Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Terror Plant from outer Space

by Tetha - Compo Entry

Ok, this is a turn based strategy game based on a 10x10 tile grid. You are an evil alien plant. Your goal is to grow as big as possible, and to eat as many humans as possible. Instructions are included, as are two difficulty levels. Prepare to meet a challenge if you start on hard mode. :)

Engine: Phaser.io & Typescript (https://github.com/geowarin/generator-phaser-gulp-typescript)
Graphics: GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#141Fun3.66
#180Overall3.66
#223Innovation3.59
#541Theme3.66
#565Mood2.85
#598Humor2.09
#617Graphics2.86

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Hi Gang.

Thanks to Tetha for the shout out!

Tetha said it was okay for me to give y'all a couple of VERY basic tips just to get a handle on what's going on. But you'll need a bit of cleverness to beat hard level!

- The soldiers can sometimes move diagonally to auto-attack in horizontal or vertical directions, and it's the same move, not "attack next move".

- Except for strategic gameplay, "nothing happens" until a soldier gets to your source saproling. About mid game, when you get time, station a ManEater kinda near your saproling just to help prevent last minute disasters and buy you some time to think.

- You have to maintain invaders at *all the towns* to win, so if they break free you're not done yet.

-- Strategy tip. You don't have to spend all your points every round, so bank some points Because it's all about the ManEaters.

Good luck!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53am

I started on hard mode! It took a few tries, but I finally won. :D

One note, the description says that the Man-Eater destroys soldiers next to itself, but it only seems to destroy ONE soldier if you place it next to two.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03am

Neat idea. Hard to get going at first. Wasn't sure how protect my source. Liked the game. Fun to play.

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12am

This is a pretty novel concept. I don't know if there is another game out there that I haven't come across like it but it's pretty cool. It could probably be fleshed out more into a full fledged mobile game or even a conventional board game. Nice job!

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13am

A nice, challenging game. I like that it's turn based, giving you time to think about your next move. Fits the theme well. Good job!

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18am

Pretty unique and really fun to play.
Going for hard first wasn't the best idea, mistakes were made x)

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18am

cool concept, at first quite hard to get into, first "card game" i played on LD34
nice job! :D

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19am

Simple, yet solid mechanic. Humans seem to have it too easy, but I guess thats the point? Nice game!

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20am

I love board games, so it's great to see the format represented in LD. Once I got the hang of the game, I had a good time sending out swathes of vines to choke out nearby villages and mountains!

Clearer instructions would have helped the learning curve-- I didn't understand that you could stockpile evoPoints. Maybe I was just stupid though!

*Also, TaoPhoenix, I caught you calling those little plants saprolings, you Magic man you.*

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30am

Very well-balanced game! Simple rules, yet surprisingly strategic and challenging! Well done!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39am

A surprisingly fun game. This will be the first game I bookmark and come back to play afterwards. I've beaten the simple mode, first I thought I have defense first but turns out rush is better strategy since the enemy troop just keep increasing. Hard mode is actually hard though since I just got outrun by the soldiers. I suspect you need a bit of luck to win the hard mode (where there is a isolated town or something).

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

I really enjoyed this.

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:43am

That was fun, a turn-based strategy game, I liked it :)
Some transitions between turns would have been cool and maybe animations, when plants / soldiers die, but the concept is simple and fun :)

One more thing, I don't know how constrained you were, but instead of just text as a tutorial in the beginning, I would have preferred an actual Tutorial, that guides you through the game. It's hard to memorize everything in the beginning when you don't know about the mechanics.

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Fun and challenging game. Nicely done!

pparke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Fun! I had to win! There was some challenge and enough strategy to keep it interesting. Good job!

dekart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

That's very interesting game, took some time to master it! I'll play once again in hard mode, give me a minute :)

psychonull says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Nice idea. Fun to play. Well done!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18am

Haha Prymidion!

I think in our early testing it was called a Sapling, so a Freudian error!

But yes, paraxite, a few clever strategies suddenly turn things around!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:27am

Enjoyed the strategy element of the game. Extra units, sound and animations could make this into a sweet mobile game!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:00am

Me again.

Let's bump it up a notch.

- Place your center sprout 3rd from the right or left edges.

- Do some quick math because the first 3 moves will make or break you. You have to get the optimal combo to get drillers running *pronto*.

- We did some test runs for data but basically you need all eight drillers running on both rocks. Anything less is either a stunt or a mistake and start over.

- It's all about the Maneater Point Count. If you drop a leaf because it "does something" and trash a ManEater in the process, you goofed. There's about three spots in the middle when you make sure "nothing can be legally attacked" and then you make those small moves (after dividing by five!) and then *do nothing* and then with 38 points they both wasted a turn getting closer to you, are easier to kill, and you now have 38 points to switch it around.

- Do that *twice* - the first one removes danger - skip a round - the second one secures the lock, then it's mop up.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:31am

2nd from the edge is even easier because you get a crucial two more tempos.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Got me hooked enough to finish the game... I enjoyed the strategy of it...
The tiles looked pretty cool... Good work...!

euske says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:17pm

The idea of monster plants scares me, but the game itself was fun!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Seemed like a neat game but it wouldnt let me place a monster flower! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:15am

I really liked this concept, nice!

g12345 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Very fun. I've played it a couple of times. Haven't tried the Hard mode.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:16am

Hi Jupi if you ever see this!

Tao here.

It's far from clear why you couldn't drill the first rock. You should have been able to.

And while the game doesn't give "buzzes for errors" when you placed the leaf under the higher rock, that was a strategy error because you basically need 7-8 drillers on rocks on *adjacent* files. So that leaf "locked up" a driller slot.

It's one of those I am beginning to ponder "legal in the rules but at what level do we tell players it's an error?"

As for the Man-Eater plant, he/we didn't include a "combat animation" so I think you placed it fine, it ate a guy 1-1, and they both vanished.

But thanks for reviewing! Good to know these First Impression things!

thynnmas says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Turns out, if you surround the town in leafs no more army spawns. However, I couldn't figure out a way to replace leaf with soldiers or drills, so this left the game unwinnable. Being able to "rebuild" or destroy tiles for extra cost would be useful.

Otherwise a nice concept and fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]