Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Nations

by purenickery - Compo Entry

Pixel Nations is a randomly generated turn-based strategy game where you control a budding nation amidst a slew of moderately developed countries. Noting their distinct weaknesses, you've decided to take over the whole world as your own. Grow from a small little capital city to encompass the whole globe!

-Right click to scroll around the map (or use WASD if you want to break just using the 2 mouse buttons ;) )

World Sizes
----------------
-Small (recommended, quick loading time, quicker play time)
-Medium (a little bit longer to load and play)
-Huge (not recommended, takes a very long time to load initially and in-between turns. It is pretty cool though)

Buildings
----------------
Place a building down when you have the money and resources to buy it. Then, get a laborer over there to finish it off. The laborer must have all of his moves left in order to Construct it though.
-Geostation: use this to study the area for resources. Areas with a lot of iron will show up red.
-Mine: mines up the iron under the ground for you to use. Place these where a geostation shows a red spot.
-Barracks: produces good units for you to destroy your enemies. You need iron to build one though.

Units
----------------
You begin the game with 2 grunts, a laborer, and a scout
-Scout: can move very quickly but cannot attack or defend
-Grunt: the very basic combat unit
-Laborer: use to build roads (let you move faster), build farms (gives you good to support your army), and to construct buildings
-Brute: better attack unit from a barracks
-Militia: better defensive unit


Move onto an enemies town in order to destroy it. Try to cover at least 70% of the total land area!



Made with LibGDX, MSPaint, and FruityLoops.

If you want to follow any of my other adventures, just hit me up on Twitter! (@purenickery)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#40Overall4.04
#43Audio3.92
#102Mood3.70
#131Innovation3.76
#147Graphics3.85
#184Fun3.60
#428Theme3.80
#454Humor2.42

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57am

Seriously impressive for only 48 hours!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03am

I'm running this on a mac but its not working. The awesome music fades in nicely but its just a black screen. Would love to try this game out (especially after hearing the music)

beastletsplay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10am

Great game, but a little complicated and cluttered for how the ui is set out. The music is fantastic btw.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:16am

Pros:
-Good music, nice and relaxing
-Good looking game
-Very impressive to have made in only 48 hours.

Cons:
-It takes a long while before I sort of understood what to do
-I dislike have to control each and every one of the 'people' individually.
-It crashed when I tried to build a barracks

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57am

Like the graphics style, love the music.

Didn't really understand the game though, maybe that's just me but I didn't know what the red outlines and blue outlines meant.

Also I got a crash very often when trying to build. I think it was if I select 'build' then the building, then move the green square into the darkness.

Impressed you created so much though.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:17am

Crashed a few times, but super impressive game with what I've seen. The music is amazing for something you did in just 48 hours!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

This looks really cool. There are a few big issues here, though. First, it could use a bit more instruction - no where in or out of game is it mentioned that you can increase Yellow income, and I never figured out how to use the geostation. Second, either I'm missing something, or units take forever to produce. I never actually managed to make a new unit. That was also because of 3), the game keeps crashing. It's really cool that you made a good-looking turn-based strategy game, but I can't get anywhere because of the crashes. I'd like to see a bugfixed post-compo version.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

A turn-based strategy game in only 48 hour? holy...

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22am

Love the idea. Unfortunately it crashed when I tried to build a mine.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Civilization? Cool theme use. Growing... nations. I could use this myself. Extra * for graphics thanks to the pixels. What? Graphics is evolving!

ninos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:49am

Awesome game, really impressive

euske says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:33am

Tried several times. Eventually it crashed at every time. It's sad as it looks very cool and has a lot of potentials. Since I couldn't finished it, no rating from me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]