to resist smaller traps, or become small to avoid big threats. The bigger you are the more buildings you can destroy to earn more points!

Controls are just 2 buttons:
Up Arrow (alternatively 'W') to Grow,
and
Down Arrow (alternatively 'S') to become Small.

Credits:

Design, Programming and stuff:
Maciek 'NecroMac' Golec (necromac.3@gmail.com or @Servanitos on Twitter)

Music
by Snabisch at http://opengameart.org/users/snabisch

Sound FXs were done with help of Damian Czajka.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.84
#36Fun(Jam)4.04
#37Overall(Jam)4.08
#114Innovation(Jam)3.76
#129Humor(Jam)3.58
#146Mood(Jam)3.76
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Team Buttface says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36am

Nice combination of the themes! Wish there was a bit more of a challenge to the game though.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37am

13,810 pts and 1,476 distance! Really satisfying stomping through the city!

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

Super fun game. Works great I managed to get to distance 1906. Great take on the themes

Suui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

Nice, it had a nice feeling when destroying stuff :P

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09am

Very immersive game, good job!

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I don't understand why it's addictive... 11/10 - IGN

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Looking pretty good for first five minutes and then boring because player don't progress in the game except rising speed.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:14am

Fun game! Great job!

doos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:20am

Loved it! :)

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I see that we came up with a similar idea :D
And I have to say that your version is much better.
My compliments to creators.

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Hej NecroMac teraz się zoriętowałem że jesteśmy rodakami.
Jeszcze raz chylę czoła za wykonanie:)

patman123 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:06am

Great job liked the game a lot, it was a game I would play over and over again

gallerdude says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Loved the music, and fun gameplay.

Milo says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:11pm

This was a really well polished game. Despite being quite simple it really drew me in - my heart's going a little faster after my last long run.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]