Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

One Man Spaceship

by MrDave - Compo Entry

I went for the topic Two Button Controls. In this game you use up and down to move the lever up and down (it will automatically move left if it can).

Controls:
- W and S or
- Up and Down or
- Mouse left and Mouse right or
- Z and S
(It will move left and right automatically)

Weapon List:

Shield – The shields block all incoming damage for a very short period, they are needed for all levels.

Front Guns – These are great all-purpose guns but only attack targets on the right side of the ship.

Rear Guns – These are great all-purpose guns but only attack targets on the left side of the ship.

Reset Cooldowns – All of the weapons have a cooldown to stop them being triggered for a while after they have been activated, this allows you to remove the cooldowns on everything else so you can use them again.

Cannon – This is a high powered shot but has very slow rate of fire.

Beam Gun – The beam does damage to everything underneath it but doesn’t move, making it great for slow moving targets and groups.

Release Missiles – The missiles slowly build up over time and the button releases all that have built up, making it great if it hasn’t been triggered for a long time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#36Humor3.88
#40Audio3.93
#48Fun3.91
#65Innovation3.96
#83Overall3.87
#133Theme4.13
#246Mood3.33
#379Graphics3.29

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19am

The sounds are amazing.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41am

Loved the audio ... good idea. Had fun. and a great laugh too.

GodsBoss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:18am

The sounds are awesome and the game is fun.

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Awesome audio, great idea with the gearbox and good graphisms
Very good submission overall

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Hi, i liked this game because the two controls made it different to switch the weapons and rushing back up to shields meant you had to be clever with timing to turn them on and overall i liked playing this :)

Well Done!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Very cool take on the two-button theme. Great fun and gets challenging but in a good way. Very well done.

Carnivoris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

I love it! The sound effects are amazing!

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Lol, the sound efects are super funny. But they're very good for something made with your mouth! :D Cool game!

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Best SFX \o/ (yayyy~)

Very good use of the control limitation.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:49pm

i love it, the audio and graphics are both rly good. but i must say that i wished the gearbox went a little faster.

kepons says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Nice take on the theme, really liked the amount of features accessible with just 2 buttons. The sounds were hilarious and the game was fun and wasn't too difficult or easy.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:39pm

I love the funny audio, obviously spoken pew pews. I tried to do the same kind of audio in my entry, but you really nailed.

The gameplay is solid. The graphics are nice and appropriately cartoony.

I love the concept of an entire spaceship being controlled by one enormous gear stick. Great game. :D

keepee says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55pm

This is pretty good idea, having inertia on the gearstick movement would make it feel more frantic, and less of a chore to go from top to bottom.

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Nice game, liked the gearbox but the audio took away from the overall experience.

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

I. LOVED. THIS.

You, sir, win the award for most awesome sound effects ever. Kudos!

But besides the sound effects, the gameplay was very elaborate, you followed the team well and handled limited resources brilliantly. KUDOS!

Kimau says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Really lovely concept, controls wonderfully

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I really enjoyed this spin on tower defence :D amazing audio work too! Great job.

also - "YAAAY!" :D

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53pm

The sounds are absolutely awesome! I had a lot of fun during the game and actually gave it another try just to find out what made which sound. :-)
Everything feels very polished. If I have to mention one point, it would be that it feels that "two button controls" kind of limit this game. Maybe you could do a post-compo version of it where you control the commander in the cockpit heading from one control to another as a time management game.

Teren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Epic sounds :)

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Really nice idea, super original.. Of course the sound effects are incredible and gave me a good laugh too! Great work!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Euro Truck Simulator brought me here :)
Love the game, interesting manual gear controls.
Sounds are epic..

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Phew phew phew phew phew phew!

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:01am

The gearshift control is a really neat idea and the sounds are quite enjoyable/humorous. Nice job

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

Made it all the way through, its a lot of fun, great work! Fantastic sound effects, the humor really takes it to 11. Excellent job!

dekart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

Cool game, i like it. The lever could've moved faster for better control over the situation. It would also work if it would be a wheel rather than a level, so it could rotate equally in both directions. Switching from missiles to shields is a pain.

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15am

I tend to score highly in theme games that make 2 buttons do many, many things, and this one does that :)

Funny audio, cool game, and nice difficulty curve. However, by the end I was just randomly activating everything and hoping for the best xD

Good luck, great entry!

MAnimal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04am

Wave 4!! really hard, very fun to play, challenging, i like your audio

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Wow, this was pretty fun. The switching may have been faster but overall really cool. Finished it!

bitowl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02pm

those sounds are amazing :D
I like the concept very much!

Goutye says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Excellent voice dude!

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:32am

I really liked this idea. The time management aspect was a little tough at times with the bottom abilities being so far away from the shields.

Neat idea! well done!

Skywilly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:58am

Ahaha, i love this game. One of my favorites of this competition. The sound is fantastic and the idea seem really interesting (it's inspired by Niffla's game, Affordable Space Adventure ?)

Wevel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Love the gear stick idea, sometimes got stuck at times though.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:17am

What a fantastic idea! And good execution of it! Hilarious sound effects, too. Nice work!

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Hilarious audio and a really unique experience, good job!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Very well made game, lovely audio! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Great sounds, nice gameplay

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Hahaha! "dubbed" audio is awesome! And the game mechanics are awesome and fun, a great twist for a resource management game!

scorched says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Just select and listen. Gameplay doesn't matter much:D

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Pretty neat, interesting controls :) love the enthusiasm of the sounds

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Very cool idea, loved the voice acted sound effects. xD

I loved how floaty the gears were because it made it slightly frustrating to select something..which is a weird thing to say.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]