Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow, Glow, Go

by MHaton - Compo Entry

Decided to try the reverse of last Ludum Dare where I went way too ambitious and instead create something simple but more polished.

Then I remembered I'm bad at both art and programming, so what the hell.

Endless runner that features both growing and two buttons. The green things make you bigger but drastically increase the rate your score increases. Going faster also makes your score increase faster...but you can't slow down. There's no button for that. Be careful. Press up to jump, you have a double jump (that's two jumps between landing, yes it makes no sense, but then you're a big blue ball rolling towards some red things with tiny happy robots on, nothing makes sense anymore).

I've experienced some issues running the executable on my computer that other people I asked to take a look haven't. I'd appreciate it if you'd let me know if it didn't run on your machine, as I'm not sure if it's just my computer or not.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Fun3.64
#165Humor3.17
#178Audio3.36
#204Theme4.05
#271Mood3.29
#377Overall3.36
#526Graphics3.00
#532Innovation3.09
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

istoicheva says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Wow, this is so adicting! I cannot stop playing!

I just love the starting screen too!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54pm

i love how it changes to uphill and then downhill. good work

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Great game! I love it :D

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Oh I like this! Very clever, and addicting too. Great entry!

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31am

It's simple, clever and addicting. Pretty great entry.

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Neat game. Liked the world shifting mechanic.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Haha cool little game i beat it scoring 652000, i ended quite hugeand had fun... I liked the growing idea and the levelling difficulty;also inserting the "slope" portions was a nice trick to keep it entertaining.
Nice job !

MHaton says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:15am

Nice :) think that's the highest anyone's told me about so far at least ;)

Thanks for the nice comments folks!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Enjoyable! I liked the mechanic but I couldn't get on with the jumping, it was very rigid and non-organic.

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Hey, our game names are almost the same! :)
I don't really understand the need of speed up button, it just hardens the gameplay and you can just stay at low speed and collect points as long as you can handle
But it was fun to play, so great job!

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice game. I like how you can control the speed to make it harder or easier on yourself.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:26am

Maximum fall speed was pretty aggressively limited, made control pretty awkward. I was frequently wishing for a more parabolic arc on the way down, but it almost instantly became a linear float downward, like a feather or parachute rather than a marble. This made it hard to touch the ground and reset the double jump. Maybe that was intentional to add to the challenge, but it mostly just made me feel like control was being taken away from me.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:03am

Really nice endless roller :P I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/r75qiAihqqk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]